We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place - Wish we'd discovered it earlier on !!”

Balcony Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #45 of 143 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Bar, British, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television
Description: The balcony bar located on the harbour front overlooking the seafront provides a fast paced and welcoming environment for people to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner or if you just fancy drink you are always more than welcome. We specialise in live sport and have numerous screens so you don't miss out on any of the action no matter where you are sat. We don't take bookings but due to the fast paced nature of the bar we do promise to seat everyone that comes through our door.
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place - Wish we'd discovered it earlier on !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place by accident, don't know how we haven't come across it before. Got table by window overlooking harbour. Great menu and great prices. Surfboards along ceiling, painted oil drums for tables and some great wall art. Food very well presented and tasty. Burgers excellent quality. Will definately go back for more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D4LSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    136
    42
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great views and friendly staff, little pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

There is a nice venue with great views over the harbour. The service was pretty quick and the food tasted nice it was just a bit pricey for what you got. Chips aren’t included with a meal and have to be bought separately and start at £2.30 and go up. The quality of the burger itself seemed nice and it was a pleasant setting maybe the rates are a bit high being on the waterfront but if you just want a decent good value burger then Wetherspoons is a good alternative.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hadleigh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Find this place just wandering around with my teenage kids back in May. No queing to find a table by the window that looks out over the harbour.
Food was great then.
Returned last week and treated my girlfriend to lunch. No problem finding a table, great service and great food.
Have only tried the burgers (including the Mackeral) but they do other meals. Rosemary and sea salt fries are excellent as were the onion rings. One portion between us was sufficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The Balcony Bar is excellent for sitting in and watching the comings and goings over St Ives Harbour. Sit in one of the window seats wih a beer or coffee and watch the world go by. They serve a good all day breakfast for only £4.95 plus other meals, such as sandwiches and wraps etc. They do have Sky Sports but it doesn't interefere with the atmosphere. All the bar staff are very friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great view of harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lovely views across the harbour if you get a window seat which we were lucky enough to !
Food was good (burgers were excellent) and arrived quite quickly. Large screen with football matches being shown so quite noisey but overall a great place for a drink with good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lorraine_smith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Balcony Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to Balcony Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing