We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cream tea”
Review of The Searoom

The Searoom
Ranked #1 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Searoom is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. All our cakes, scones and tarts are made by hand in our kitchen and we use only the best local meat, fish and vegetables in our restaurant. Almost everything on the menu is also available gluten free. We have the most amazing Harbour view!
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best cream tea”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant food. One thing better than a cornish cream tea is one with warm scones!!!
Queues out the door when we arrived and its not surprising. Be prepared to pay for it though as a sandwich is the best part of 7 quid (doesn't affect the score though!)
I guess if you want the best you sometimes need to dig deep for it....

Helpful?
Thank chrismac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    114
    30
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great cream tea”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Best cream tea I have had in Cornwall this year. Nice clean Tea room and superb cream tea and cakes. Friendly staff and great choice. Will be back next time in St Ives.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde, manchester
1 review
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited this tearoom today and thought it was lovely! Had a lovely light lunch. What was really great was the range of gluten free options - cakes, treats, savoury tarts...tasty and good service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great cream tea...”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I visited the Tea Room on the strength of the many great reviews on Tripadvisor and was certainly not disappointed by the quality of the food. Beautiful warm freshly baked scones with lashings of clotted cream and homemade jam - you can't go wrong! Also sampled the Tregothnan classic loose leaf tea which was really wonderful, especially if, like me, you like a strong brew!

The only drawback was the service. We didn't seem to benefit from the friendly service that others have remarked on, though I appreciate that the place was pretty busy and perhaps the smiles had been worn away because of this. You just get used to a warm welcome in this town and sadly it seemed lacking on our visit. But the food, wow! Extra mark for the extensive gluten free selection too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reachforthesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Cornish Cream Tea Is An Experience!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This place is a must-visit for tourists in St.Ives. Cornish Cream Tea is outstanding! These buns and jam and the tea itself of course! What a meal!
Also we ate a crab salad here which was made from the locally caught fresh crabs! It was very delicious.
Staff is helpful. And cafe is well-decorated by local artist.
Truelly outstanding Cornish experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis-from-Fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Searoom also viewed

 

Been to The Searoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing