We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How a pub should be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Halsetown Inn

The Halsetown Inn
Ranked #46 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$38
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Country pub with great food , Michelin and Good Food guide recommended.
crewe
Level Contributor
98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“How a pub should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

A warm welcome greeted my family and I at this surprisingly busy Cornish Inn. Lovely staff and customers alike and so nice to feel the warm reception towards myself and my baby daughter and pooch-nothing was too much trouble. Extensive menu and good choice at the bar-Atlantic Ale, Scrumpy Cider and complimentary water. Food was tasty and plenty of it. I dream of returning for a 'wagon wheel' dessert!!

In short, if I had/ran a pub, this would be how I would try and do it!! Recommended if relaxed and rustic is your bag!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank craigybabyCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    73
    29
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good wholesome nosh.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We've been a few times now and its always enjoyable. The burger and chips is a cut above and the Sunday roast is worth a visit too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrGuybrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This traditional pub had fantastic food. A starter of crab was let down slightly by over-salted melba toast, but otherwise superb. Mains of fish and lamb were great, topped off by a "wagon-wheel" for dessert. Delicious food, good service, reasonably priced. We'd definitely recommend it if you're in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jn117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Good Gastropub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great food, great service and a great atmosphere. This pub has been intelligently improved over the last few years and is well worth a try if you are staying on the ever-popular Polmanter touring park. It is very popular so booking may be advisable but we were always accommodated at short notice.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Frozen chips ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

On first entering looks like a fine dining type of pub and the pub itself is nicely presented . It advertises all over about locally produced food and how they know where everything has come from where possible and all about how green they are !! Well my husband and I sat outside at the back more like a beer yard than garden , very tatty paintwork and mouldy guttering and a member of staff sat smoking then went back into the kitchen .. But we couldn't believe our eyes when a member of the kitchen staff walked past with 2 bags of frozen chips !!!!! ( the storage for the kitchen is behind the pub in the yard ) we live in a country where an abundance of potatoes are grown and the staff at this pub don't seem to be able to peel a few and make proper chips .. Ridiculous and they are closed Sunday nights .

Helpful?
Thank mishyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Halsetown Inn also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
Nancledra, St Ives
 

Been to The Halsetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing