We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast is lovely....”
Review of Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Western Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Generally this hotel needs updating, new carpets, lose the dated wallpaper and add a flushing toilet. Attention to detail is lacking with fittings removed from walls and left as is, bare plasterboard on the ceiling in room 1 and 2 single beds pushed together in room 5 masquerading as a queensize bed but i had a lovely holiday. If you just want somewhere to lay your head with lovely helpful friendly staff and a gorgeous breakfast then you will be very happy. The bacon is the nicest I have ever had. Would stay again as fitted us in last minute for the bank holiday but it wasnt cheap. Breakfast is normally £4.95 but free that weekend as their card payment machine was broken which meant all guests had to pay cash...a token for the inconvenience. £270 for 3 nights either bring your A game or lower the prices.

Room Tip: not room 5 if you want to sleep as overlooks beer garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trishfish8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

Having had. Really bad experience at the last "hotel" we stayed at in St Ives we decided to do a lot more research via TA. We discovered this hotel at a peak season price of just £80 for a double room.

+tive - room was clean if a bit small but with a good view of the town. centre.
Staff were very accomodating and allowed us to park our bike in what appeared to be the owners personal garage.
Town centre and sea front are 2 minutes walk.
The hotel has its own pub attached!
Breakfast was lovely - full English (especially the bacon which was a world apart from super market stuff)

- tive the reception could have been a bit cleaner but not bad offset by nice pictures in all corridors
TV signal was weak on some channels - unfortunately we missed late night Olympic summaries.

Overall - Good value in a great location. We will go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

This hotel was in a good location to walk to the nearby shops,bars,beach. The car park is up a very steep hill 5 minutes or so walk away, and if not careful could pay a small fortune to park two different prices in each car park.The hotel is rather shabby, think it may have recently been taken over. Our bedroom which was on the first floor on the front was very noisy, was clean but very basic.Walls also very thin within the hotel. En-suite only just, more like a caravan port a loo and shower, glad we only had a couple of nights there. Television never seemed to work, but free wi-fi did so could watch the olympics on that .Kettle provided and basic stuff, staff friendly enough a downstairs bar with live local music that was ok. Breakfast included in the price and that was very nice and good value plenty of choice. Would I stop here again, only if could not get something in similar position or nearby again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The hotel rooms are well below the standard for the price paid. Shower and bathroom not very clean. In top of it there is no parking for guests and to park our car we had to pay an additional 7£. On the other hand the breakfast was nice and the staff friendly

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Room clean and tidy, bedding needs updating duvet cover had a hole in it. However the price we paid was very good. No parking. The breakfast was served in the lovely western grill, it was superb and the ladies who serve and cook are charming.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel last weekend and found the overall experience very pleasant for the price we paid. Firstly, parking in St Ives is very restricted, so nearly every hotel in the town does not provide on-site parking. We parked in the leisure centre car park for £20 for three days. Considering a hotel with parking would have cost about £20 a night more than the Western, this was still good value for money.

On arrival, there was no-one waiting at reception, however a note advised to call the bar, which we did and a friendly chap called Ben arrived, took payment and showed us to our room. Overall, the room was basic but functional. All I want from my hotel room is a bed, TV and a bathroom. All three were provided, and generally tidy. The wallpaper could have done with a refresh, but again, we were visiting out of season.

The bar was very well stocked with local ales and friendly locals. Prices were not expensive at all and there is a happy hour (!). The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the harbour.

Breakfast was superb. By far the best breakfast I have had in any hotel, including 4*.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone, however there are a lot of steps to the rooms. Not sure if there is wheelchair access, as I did not tour the entire hotel.

A friendly hotel, by no means basic, where the customer service makes you feel very welcomed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 and could hear the boiler at times. However, did not notice this too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrGJMoyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

When we arrived at this hotel, we didn't think it was going to be that great because of the reviews we had seen on here but we needed to stay somewhere a little cheaper for one night whilst we were away. However, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was lovely and clean, sheets were fresh on the bed, bathroom was clean. We didn't encounter any uncleanliness in this hotel at all.

The bar down stairs is noisy at night. I didn't think it would bother us as we tend to be the people in the bar! But we went up at about midnight and the noise continued for quite a bit. But if you take some ear plugs, you'll be fine - which I did so no big problem. I'm a light sleeper. My boyfriend who didn't have ear plugs and doesn't have trouble sleeping was not bothered by the noise. The bar is a nice place to hang out and we had a few pints there and were very entertained by the live music! We're not surprised that people wanted to carry on into the night!

The breakfast in the morning was lovely and the lady who served us was very polite and sweet. She went out of her way to make sure our dietary requirements were seen to without making a fuss and she was really friendly.

Parking is a little out of the way but it's not a bus ride away - it's a 3 minute walk (ok it's up quite a steep hill but you're not going to spend a huge amount of time in the car park! And it's not too expensive - it was something like £3.80 for overnight.

The hotel is close to the centre of St Ives so it's a perfect place to base yourselves whilst in Cornwall. There are a few little things you have to consider like noise, parking tiny bit out of the way - we're not so fussy but if these things may truly bother you, than perhaps you'd be better off paying a little extra for a hotel with parking that's a little bit outside of town for some peace.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbp22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,735 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Hotel

Address: Gabriel Street, St Ives TR26 2LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £57 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre of town, close to the local art galleries, restaurants, shops, harbour and beaches. Sixteen en-suite bedrooms including doubles, twins, family rooms and singles. A great place to stay in the heart of town. The hotel has a large function room which can cater for a variety of events and occasions - parties, weddings and other functions. Wireless broadband available free of charge. Live music in the bar next to the hotel on most nights and a popular carver on Sunday lunch-times and evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing