We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Hotel

Western Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Western Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We three shared a room for 3 nights in July. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of St Ives. The look is a little dated but the room we stayed in had recently been refurbished and was exceptionally clean, with plenty of storage space. the shower was not the best as it leaked slightly and the pressure dropped randomly or went hot/cold at points and the bathroom generally was quite small. It also gets very noisy due to the location and there are double windows which block out all the noise, but closing them makes it incredibly warm.

The staff were friendly and very helpful and it did the job.

Room Tip: Further up is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shachi_n89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    63
    34
    18
    13
See reviews for
30
79
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I do agree with other reviewers that it is a little dated, but on the other hand who wants every hotel to look a carbon copy of the modern theme we now see everywhere - the Western has character just like the town it is in. Very clean, extremely helpful and welcoming staff and fabulous effort made to provide a great breakfast - even fresh flowers on the tables. Very central location, would stay there a again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank smwatson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

It's a nice hotel, but it's not worth the £285 for 3 nights. Very clean and tidy but a bit dated. The one thing that made it for me was the breakfast, it was the best breakfast I have had while staying in the uk. The location is fantastic, very central and opposite a supermarket, which is handy. Saying that, you do get a lot of noise from early morning deliveries and road sweepers bleep bleep bleeping. J D weatherspoons just down the road for cheap beer and food, but if you go to the three ferrets just opposite the beer is even cheaper with a nice friendly atmosphere.
Don't use the carpark thats just up the road, it's £12 for 24 hours and you can't pay on your phone and it only takes coins. Use the leisure centre carpark which is further up the hill it's only £6.40 for 24 hrs. Get the bus from ther efor a £1 and it drops you off right outside the hotel.
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, but be prepaired for some noise and lots of seagulls singing very loudly. Well it is the seaside after all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gollum84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Well it was the last available hotel room in st ives... And justifiably so. Room swelteringly hot with a view of assorted seagull nests and roofs. Our open window hoovered up the overpowering smell from the next door curry house...... And all this for 140 pounds per night.... Although to her credit the receptionist did fess up to this and she and the team are very good. The other redeeming features are the jazz club in the basement which, in common with many jazz clubs , has your shoes sticking to floor, it so dirty and the very good breakfast - Never mind, the band was great.

Try camping until there is an upgrade

Room Tip: Try a local campsite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Ives hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Music on every night and chilled atmosphere.Good beer and stays open later than the rest.If you are a musician always welcome to participate.It is fast becoming my favourite.Can also meet plenty of friendly locals.Staff nice.Not to be missed just squeeze in.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Never saw anyone on reception but the staff we did see were very helpful. The room was clean but small. Beds very comfy. Tea/Coffee provided. Only real niggle was could do with a hook on the back of the bathroom door. Had to shut the window at night because of the noise outside from the drunks at 2.30am but this might have been due to the fact that England had played! Breakfast was fantastic, lovely choice and very attentive staff. We paid £75 per double room per night with breakfast which I think is good value seeing as the hotel is right in the middle of St Ives. Would use again. Just remember this is not the ritz and you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We turned up later than expected and still the service was amazing, the staff couldn't do enough to help our stay be comfortable.
The room was clean and comfortable and we had a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was fantastic and delicious, the staff were warm and friendly and aimed to please, our fabulous breakfast kept us fuelled for the day !!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Hotel

Property: Western Hotel
Address: Gabriel Street, St Ives TR26 2LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre of town, close to the local art galleries, restaurants, shops, harbour and beaches. Sixteen en-suite bedrooms including doubles, twins, family rooms and singles. A great place to stay in the heart of town. The hotel has a large function room which can cater for a variety of events and occasions - parties, weddings and other functions. Wireless broadband available free of charge. Live music in the bar next to the hotel on most nights and a popular carver on Sunday lunch-times and evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing