We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At last a hotel with character”
Review of Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Western Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 13 October 2010

If you're looking for a hotel that could be anywhere and you enjoy the featureless and bland..don't stay here. If, like we were you want somewhere different and interesting this is for you. Absolutely throbbing with life, music all day and into the wee small hours, loads of interesting locals in the adjoining bar, staff who'll do anything for you, the best breakfast this side of heaven, a key venue for high-class music such as serious modern jazz, good quality pub music plus the chance to meet some famous people then give this place a whirl.
Ok the rooms may not be the Ritz and its not a tranquil Cotswold retreat with gingham-topped marmalade jars but you will experience more of the real St Ives here than in any of the twee B and B's or the more pompous (and expensive) hotels that lurk within any glimpse of a sea view.
Just check in, relax and enjoy the vibe.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2010

This hotel was a good place to stay for one night in St Ives because it is very centrally located. It is a 2 minute walk to the harbour and shops and is clean and warm.
The hotel is generally in need of updating as the decor is a bit shabby, and our room was very noisy as there was a concert on in the bar downstairs.
Overall, it is an OK place for one night, but I wouldn't recommend it for longer stays.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MallyCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

The only reason I am writing is because our stay was ok in some respects but very disapointing in others - the room was clean although no phone (which was worrying when we got locked in one morning because the door lock was faulty!) the breakfast (and the people who served it) were great but the overall impression was sad, due to lack of anyone ever being on Reception and the Reception area was more like a run down station waiting room. Having to ring a number everytime you wanted something made the guest feel awkward although when anyone turned up they were helpful albeit a bit distant - it was like it was being run by a group of people who had no connection with the hotel and/or with each other. Had the room been £60 a night per couple for 2 nights it would have been ok but at £90 it was too expensive. Also someone else staying at the hotel caught up with us in the town and asked what we thought as they were very disappointed with it - they are regulars to St Ives so knew what to compare it with, unlike ourselves. They were in room 18 and their friend in room 20 - one had no bedside tables/lights and the other no wardrobe door! I felt sorry for the actual building which was lovely and right in the centre it deserved better!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy_spink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

we were not informed there was no car park, so as you can imagine not very happy paying nearly £7.00 a day to park in a car park ten minutes walk away. only the car park was full. after an hour of driving around the only car park the hotel could recommed we finally got parked. the room which was large had crisps all over one of the chairs and carpet, the curtains were falling down and did not fit the window. when sitting on the toilet we had to hold the cistern as we were worried that it would fall off the wall. all of the beds had a very strong odour to them which was not pleasant, not too sure if they had been cleaned before we used them! there is a large pub below which plays live music into the night. the taxi rank is next door and the co-op over the road, so noise was a very big problem. could only stay in the room to sleep and there was no way i could allow my children to eat in the room as it was so dirty. this room had not been cleaned before we arrived. breakfast was great and the breakfast room was very clean and tidy. this was the only good side of the stay. we did ask for a refund before we even got into our room as we had nowhere to park, but we were flatly refused. this was supposed to be a few days of memories for our family as my husband has a brain tumour, but we were all left tired and desperate to go home. we felt we had no choice but to stay as we had saved hard to go away for two days. we were also told that they were refurbishing the rooms but we saw no sign of this.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarecollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanfgillam, Owner at Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2010

This vindictive review has been posted following direct correspondence with me at the hotel. I have apologised for not living up to the guest's expectations during her recent visit as I know how disappointing that can be. However, because of the guest's particular family situation, I now doubt if there was anything we could have done to give her an enjoyable holiday. Unfortunately no comment whatsoever was made to me or my staff on any of the days during the visit, thereby preventing us from addressing any of the problems which the guest claims she had. This review is the first time the guest has mentioned having had problems with the bed linen (not a complaint we are used to) but I was particularly frustrated not to have had the chance to observe and put right any of these issues during her visit. If valid, it would have been easy for me to have had the room fully cleaned and serviced immediately, or indeed to have offered the guest alternative accommodation.
The parking issue is indeed difficult in St Ives. We do have a garage which sometimes has space available but sadly not immediately on the day the guest arrived. It was also unusual for the car park recommended to be full, but this does occasionally happen during the daytime in August.
We are in the middle of a very busy season when it is also impossible to avoid having some equipment problems, but any genuine issues relating to the room such as the curtains or the cistern could have been easily fixed while the guest was here, if they had been brought to our attention.
This review offered me no realistic comment as to how the hotel could be improved, nor do I believe it offers future guests any useful guide.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with a small group. To be fair I was looking for a reasonably priced place to stay which is close too, but not on top of St Ives Sea Front and this ticked the box. On arriving don't park in the private car park 100yds up the hill use the council ones further up and left. The hotel is a short walk to the sea front via all the nice shops that St Ives has. It is connected to the pub underneath that has friendly locals and music events most nights. Well placed shop over the road for morning papers etc, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the breakfast is great. The room I had was a triple and all beds were comfy, the room was clean and had tea and coffee. The toilet was cleaned daily and the shower was great ! The area/road is quite noisy 24hrs a day at busy times of the year, so if you have a choice go for one of the back rooms. I wouldn't look for anywhere else to stay in St Ives, I think it is fair to say that the decor is a bit tired but they in the process of refurbishing and when they finish i would imagine the price will go up 25% so you are kind of getting what you pay for and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldWideWob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

This hotel, due to its location and size has such great possibilites but is in much need of renovation. I have a feeling that they have rested on their laurels considering St Ives is such a magnate for tourists. You can get away with the dullest decor and tired furnishings and still be full to capacity. Our room had one light, in the ceiling that was such a low wattage that it was difficult to see anything. The bed was uncomfortable and the sheets didn't fit so that during the night the bottom sheet practically disappeared to the bottom of the bed. The carpet was old and stained, the bathroom in need of serious modernisation, the TV hooked high on the wall near the ceiling so you got neck ache looking at it. The hall carpets were from a by gone age and the whole place was dark and dingy. Having booked a few nights we desperately left the next morning and booked into the nearby brilliant Pen Olva Hotel for only 10 pounds extra a night. For not much investment you could do so much with this place. I'm not criticising the staff, who were helpful and friendly, but that is only part of the experience in staying somewhere. Put some money into it, change the colourings and furnishings, paint the place white and bobs yer uncle..they could put their prices up....

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank senpass5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We have just recently returned from a three night stay at the Western Hotel.

The room was very small and the furniture dated but the main problem was that it looked like it hadn't seen a hoover or a duster in a very long time!!
Also there was never anyone on reception, no phone in the room and the key had to be collected from the Kettle and Wink bar next door.

Also as we stayed over New Year we booked tickets to the New Years Eve party. This turned out to be a good decision as our room was right above the function room so you can imagine how noisy it was!!

On the positive side the breaksfasts at The Western Grill were lovely and the hotel is ideally located. This could be a really nice hotel but is in definate need of a refurbishment or even just a good clean!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loverofholidays_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanfgillam, Owner at Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2010

As a result of this review we have changed our procedures for checking room cleanliness and also we now make a point of asking guests if they are happy with the condition of their room. This review did come as a surprise to us as we have never had any previous adverse comments regarding our housekeeping and none were made at the time. It did relate to New Year's Eve when all rooms in St Ives are full and even small rooms command top prices. As other reviews generally confirm, the Western is friendly, cosy and good value for money at most times of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,732 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
977 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Hotel

Address: Gabriel Street, St Ives TR26 2LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £58 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre of town, close to the local art galleries, restaurants, shops, harbour and beaches. Sixteen en-suite bedrooms including doubles, twins, family rooms and singles. A great place to stay in the heart of town. The hotel has a large function room which can cater for a variety of events and occasions - parties, weddings and other functions. Wireless broadband available free of charge. Live music in the bar next to the hotel on most nights and a popular carver on Sunday lunch-times and evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing