We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an amazing wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Tregenna was the venue for our wedding and they provided exceptional service on our big day. The weather was sunny and warm and this added to the charm and appeal of Tregenna castle. Our friends and family are still talking about our wedding at tregenna castle. Our wedding room was spacious and well equipped and we had a comfortable night stay and a lovely breakfast. All in all Tregenna insured that we had a wedding to remember.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammythehornetrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Congratulations on your marriage from all us here. We're so pleased that you had your perfect day. The wedding team really enjoyed working with you and are so glad that it was such a success. Wishing you all the happiness for your life together.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,374 - 2,380 of 2,774 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2011

We were upset to find that our room was close to the hall where a wedding party was being held. The music from the disco could be heard until 1am, and then the sound of guests returning to their rooms continued for another hour. We could hear every word that was said because of the very thin walls. There was a wedding party on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
When we complained about this we were told that normally we would have been warned, but we were not as we had booked over the internet. A poor excuse as I don't think that it would have been that difficult to send us an e-mail. Another couple complained just before us and seemed very angry about it.
We did feel that the hotel guests come second after wedding guests, but still have to pay top prices.
The hotel grounds and sport facilities are very good but the rooms and food are very average.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

We are sorry to hear that the wedding parties adversely affected your stay with us. We have noted your comments, particularly about informing hotel visitors of planned weddings. We are glad that you rate our leisure facilities so highly, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My family and I stayed for seven nights at the beginning of June in a self catering room within the hotel. At first glance the room seemed ok until you looked closely. The sofa and chairs looked like dogs had slept on them, they were filthy and the dining set was threadbare. The cream rug was so dirty that we ended up covering it over so that our baby could sit and play on the floor. The apartment was the only one to have a balcony and I was expecting lovely wrought iron patio furniture but what we got was two dark green plastic chairs...
We ate in the restaurant on one occasion and again it seemed ok at first but when we were shown to our table, the fabric on the chairs was ripped and faded. The food was nice but nothing special.
It's odd because there was not one major thing that I would have gone and complained about it was just not what I expected considering the very hefty price tag on the room that we stayed in.
We were there for seven nights and on four of those, there were weddings at the hotel and it seems to cater very much for that market and you almost feel like an intruder.

I wish that the decor could have been different. It could be a fabulous room if just kept white and bright but the lounge was bright pink, as was the twin bedroom and the master bedroom was dark blue which looks lovely in a brochure but the room only has one small window and it was so dark. The bedroom window would not stay open either, this may have been a security thing with being on the front of the hotel, but it was really oppresive and we had to prop it open (rather blasphemously) with the hotel bible! The outdoor pool was lovely but the indoor pool was really moldy and not very pleasant.

We love St Ives and have been tons but would never stay at treganna again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Thank you for your comments. We're sorry that your visit was not as good as it could have been. We do have a rolling programme of refurbishment but this takes time due to the size and history of the building. However, we are glad that you enjoyed the oudoor heated pool, thank you for mentioning it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Booked a late deal on a family room , inward facing for this Sunday gone.
Initially pleased with the large family room, with cot I had asked for. The beds were ziped together, only one thin pillow each with no spare in the room so not the comfiest! I didn't ask for another so not a big issue.
Large bathroom, bit mouldy & dated . All just a bit old & worn.
The Sunday roast was excelent & my partners fish dish was also very good. breakfast, starters & deserts were all just ok (food for the masses).
All in all the hotel is a nice friendly place fit for purpose for families or activity holidays, but don't expect to come away with that wow feeling.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BadArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Many thanks for leaving your comments. We're glad that you found us friendly since customer service is of the utmost importance to us. Our chef is also pleased that you enjoyed the carvery and fish, which we source as locally as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

don't go when there is a wedding party on, there were 2 when my husband & I went on 5th Aug, which meant only 1 bar available and when you went to go outside for a bit of air, you were asked by nice, not fierce at all, bouncers, to change your glass for a plastic beaker while drinking outside.....we are both 44 years old and felt this a little un-called for and reminded us of a nightclub, which when you come away for a quiet, lovely weekend, you do not expect, in a luxury castle. Venue is beautiful, bit of a hike from St Ives, but that does not matter, food lovely, clean, friendly, would definately recommend it, just ask first about wedding parties, such an idyllic place I reckon there is a wedding every week!!!! Oh, if you want to eat in St Ives on the front, either book, or leave it til after 7.30 pm in the evening as the restaurant's are rammed this time of year!!!!

Room Tip: Lovely, clean, large, lovely views, quiet, never saw any other rooms except ours but they seem to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank officem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Thank you so much for your review. We do have many weddings due to our beautiful location and grounds, we're sorry if that impacted on your stay. We're glad that you were wowed by the setting. Next time you visit you may like to use the new shuttle bus to and from town. Thank you, too, for mentioning our friendly service, a quality that we value highly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

As other reviews has highlighted, this whole resort complex is well overdue a refurbishment and is grossly over priced for what it is.

My parents stayed in the hotel, room 124, and said it was tired and dated, but functional. To avoid disappointment I never visited it. I was treating them and did not want to know. £1800/week. Rip off.

We stayed in a self catering cottage within the Castle Village complex called Polzeath. I knew things weren't going to go well when we arrived. Trying to find the cottage in the dark at 11PM was difficult to say the least. Any lighting was inappropriate for us to work out where we had to go. (Made worse by having 3 tired children ready for their beds.)

Upon entry to the cottage it came apparent we'd been fleeced. ~300 quid a night and we got a 1980s kitchen, smelly and falling apart. It had been cleaned, but there was ingrained dirt in the kitchen units and a simple wipe of the units around the cooker revealed grease and general ming. Everything had been overused and never thoroughly cleaned and should have been replaced years ago, (toaster, kettle, radio, under sink cupboards etc.). Anything that had been through the dishwasher was OK. We couldn't bring ourselves to cook in the kitchen.

The living area was more of the same, old used and abused furniture. it was clean, but just old and spent. The sofas were just a bit sticky for my liking. Whilst there was a free view tuner, it had difficulty getting all the channels. Whenever we tried to watch E4 or BBC news, it just kept cutting out. Manky old TV unit which you had to have open as the tuner was in the cupboard beneath. The age of the TV dates the place quite well - early 2000s. At least 10 years of abuse and not a revamp in site.

The lighting of the whole cottage was outdated and dull. Despite bright sunshine outside, the interior remained dismal even with all the lights on.

The bedrooms were pretty grim. Heavy dirty curtains, god knows when they'd last been cleaned. Old pillows and duvets, flattened and lumpy due to the amount of use they' had. The best part was trying to count the number of dead flies in the light fittings in the ceiling lights in the master bedroom each night. There were two lights and I'm going for about 40 files in total. It was a challenge getting to sleep each night.

Bathrooms - The ensuite was not fit for purpose. Nowhere to put anything. Sink too small to use. Shower, some old 1980s thing, worked, but was rubbish. We didn't use the en-suite except for the loo. Main bathroom was marginally better, in-bath shower was OK although the entire room flooded anytime someone used it and when having the head off it's mount the shower hose fouled the hot tap so screwed up the temperature. Totally ineffective extractor fan so the place turned into a sauna pretty quickly.

The only carpeted area was the sitars, with mats thrown into the bedrooms for you to step on as you got out of bed. Yuk.

No where to hang anything. Wet towels, swimming costumes etc. Left ours on the bed in case they touched anything and attracked mank.

There's no laundry service for a one week stay. Same bed linen, same towels. You can have the apartment "cleaned" for £40 extra if you like.

Room Tip: The lodges looked newer and are better positioned but are part of an ownership scheme. Even as RCI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bagload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Thank you for bringing our attention to your disappointment in your visit. We will investigate this matter as it is uncharacteristic of our team. We're sorry that this was your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed for three nights in the hotel as we go to Cornwall every few months. This time we stayed with friends at the hotel and wanted to be close to a town. The location of the hotel is just fantastic. They have the most beautiful path to walk down into the town. Breakfast was brilliant and the staff worked so well and were so welcoming.
We stayed up late every evening drinking and the staff were fine with this, we found the room a little cold but a blanket was in the room within 5 minutes.
Our room looked a little tired but this was reflected in the price and our friends room was in a lot better condition.
We will be staying at Tregenna a lot more in the future as the location is just fantastic especially having the complimentary car park, and both of the boys love to play golf. However we will be choosing to stay in the self catering cabins. Were booking in September, and will be returning a lot in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence82_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

How lovely to read of your happy visit, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service so much as it is a vital characteristic of a good hotel. Our location is unique and we're delighted that you'll be coming back to enjoy it through the seasons. See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £68 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing