We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Chy-An-Albany(St Ives)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Regent(St Ives)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western Hotel(St Ives)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Palms(St Ives)
View Hotel
Reviews (2,815)
Filter reviews
2,815 results
Traveller rating
1,067
890
465
237
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
890
465
237
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest wingself cateringleisure facilitieslovely groundswoodland walksea viewindoor pooltennis courtssteam roomhotel groundsbuffet stylefull pricereception areaoverlooking st ivesspecial offerthe main hotelbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,397 - 2,402 of 2,815 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I am a regular B&B visitor to Cornwall and have paid similar to this (£190 for 2 nights, Fri & Sat, large family room) and recieved a lot worse. On the whole, I thought it was good value. I do not expect 5-star treatment, for a 3-star price; you get what you pay for in this world and sometimes you strike lucky. Tregenna Castle is above average.
Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious. The only fault was the shower which (to be fair) was inadequate. However, there was plentiful hot water and the bath filled quickly.
Breakfast was well above average. Me and my partner B&B 4+ times a year and this breakfast was a good 4 out of 5. Considering it was a large hotel catering for about 120+ guests it did a better job than some B&B's catering for less than 4 people.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.
The outdoor pool was excellent and kept at a good temperature, and me and my son enjoyed it even in the rain.
The gardens were spectacular, and there is nowhere that I know of in St Ives (or in Cornwall) that can compare. It meant that the hotel was always peaceful and relaxing.
Parking is always a problem in St Ives, but at Tregenna there is ample free parking (if a B&B in St Ives does not offer parking, it costs about £10 for 24 hrs at the car-park) and the walk into town is an easy one going in and if you cannot cope with the uphill return, a taxi to the hotel door costs a fiver.
Would I go back again? Yes.

Room Tip: If you can, pay a little more for a sea-view - spectacular!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moorhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Thank you for writing such a positive review, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and particularly liked the pool and gardens. We are so pleased that you think that nowhere else in St.Ives (or Cornwall) can compare. This is how we feel too! We hope that we will see you again soon for another warm welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Lovely position. Staff excellent and always helpful. Food v good. Wonderful spa treatments. also benefits from an excellent hairdresser on site.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We will pass your comments on to our team. We hope you are still feeling relaxed after your spa treatments and that you will visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Booked a short special offer break. Impressive looking place, great views. Internally also impressive in the public areas. Our room was a bit dated, but we knew the place was not a new build. Staff looked after my coeliac diet ok at breakfast, and the one evening meal we had in the restaurant.
On 3rd day there was a wedding taking place, but did not affect our stay.
Would stay again, but probably only if another special offer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

We are so glad that you enjoyed your short break and that you could take advantage of one of our special offers. We have offers regularly, so do keep an eye on our website and also our Facebook and Twitter accounts as we would love to see you for another Cornish visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

I can't believe anyone can give this hotel a positive review. The setting is excellent, and we didn't have any problems with the staff or the food, but the state of the rooms were very poor, and the bathrooms diabloical. This is the first time I have written a review, but I feel it necessary to help prevent others having a similar experience.

We were booked in on a 2 nights for the price of one offer, and had clearly been put in one of their worst rooms. It felt grubby and dirty. The TV did not work properly. The hairdryer caught fire. There was no water pressure for the shower, the lino floor was disgusting, the shower curtain and the state of the bath made the flesh creep. We complained and were moved to another room which was better, but still sub-standard.

The bathroom was again poor, the sink cracked and just a general unclean feel to it.

It is such a shame, if the rooms were updated it would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

We are sorry you feel disappointed in your room but thank you for bringing it to our attention. Due to the history of our hotel, we are continually working to improve our facilities and your feedback is most helpful - we will be sure to investigate. We are pleased that you were happy with our food and service though, as well as the setting, and hope that you will take advantage of one of our special offers again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Our first visit to St ives and on approaching Tregenna we thought we had struck gold for the price we paid - good internet deal. What a let down, on entering the hotel the hallway is quite shabby and old fashioned and reception is way too far down the corridor. Our check in was efficient and the girls on reception were lovely, nothing too much trouble and very friendly and knowledgable. Our room was a castle sea view room (just!!) loads of shrubbery outside the window so couldn't really see much of the view, the decor and bedroom fittings (kettle, tv etc) were laughable, obviously cheap bottom of the range supermarket stuff. I don't think I have the time or the inclination to get started on the bathroom!! every negative on here about them is an understatement!! I can't believe that the owner/management have the nerve to think these are half way acceptable in this day and age, I have no idea what they spend their profits on but they certainly have no intention on spending it on the 'guest experience' - this hotel seems full all the time (I had difficulty in getting a stay over a weekend) so they must be raking it in.
On a positive note, the gardens and grounds are exceptional, the food in the brasserie was pretty good and excellent in the main restaurant. Tregenna's best asset is its staff, everyone was lovely, very friendly and efficient. A lovely lady on reception (didn't catch her name, short dark hair) tried her best to move us to a higher floor but couldn't - Tip to management, appreciate your staff, they are your only great asset!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoMo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Thank you for complimenting our staff, we are very proud of them and have passed on your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews