We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Caversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Needs upgrading”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

The best thngs about this hotel are without doubt the stunning view over St Ives and the lovely grounds. We had an upgraded sea view room, the bedroom was lovely with a 4 poster bed. However we were very disappointed in the bathroom which had damp in the corner. It did not match the standard of the room. The public areas were nice and clean. We ate in the Bistro but as the bar was closed for refurbishment the tv was on constantly showing sport. The spa and indoor pool needed upgrading.

Room Tip: have one with a sea view, views of St Ives are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetCavershamReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Tregenna Castle. We are very lucky to be in such a unique location giving us amazing views of St.Ives - I'm delighted you enjoyed these aspects along with your room. We really appreciate your feedback re the bathroom and pool and will look into this ASAP. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    807
    423
    212
    138
See reviews for
578
1,431
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stayed here on a good autumn break offer & although mixed reviews on TA we all found this to be a great little hotel!
The views are spectacular & the grounds beautiful. Our rooms were dated & a teeny bit shabby ( even down to a retro 50's bathroom ) but spacious with comfy beds and good cotton sheets & warm duvets. The help yourself breakfast was very good & certainly excellent service.
For the price this was a steal & I would recommend to anyone :-)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThaliaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
We're delighted that you all enjoyed your stay. We are spoilt with our locations and views, it has to be said! To reassure you, our refurbishment programme is continuous, so we hope that you notice further improvements on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Tregenna Castle Hotel looks marvellous from the outside...a castle building set in lush greenery and overlooking the sea...and one wonders why it is only a 3 star. The reason for this is first revealed by the rooms. Our first floor room, whilst spacious and clean, could well have done with some modernising in terms of decor. Also, the absence of an in-room safe was most surprising, especially as such amenities are pretty much standard. Similarly, one would expect that in this day and age, wi-fi would be available in the rooms rather than just in the reception lobby. Some form of cooling(a/c or even a fan) would be very welcome since the only other option is leaving the windows open, at the risk of magpies etc flying in and also the windows rattling during the night (although I resolved this latter problem by wedging bits of folded up paper in between the window and its frame). Unfortunately this did not resolve the major problem, which was the uncomfortable bed. The mattress was so hard and lumpy, we did not get a good night's sleep during our stay.

We used the leisure centre and were quite disappointed. The gym facilities are surprisingly good but the changing rooms were cramped and shabby. The only access to the pool and wet facilities from the male changing rooms means walking through the gym, which may not be everyone's cup of tea when wearing only swimming trunks. The jacuzzi/spa was out of order and the sauna & steam room in desperate need of cleaning.

The impression one gets is that the hotel is actually more geared up for the time-share type accomodation it also offers.

On the plus side, the reception is well presented and the staff helpful. The hotel is well located, being a short walk from the lovely town (easy on the way down but not so easy climbing the hill back up!). Breakfast is adequate if only average but not worthy of any complaint.

With a little bit of investment, Tregenna has the potential to be a good 4 star hotel but presently is no more than what it is, a 3 star in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DesiJat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are very fortunate to have such a stunning location and we're glad that you enjoyed it. We'd like to assure you that we do have a rolling programme of refurbishment which takes time due to the size and history of the building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Tregenna is a difficult place to describe in few words, but it certainly appears to be stuck in something of a time warp.

The room that we stayed in appears to have been one of the refurbished ones, but still seems very much more dated in comparison to other hotels, and still requires upgrading in terms of fittings and fixtures. The bathroom had coving above to the shower will likely be affected by damp eventually, and many of the bathroom tiles were cracked or discoloured - that's not very good at all on first impressions and the furniture was also old and bashed.

The noise at night was awful - I felt like going out and buying some WD40 such was the noise from the creeping door hinges. And the floorboards need relaying as the noise sounded like herds of wilderbeast stampeding past our room at all hours of the night. Not a peaceful night at all.

The food whislt well prepared appears outdated in terms of presentation - although there is no question of the quality and taste, both of which were excellent. Another major downside is the price of food and drink - a medium glass of wine is more than £6 for 175ml in the lounge bar - not exactly great value in tough economic times.

The location is the hotels best feature, unrivalled in the area in our opinion with views across the Celtic Sea up the north coast of Cornwall.

It's understandable that the building may be difficult to maintain and improve based on its sheer size and the fact it's likely to be subject to building regs as a listed building, but this shouldn't be a reason for extortianate food and drink prices based on service received.

To conclude, Tregenna Castle Hotel is sadly let down by the perpetual sense of a bygone age of hoteliers and almost a feeling that Basil Fawlty is lurking round the next corner trying to brush away the game pie!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuskiTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. You are exactly right, maintaining the building is a challenge and we have got a rolling programme of refurbishment that, as you say, takes time due to the nature of the building. We will continue to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My partner took me on a romantic surprise trip to St Ives for a few days and he booked Tregenna Castle. What a beautiful place!
The service of all the staff was impeccable, the room was great and the food at breakfast and for an evening meal ws gorgeous. I would recommend this place to anyone as they have large rooms for families, cottages and chalets to stay in.
The gym facilities were also very good and the grounds were beautiful.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but you can get a sea view if you want. Most people really only use their room fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 10 October 2011
What a lovely review, thank you very much. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your romantic weekend at Tregenna Castle and do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This Hotel has one of the most beautiful views from an hotel room that I have ever experienced, overlooking St Ives Bay. (room 120) The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the food was second to none.
The Hotel room was very spacious, with plenty of hanging space and drawers in a huge built in wardrobe, but lacked grandeur in its choice of bed valance (too short and obviously un-ironed and wrinkley, so lots of bed base showing, which cheapened the overall effect. It had a huge TV cabinet which disappointingly contained an extremely small flat screened TV, much too small for the size of the room(opera glasses would have helped)The grounds were fabulous, with masses of well kept lawns and wooded areas with winding pathways down to St Ives, but the swimming pool and changing rooms were not luxurious enough, as no private changing cubicles and not all lights in pool working at dusk, with rusty metal on ceiling area and leaf strewn dirty glass on conservatory glass overhead, so lacked wow factor.
Taxi into St Ives around £5 (Takes 10 mins), with a free service by the hotel twice a day in the morning, but all taxis very well maintained and clean, with happy chatty drivers.
Overall I would return, but feel with a few maintenence issues resolved, it could get a 5/5.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking St Ives Bay, you will need to drag yourselves away to explore, as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestBlod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much. We're so fortunate to have such extraordinary views and we're especially pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food. We will pass on the maintenance comments to the team and aim to score 5/5 on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed in St Ives for 10 days (and have reviewed lots of restaurants). We stayed in a beautiful cottage for a week and stayed in Treganna Castle for two days. Two days? More than enough. So the good points? The drive up to the Castle is fabulous, you really do believe you are in for a treat (ah well never mind). The reception was OK - clearly they have spent a least a little bit of money on it, but a very cold feeling/no warm welcome. Walking to our bedroom we realised that the rest of the placewas in dire need of refurbishment. Clean, yes. Drab. Yes. Our bedroom was quite spacious and we had booked a room with a sea view of which we got, and indeed it was a spectacular view. The bathroom looked as though it had been newly fitted/bits done here and there, but on the whole it all didn't live up to our expectations. There was a horrendous noise every time the toilet was flushed (and that noise kept on going long after it was flushed). We suspected something was wrong and rang reception and a maintence man came to take a look. He basically said that a motor had now been put in so the waste could divert a different way and the noise was not unusual. Errrrr great. What was unusual was that this 'noise' continued to happen sproradically through the evening.

We were going our for dinner but could not find an ironing board. When calling reception we were told there was an ironing room in the lower part of the hotel. So off my other half went and waited for people to do their ironing in turn!! Ridiculous! Fine if you rent a lodge and are on lets say a holiday camp and all share showers and ironing rooms (if that what you want), but no - we didn't expect this. Is that in their brochure wonder? We came home(not late) that evening and decided to have a drink in the bar but it was clear the bar man wanted us to hurry up as there were only two other couples in that evening. One couple did what we did and decided to sit in the sofas outside the bar area due to a rather self opinionated drunk man shouting to the bar man as he spoke. Nice. The couple we started chatting to indeed felt the same and also expressed how disappointed they were with the hotel itself.

We did not dine in the hotel other than for Breakfast was in a huge room absolutely packed with guests. The quality fo the 'buffet' (yes buffet) was very poor. Cold shrivelled up sausages, sad looking bacon and baked beans that looked like they had been there for a week. Now we were starting to feel like we were in a holiday camp. In fact we only had breakfast on the one morning as we thought it so poor we chose to go into St Ives instead.

We spent as little time as possible in the hotel as we just did not enjoy it at all.

In summary, the location is fantastic. The building itself is fantastic. However, please spend some money on a refurbishment and take it back to what it obviously once was. This castle/hotel will always get bookings because of where it is; the view and of course people from abroad love to stay in an English Castle. But why just rely on volume sales - make it special - make the experience enjoyable. We don't want to queue to iron a shirt; be made to feel unwelcome by the bar staff; face a breakfast that wouldn't entice a starving alien or be woken up by a noisy toilet. Too many people are now commenting on the Castle interior for the owners not to sit up and listen.

Would we return? To St Ives yes because we love it, but we would not stay here again until we were assured changes had been made to improve overall customer satisfaction and experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Honest_Two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit and would like to reassure you that we do have a rolling programme of refurbishment, it just takes time due to the size and history of the building. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
879 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing