We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'Secret Escapes' Offer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Maldon
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A 'Secret Escapes' Offer”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

A Secret Escapes break at £147 for 3 nights b & b including a round of golf (which we did not take up) was EXCELLENT value for money! Very imposing with beautiful surroundings which unfortunately we were not able to make use of due to the weather.

The room (No.2 in the basement but at ground floor level outside the windows!) )was large with a high ceiling and the bed was comfortable. It was quite quiet in the room with only the cry of the seagulls (we had the window open) and occasional creaking from above when the occupant was walking around. There was a wedding going on when we arrived but there was no noise to be heard from it, unlike other hotels we have been in! The only downside to the room was that it was right up the inside of a U shape (almost!) so immediately opposite our window there was a brick wall about 10feet away and then further round the walls went right up high so there was no view at all and it was quite dark in the room. However, we were not in the room in the daytime as we were out visiting places and for the price we paid it was really most excellent value.

I had a swim one evening and the water was lovely and warm and I also enjoyed the jacuzzi. What I did not like was the shared changing room - but I suppose the space was a bit limited to provide individual cubicles. We did like to watch a bit of t.v. before retiring to bed but the t.v. kept cutting out which was a nuisance. It was a very old one (not flat screen) with a digibox so that might have had something to do with it. However, it bothered my husband more than me as I just took a book to bed. I could have done with a lighter weight duvet as the room was quite warm even though we turned off the radiators to both the room and bathroom but it did not bother my husband! I did have the window open all night though. Nice cotton sheets, pillowcases and duvet cover. Blackout lined curtains were appreciated! Well furnished with cupboard space, side tables, desk with swivel chair and coffee table with easy chair and a decent carpet. The en-suite was very clean with plenty of toiletries and the toilet flush was extremely efficient and did not sound in the bedroom. However, it did not have a bedcover which I would have expected.

The staff were fantastic. We cannot praise them too highly. Always pleasant and helpful and the cleanliness could not be faulted. In particular the breakfast staff were always on the go and obviously extremely well trained. They were polite, helpful and fast! There was a varied selection at breakfast to suit all including a fruit selection but as it was a buffet service the hot food was difficult to keep to perfection although I found the fried eggs were beautifully done.
We ate out lunch and dinner so cannot comment on that. The guards at the gate were also very pleasant.

Even though the weather was not good (severe storm warnings and torrential rail forecast which we appeared to miss although we did have showers and some bouts of heavy rain) we managed to get around quite a bit including a visit to the Eden Project and other towns/bays in the area. This included a trip to Mousehole which I wanted to see after reading 'The Mousehole Cat' to my grandchildren. We really only had 2 days as the other 2 days were taken up with travelling there and back. We would love to return and take in more of the sites.

We could not give 5* for Value at the advertised rate of £160 pr room but at the £49per room we paid it was well above 5*! Similarly for the advertised rate we could not give the room 5* but for £49 a room it was also well above 5* The splendour of the venue warranted much higher!

Room Tip: Depends what you are looking for and how much you pay. For £49 a night we were satisfied with Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tootsie144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you very much for the extensive and informative review. Also, thank you for the praise that you lavished on our staff, we are very grateful. I have passed your kind words on to the Breakfast staff, they are grateful, too.
We aim to replace all of the televisions as soon as possible. We have already replaced quite a few of them, but it is an expensive proposition to replace them all at once when you consider that we have eighty rooms and seventy self catering properties. Incidentally, the stormy weather that you described, did have a detrimental effect on the television reception.
We are happy that you found us good value for money; we often have special offers running that will all be listed on our website.
We sincerely hope that we will see you here again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    838
    445
    224
    146
See reviews for
611
1,484
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chehsire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I visited treganna castle for the day as I had booked for me,my mum and sister in law to have a relaxing spa day. We where staying in st Ives for the week and I thought it would be a lovely surprise to book the spa.
Our initial reaction when driving up to the castle was how beautiful the castle looked and the amazing grounds, we even said what a perfect wedding venue.
Unfortunately our feelings soon changed when we walked through the venue looking for the leisure facilities, there was no body there to greet us or even direct us in that right way.
After walking around we asked somebody who was staying in the hotel, when we reached the changing rooms they where very dated and dirty. Straight away we where mortified but then we entered the steam room as the sauna was broke but the steam room was yet again thilthy amd we left immediately.
Then off to the jacuzzi which we thought didn't look to bad so we thought we would give it a go and then the bubbles stopped and there was a layer of scum, obviously not cleaned.
After having to get changed to make ourselves to the treatment room which was back upstairs and through the hotel corridor, we where greeted by two lovely young girls.
Our treatment was lovely once you got over the bright blue and purple room which was full of junk and the fact you where lying on an old shabby curtain.
We requested a room to get ready in for lunch which was part of the day, the room was just as disappointing. The hot water wouldn't work, the fresh towel had a dead earwig sitting on it and there was no where to get ready unless you wanted to stand on the chair to be able to see the mirror.
We then headed for lunch which I must say was lovely and so where the staff that worked in the bar.
I laugh about the experience now but at the time I was utterly disappointed, I would never visit the castle again and I feel my mums birthday suprise was ruined.
To be honest I can't even believe they are even advertising as a spa, the worse part is the cleanliness.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Victoria743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for posting a review and for the kind comments regarding our staff, the food and the grounds.
Whilst we welcome and even encourage objective reviews, we feel that in this case we have bee unfairly criticized.
The General Manager specifically remembers your party and your visit, as the G.M dealt with your issues personally, when you were here.
It is apparent, from your review, that you neglected to mention that the hotel room that you were given, in which to change, was a gesture of goodwill. Or, that you received a percentage of your money refunded.
Our leisure facilities are not dirty. We have member of staff dedicated to cleaning the pool, jacuzzi and changing rooms who spends a minimum of twenty hours per week on those areas alone.
I have checked the 'pool water test' logs, for March and the water quality for the entire month exceeded the Institute of Sports and Recreation Management's recommended guidelines.
The Sauna was closed, during your visit, due to a complete refurbishment of that particular facility. We endeavored to accomplish the work as quickly as possible and apologise that it fell during your 'Spa Day'.
We accept that the aqua-marine and purple colour scheme may not be your preference, however, many of our guests do like it and offer compliments on its soothing qualities.
The items in the treatment room are not 'junk', but material that is essential to the day to day operation of Castle Beauty. The covers on the treatment table are not 'shabby curtains', they are brand new thick bath towels, that are changed upon completion of each session, as well as sterilized paper.
We can appreciate that we may not have reached your expectations with regard to your image of a spa and for that we are truly sorry, but writing a misleading and often incorrect review is hardly fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I have just returned from Tregenna Castle. This was our first trip together just the two of us in 6 years so was a well needed break. I am a wedding planner by trade so very sceptical and judgemental about venues so had a good read through the reviews here and was pleasantly surprised that the majority was good.
After a long 5 hour trip we arrived and was speechless driving upto the castle, it was a fairytale dream and was totally beautiful then a look to the right you could see the St.Ives and the stunning sea view. We were early so unable to check in so enjoyed afternoon cream tea and took a stroll around the grounds - was so big didnt really know where to start or what to do but eventually found our way.
We upgraded to a sea view which i would highly recommend if you can get it. The large windows, the spacious rooms, the gigantic bed, it was very clean. Of course with a castle as old as Treganna dont expect modern appliances or mod cons etc as the windows are a little old and the tea making facilities not great and the very 'small' tv. But please dont let that put your off, i feel it added character to the place.
We are a couple in our early 30's but not many people our own age there, Tregenna did have more mature couples and families but everyone so friendly and polite.
As for the food, i am shall we say very particular (ok.... fussy!) with what i eat. We arrived on the sunday and there was a carvery in the main restaurant which we didnt fancy, so we went tot he Brassiere where there was a selection of all kinds of food. I had the traditional cornish pastly with lovely chips served in a metal wire pot, which was D-lish! my hubby had the steak, again served great and was very tasty. The second night there was a wedding reception in, but the hotel was big enough that the wedding was in another room so didnt take over the hotel or interrupt guests staying but was a bit more of a buzzy atmosphere which was nice. We enjoyed the Brasserie so much we decided to eat in there again ( we did plan to go to the local Italian wine bar and resturant but the weather was terrible) but everyone had the same idea so had a wait to get in, but we went to the lounge bar and the restaurant manager actually came to find us when the table was free and again enjoyed an amazing meal. The staff were fab i there. There was a young guy serving behind the bar he was very friendly and polite, then a waiter who was very busy but always happy for a hat and always had a smile on his face. Then a Manager there that makes the most amazing hot chocolate! Great staff in there! Breakfast we were shown to our seats immediately, then hot tea and toast were brought straight away. Plus a selection of full english, fruit and croissants and cereals etc. A great breakfast both days! filled us up until dinner time.
We took a trip to the Eden Project whilst we were there, about an hours drive but so worth it, i think most of the guests headed there at some point. Definitely worth a trip, but no money off vouchers if your a guest here. We also headed to the beach which is a 5 minute drive (but very narrow roads so be careful) or a 15 minute walk from the hotel. Lots of bakers and little shops, was a lovely walk around.
Theres only one down point for us, which please dont take as negative but a pure observation and constructive criticism and thats the spa/pool. It wasnt exactly a luxury spa hotel. We arrived on sunday i was unable to book an appointment as i was advised there was no appointments, but i visited 5 times and it said closed constantly. I was also unable to make an appointment the next day as we went to the eden project and couldnt get in on my return and of course came home the net morning, so a little disappointing. I would say book before you come, but then they give you money off vouchers off some treatments when arrive, so enquire in advance. The Pool is in a conservatory looked on my the resturant. So was extremely hot and stuffy (even in April) there was a family with kids in the pool so couldnt really enjoy it. There is no comfy seats around the pool or somewhere to relax. We did have 5 minutes in the jacuzzi which was nice. We did use the sauna and steam room but very small and basic. It had all the facilities there but dont expect your top of the range spa/pool area. Im sure however in the summer time the outdoor pool is used more frequently then the indoor pool. But as i said dont let this put you off.
Overall the hotel is stunning and in a great location, the food was excellent and reasonably priced. The room was more then satisfactory and the staff especially in the Brasserie made it a perfect weekend. We are already planning our next trip maybe with our little girl next time, and have already recommended it.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 - was a ground floor with a sea view. great room! great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheMartindales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking, what must have been a considerable amount of time, to post such a thorough review.
We are pleased that we were able to exceed the expectations of such discerning guests.
I would also like to thank you for already recommending us and for giving us a five star rating.
I have passed your kind comments on to our Brasserie Manager and to our Executive Chef. They are both very grateful.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We have visted the "Castle" on numerous occassions in the past for a drink and a bite to eat but this was our first stay but it won't be our last!
Excellent service, facilities and friendly staff made our two night stay very enjoyable.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel special by the friendly staff and nothing was too much trouble.
Thanks to all for a fantastic break and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPriceLoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We are all really glad that having visited us to wine and dine, on a few occasions, you decided to stay. We are particularly pleased that you felt special and welcome.
Thank you for this review, for the kind comments regarding our staff and for the five star rating.
We sincerely look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We bought the stay on the Daily Telegraph holiday site well worth registering with £49 per night with breakfast for two can't be bad. Hotel is well placed (but you need a car) for the best view and in its own massive grounds with golf for those who wish to spoil their walks. Old hall, grand rooms beautiful cornice and architecture. Rooms are quite spacious, plum for a seaview £20 upgrade. Although parts are somewhat tired (bath enamel chipped) generally good standard, clean, big comfortable beds and backed by excellent friendly staff.

Room Tip: Seaview if budget will stretch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mercedesboy850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
We are very happy that you found your own way to book and stay with us. We are also pleased that you consider us good value for money.
Thank you very much for the lovely comments and the five star rating. We sincerely hope that we did enough to convince you to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a great sea view room and found the service fantastic. Unbelievably good value.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiiGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased that you had a good time.
Also, thank you for the five star rating, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in the apartment overlooking the golf course for a long weekend. Our apartment was spacious, furnished well, and warm.
Pros - A lovely walk to St Ives from the castle, the grounds are very well kept, the staff are very polite.
Cons - The shower cubicles are too small, we had a leak one morning from the apartment upstairs water was dripping onto my sons face. It was rectified straight away though.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STRADBROKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for the review and the kind comments.
I am very sorry about the leak from the apartment above yours, as I am sure that you will appreciate, this was outside of our control. However, I am pleased that we were able to reach a resolution and that you will be back to visit us again. We look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
963 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
21.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing