We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, lovely staff, needs interior maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 20 June 2012

As others have noticed, there is a large difference between the interior and exterior of this hotel. The hotel is located in the middle of a beautiful garden - really the prettiest hotel grounds I have seen. The views are truly stunning. Inside, the hotel truly needs a large investment to bring all of the areas up to standard. The lobby is really a long corridor leading to the reception. Along this hallway are placed a large number of oxblood leather chesterfield sofas but the area isn´t really as relaxing as it should be because it is a hallway and the kitchen is located on one side, the dining room on the other. The wonderful wait staff are run off their feet dashing from one side of the ´lobby´to the other. The rooms are a bit threadbare but large for their kind. The bath was sub-par but they did leave bottles of cleaning fluid lying around! The ´leisure center´needs a refurbish. I´m not really sure that I would stay here again because I felt that we were always fighting against the hotel in some ways.. outdoor pool closes early at 7 pm, pay to use indoor pool, internet only in lobby, lobby busy and loud and so on. But still, it is such a nice location and the people were lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l2teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Thank you for your review and thank you for complimenting our grounds and staff. Our Groundskeepers do a fantastic job of grooming and manicuring our Estate and our staff work hard to provide our guests with an enjoyable, pleasant atmosphere.
We strive to address any maintenance issues, throughout the hotel and will be renovating any bathroom that lets us down.
With regard to the indoor pool; resident guests do not have to pay for the indoor pool, or any of the other Leisure facilities. (With the exception of golf.) We provide day passes for non-residents, at a very reasonable price, though.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,134 - 2,140 of 2,773 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Stayed here the end of May for my birthday weekend, great special offer online and well worth the money. On approaching the castle the views are amazing and the grounds superb. We were really impressed with our check in, the reception staff were really lovely, nothing too much trouble, well informed and very down to earth, made us feel really welcome and gave a great first impression. Our room was a non sea view on the first floor, not the greatest room in the world but did the job, the only let down is the terrible bathroom and cheap tv, kettle etc but again wouldn't be a deal breaker!! We ate in the Brasserie and the food was excellent, the staff seemed a little harassed but I suspect that was down to understaffing? Breakfast was plentiful and more than adequate, we had a lovely day out in St Ives and had an excellent lunch at The Loft Restaurant (recommended) We decided to eat in the Brasserie again for dinner as it had been such a great experience the night before. Again the food was fabulous but .the manager on duty was so rude to another guest and a member of staff it was embarrassing to witness (I am reluctant to mention his name on trip advisor but let's say he wasn't English!!).
All I all a lovely stay and offers permitting we will definitely visit Tregenna again, thanks to the excellent location and almost all the staff we met.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Grachaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Everyone here at Tregenna castle, wishes you a belated Happy Birthday and thanks you for taking the time to post a review.
We are pleased that you where impressed with our staff and that you felt welcome.
I have passed your compliments regarding the Brasserie on to the kitchen, the Executive Chef was very pleased and sends you his appreciation and thanks.
We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for rating us with five stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

ive stayed at the Tregenna hotel 3 times now,usually around christmas time.The hotel is old and does need some work to bring it upto standard.I have stayed there for christmas parties,so have only stayed over night.The rooms are large and quite stately,but windows are ill fitting and have always been cold.Rooms do have an extra portable heater so that does help.I only had breakfast but very good selection of full english,cereals,pastries and yogarts served in a large dinning area.The hotel has wonderful views over the st ives bay.And a golf course on site for those who like.Theres a swimming pool indoors and out,sauna and steam room,gym,hairdressers.
Id stay again but probably just for the staff parties at christmas.

Room Tip: sea view for great views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornish-Mandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

We are very grateful that you took the time to post a review. Thank you.
Even though you only live eight miles away from the hotel, we are happy that you decided to stay with us and that you would stay again.
As the hotel is quite old, it is a listed building. Therefore, we are limited in what we an do to the aesthetic of the exterior, including the windows.
We hope to see you again next Christmas, or perhaps even sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We visited back in September 2011. Upon arrival the castle looks very attractive within its settings. Around the castle there are some amazing views, being able to see straight down into St Ives on a clear day. It was clear that some areas had been re-furbished and others could have been worked on. The room was spacious and clean. There is a path from the castle down to St Ives which is very scenic but is steep and might not be suitable for everyone. The castle has a pool and jacuzzi but neither are particularly glamorous. Would stay again.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2012

Thank you very much for your belated review. We are grateful for your feedback.
We are pleased that we did enough during your stay to warrant a return visit and look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Its was all love at first sight, the Castle the Cornwall. We really loved every moment of our stay.(4 nights) We stayed in one of the self catering apartment. The apartment was well cleaned and managed. My wife, my daughter loved it. All the basic things were provided properly and what ever time we spend there was really lovely. Staff was always willing to help about different routes and places. The were very nice and polite. Weather was perfect which made things even more beautiful. The town, the wood walk and the beach ..amazing amazing amazing...
In short, I would love to go back there soon. Thanks Tregenna Castle for giving us the best travel experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Real-Dream-Catchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Thank you for such a fantastic review. We are very happy that you had a great time in one of our numerous self-catering properties.
Thank you, as well, for the kind compliments that you paid our staff and for awarding us with a five star rating.
We are excited by the prospect of your return and look forward to welcoming you back when you do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Nice hotel. Room large and clean with a comfy bed. Views from hotel are fabulous with a lovely walk down into st Ives .
Drinks and food expensive but nice. Breakfast good.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank izzybunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and sincerely hope that you will visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Tregenna castle is the most beautiful place in the world! The SUPERB Atlantic coastline is so, so beautiful, breath taking. The ONLY place to stay in St Ives should be Tregenna castle. It can be expensive for families but at off peak times mega good offers can be found. All the facilities are sutible for in-door & out-door fun so whatever the weather you can be sure that you wont get bored. All the staff are friendly & professional. There can be afew too many weddings, good for the castle but can get annoying if staying a week or so! Please stay at Tregenna if only for a long weekend in the hotel, I'm possitive that you'll wanna come back again & also want to stay at one of their super self catering homes on the site!!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the best but non-sea facing rooms are bigger!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you so much for such an exuberant review. And, also, thank you for awarding us five stars.
We are very flattered that you rate us as the most beautiful place in the world, that was very kind of you. So, too, where the comments that you made regarding our staff.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £68 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing