We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding Day!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Wedding Day!!”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Fantastic Wedding Day!!

We held our wedding at Tregenna Castle on 5th July 2012 and can not give enough praise to the whole team, as from start to finish our day was perfect.

If you are looking for a once in a lifetime dream wedding, then believe us…. look no further.
We've been visiting St Ives for many years on holiday and decided we wanted to marry there too.

From the first moment we stepped into Tregenna we were made to feel welcome and wanted, a feeling that never left us or any of our guests.

The location is stunning and gardens beautifully kept. The staff made every effort possible and the attention to detail and the all-round helpfulness ensured our special day was truly that, special.

We choose the traditional Cornish menu for our wedding breakfast and it was outstanding, and the buffet in the evening was lovely too. All in all a Fantastic Wedding Day!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelBurgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Congratulations and the best of luck for your future together.
Thank you for your wonderful review and all of the lovely compliments that you lavished upon us, also the five star rating.
We are very happy that your special day was a success and that you chose us to celebrate it with.
We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back, perhaps for your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    821
    429
    216
    140
See reviews for
584
1,456
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This hotel is very poor value for Money. Although the grounds and surrounding area is absolutely stunning the rooms and service is terrible. The room was small, very dated had no hot water and a door that you had to kick open. The breakfast looked very good but was cold and the staff didn't seem to care. We checked out the next morning along with two more couples who were also complaining at the same time we couldn't put up with it another night,So so disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 5505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations with regard to your room. We have repaired the door, though.
Please let me assure you that we definitely care about all of our guests and any issues that they may have. We strive to provide exemplary service from all departments, it is the best philosophy. (Especially, if it will avoid reviews such as this!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here for our wedding on the 9th of august and On behalf of me and my new wife Sam thank you to the castle team for our brilliant wedding. Everything ran so smooth and a special mention to Katie who was an absolute star. It was our third visit here, the grounds are immaculate and the location can not be beat! However you may want to take a taxi back up the hill after visiting the town!. Yes the rooms may not be the most contemporary but they are comfartable and very spacious and the whole place oozes character. The drinks can be a little bit pricey but anywhere where you can enjoy a pint outside with a view like this would charge the same. The food is delicious and there are plenty of sport facilities to enjoy. All of our guests commented on how wonderfull the place and wedding was. A lovely little weekend away and we will be returning for our anniversary. Thank you so much. Jamie and sam

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Congratulations, we wish you the very best of luck for your future together.
Thank you for your fantastic review and all of the kind compliments that you gave us.
The Weddings and Functions coordinators were thrilled that all went well, on your special day, Katie was particularly pleased to get a mention.
We look forward to seeing you for your anniversary next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Spent 2 nights here, after reading previous reviews that were not particularly complimentary we were unsure what to expect. The hotel is in a brilliant location, a short but steep walk from st Ives town, the path has limited lighting after dark which made the walk both spooky and quite difficult! The pool and gym are nice, nothing special but clean and easy to access. Breakfast is really good, I would recommend going early in the slot it is available as it can get very busy, it is buffet style with great choice and was probably the highlight of our stay. Now for the negatives- our room was very dated, damaged furniture, cracked bathroom tiles, mouldy bathroom, constant dripping from tap, windows only open a crack and no aircon, but the worst thing by far was the noise!!! The doors slam shut so very loudly it makes you jump out your skin especially at night, the walls are thin so you can hear guests in neighbouring rooms ad well as corridors and the floorboards are very creaky, we didn't sleep well either night as it was impossible with all the noise. The reception staff were also a little rude, they made it clear that wedding guests had priority over us and we would have to wait until late afternoon to check in. Overall, for the money they charge, we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sdjdbriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for complimenting us for our food and location.
The amount that the window opens is due to Health and Safety legislation as a safety precaution,
That you found any member of our staff to be rude is unacceptable and the Reservations/Reception Manager will be investigating.
With regard to our policy regarding weddings; all of our guests should be treated equally, none should be treated preferentially over another. I am very sorry that you were made to feel that this was the case.
We are also sorry to hear that you would not visit us again, we hope that one day you will reconsider.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We enjoyed a mid week stay here. I've been a few times before and have always got a good room. There were no deals on the room, so staying in a family room was pretty expensive, our shower was either hot or cold, we reported this when we left. The seagulls were noisy and woke me in the early hours and someone, possibly to do with the wedding was shifting gear on a trolley over the gravel between 12 and 1 in the morning!
We love the walk down through the gardens and the kids enjoyed the pool and the steam room, though the jacuzzi didn't appear to be working.
The breakfast was good but not keen on coffee machines and this was no exception. No marmite!
Staff were very friendly and helpful and were obviously very busy during the school holidays.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth it and the noisy seagulls are on the other side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaseK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you posting a review and for your kind comments regarding our staff and breakfast.
Unfortunately, an heater part, in the jacuzzi, broke recently and there was a slight delay in the replacement being delivered. It has been repaired, now, though.
I am very sorry about the disturbance, in the small hours and have mentioned this to the Night Manager for his attention.
Regrettably, there is very little that we can do about the seagulls, we all wish that there was!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I spent four nights here as part of a recent trip with my boyfriend's family. We stayed in one of the three bedroom apartments within the self-catering accommodation and the facilities were dated and in need of some improvement.

The water pressure on the shower was terrible and the bathroom was seriously in need of some general maintenance - rot was even beginning to appear on the side of the bath. The kitchen was well equipped and the TV was just about adequate for your needs, but the sofa bed was so uncomfortable we ended up just sleeping on the sofa after the first night. The doors were extremely noisy and the floor was creaky (which is quite an issue when there are eight adults wandering around at night!).

The bedrooms were small and you could only reach the plugs if you pulled the beds right out, cutting off one corner of the room and the decor was also in need of some updating.

It is safe to say it did not live up to its luxury credentials but to be fair to the hotel staff once concerns were raised they immediately sent people round to start dealing with the problem. It's just a shame they seem not to have checked the apartment thoroughly before the season started, as some of the issues had clearly been around for a while.

On a more positive note, the grounds are lovely and very well maintained, but could do with a little more lighting. I would recommend the restaurant which had a great menu and well-cooked food. All of our party ate there at some point and tried different things with no complaints at all. The view is absolutely stunning and it is handy not having to drive down into town.

On the other hand, those members of the party who used the sports facilities said they were not very well maintained and needed some updating. The walk down to the town is a little steep and I would avoid walking back along the trail at night; a lot of lights along the track are out.

To conclude, I would say there are positives and negatives to this hotel, with the service being a big positive and the dated facilities being the biggest downside.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen_M_Clark25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed and objective review and also for the compliments regarding our grounds, the food and the level of service that you received.
We are sorry that the accommodation, in which you stayed, did not completely meet your expectations. We have seventy self catering properties on the Estate, ranging in standard from three to five stars. Although, the issues that you raised will need to be addressed. So, thank you for bringing them to our attention.
We truly hope that you will visit us again and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The hotel and grounds are spectacular, but the room was rather a let down for the price they charge. It was clean and comfortable but in desperate need of refurbishment, especially the bathroom which had a chipped bath and mould around it. Also the shower never got more than warm.
The food is very good but the coffee, both in the room and with the breakfast tastes just like warm water.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soosie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Thank you for your review and for complimenting our hotel and grounds.
We are systematically moving through the hotel upgrading and modernising the rooms and bathrooms, where necessary. I apologise for the shower, our maintenance team should have been notified and repairs carried out.
We sincerely hope that these issues did not cause you too much inconvenience and that you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing