We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treganna is tops”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Treganna is tops”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed at Treganna for a weekend break in May, and had a magical time. The staff were brilliant; really friendly and professional. As a first time visitor, I was blown away when driving up to the impressive frontage! The interiors are clean and well maintained, and were ideal for our needs. The location was perfect, with a beautiful view of St Ives from the hill top location. The grounds are very impressive, and little touches like the wildlife info included on the walk literature made the weekend just that little bit special. I travelled with a friend, but made a note to myself to come back with my young family, as this hotel seemed really geared up for children, and families were obviously made very welcome in this beautiful yet unstuffy hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you very much for your flattering review and for the wonderful comments therein. And also for awarding us a five star rating.
We are a family orientated Hotel; we love to have children here and we would especially love to have you return with your family. I hope that we will see you here again sometime in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    838
    445
    224
    146
See reviews for
611
1,484
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

200 pounds a night for B&B - having a laugh or what? Here for a wedding - otherwise would never have chosen it - and surprised that they get so much wrong at these kind of rates.

Some positives : some staff are very professional and obliging - Dave on the gate was great and Julie on reception stood out for me. Grounds very well maintained. Some aspects of breakfast acceptable.

Disappointing : wi-fi only in reception area - when questioned was told that they are "working on it." Bathroom - truly ancient and not acceptable at these rates. No ventilation of any sort in the bathroom - no fan , no way to open painted in window! (Notice other reviews suggest they are "working on it" ). Some amazingly surly staff - I do remember the name of the bar server but to save her blushes I won't mention it here - but there is a serious lack of customer care training going on here - and at the prices they are charging it is not acceptable. Access to the hotel is very poor from the car park. Breakfast bread almost inedible. Didn't pay for a sea view so wasn't expecting that but our room looked on to a high wall that was a few feet away and had no view at all. Surprised that hotel guests get no concessions playing golf - same rate as anyone walking in from the street.

Spent some time in reception - because it was the only place to get wi-fi - and was amazed to overhear the constant stream of people complaining about things - and the discounts being offered as a result. Think they're trying it on and seeing what they can get away with. There is a whole sector of the population that don't complain and I guess that's who they are catering to.

Heard that they do a lot of discounting here - not surprised - they need to.

I have been looking through the other reviews and management's responses : strikes me that they are full of good intentions but little action.

Yep it's a great position. No the prices are not in line with the quality on offer. Management needs a serious shake-up - and in my view it is not acceptable to respond to negative reviews saying that it is a priority to sort something out - now when you have charged a lot of money to the customer.

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms in the low numbers unless they have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyRonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My wife and I booked our stay away to make a weekend of seeing Kate Rusby on the Saturday night. We arrived on the Saturday afternoon, found our room (55) and the enjoyed a game of croquet on the lawn and a drink in the gardens before getting changed and going Down to the town.

What a lovely relaxing start to our mini break, both of us feeling chilled and what an amazing view over st Ives bay. The staff were helpful, the lady down at the gym was really informative too about times and what was available.

I used the gym and swimming pool on the Sunday morning which were all great, nicely kitted out and good music on to work out to. Swimming was good, nice pool, warm and changing facilities tidy.

We had a lovely breakfast, help yourself affair but plenty on offer and nice ambience. Big room but we were quite happy.

In fairness we had a nice stay as its nice to be away and the weather was just perfect. However the room was smallish, glad we were only there the one night and the mattress was SOOO uncomfortable. That alone has put off from returning even though everything else was really enjoyable. Pricing just seemed a bit overly expensive given the nights sleep we got. We didn't complain as at 12am what can they do when you've completely unpacked?

My recommendation would be to check out the bed upon arrival and if not comfortable then change quick!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I hope that Kate Rusby's show was entertaining and enjoyable.
We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that you managed to take advantage of our facilities.
I am very sorry that you found the mattress to be uncomfortable and that based on this, you have decided not to visit us again. Hopefully, if you consider that we have eighty rooms and seventy self catering properties, that do not all have the same type of mattress, perhaps you will change your mind. We certainly hope that you will.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed for 3 nights after a late booking and, so far as we know, got the last available room - with a view of a wall.. On entering the room, it smelled of dirty socks. The ensuite bath was probably the tattiest we have seen - and that includes some very old places in France. There was mould on the tile grouting, which, when I tried, easily came off. Strangely, there were 4 identical pictures on the walls. Very limited clothes storage. Very comfortable bed.
The bathroom light didn't work but was quickly mended.
Meals were excellent in both the main restaurant and brasserie. All the staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful with great views over St. Ives.
We looked into another bedroom, which was very nice, so, perhaps, having booked late, we were given the worst room (59), although other reviewers give similar comments about the rooms. Overall, we would stay again if we were certain of a good room.

Room Tip: Don't have room 59. Room 52 looked great, but is probably expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank netherssailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for the kind words regarding our staff, the food and the Estate.
As of this week, room 59 has been taken off line and is no longer available to rent, as it is undergoing extensive refurbishment, including a new bath.
We sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to impress you and I would like to assure you that, should you return, room 59 will not be the same room that you recently stayed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had a lovely relaxing break .The staff where pleasant and polite and if you needed anything they helped.
The last night we had been for a walk came back to our bedroom to find trouble with the extractor fan in the bathroom .With in 2 minutes from mention it we had a lovely lady come and then she bought another chap to look and we were moved in to another room with in 5 minutes .I wish i knew the lady's name all i can say she worked in the evening she had blonde hair and she was thin .She was really lovely Also the chap was great . The only thing to say was they need a changing room in swimming areas because it is embarrassing for an older person to try and change in front of children .

Room Tip: We Were on first floor so there was no children running up and down corridors also had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am very pleased that we were able to rectify the problem with your room and keep you happy. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to Dawn, she will be thrilled that her efforts were appreciated.
The Leisure Manager has been made aware of your suggestion regarding 'change facilities' at the outdoor pool, via the comment card that you submitted.
We sincerely hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Absolutely amazing experience - from the planning stage a year before right up till the day and beyond Tregenna have been amazing. The staff have been attentive and patient with our questions and always got back to us (we live in London so they were great getting back to us to put our minds at rest) - they allowed us to give input into the wedding breakfast menu's and were just fantastic throughout.

The views from the hotel are amazing we were lucky enough to get married outside and honestly the setting could not be bettered!

Thank you so much!

Matt & Jess

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Congratulations, we all wish you the very best of luck for your future together.
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. We are extremely happy that the entire process was so successful and are pleased that your special day went so well.
We sincerely hope that we will have the privilege of welcoming you back, perhaps for your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CORNWALL
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have just returned from a one night stay at this hotel and felt very disappointed, we stayed here as we were guests at a wedding at the hotel and had to travel too far to get home. We paid £148 for our double room and this was at a discount due to the wedding. The hotel is very shabby we felt and the room nothing special at all, no view, scratchy towels, very basic bathroom with outdated shower and sink and nowhere to put any toiletries at all, I am so glad I got ready for the wedding at home as I would have hated to get ready at this hotel. It all looks very tired and we have stayed at much classier hotels at a fraction of the price. The food for the wedding was wonderful and the service was fast and breakfast was also lovely with friendly staff and a good service. I feel this hotel cannot rely on its location to charge these prices it needs revamping or lower charges. Do not be put off staying here as the location is amazing but be aware of the state of the hotel so that you wont be dissapointed or feel greatly overcharged.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HEIDICOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your review and your compliments regarding our staff, food and service. We are extremely happy that the wedding was a success.
However, we are not happy that you did not feel as though you received value for money and were a little disappointed with your room, for that we are sorry.
We are addressing our maintenance issues through a programme of scheduled renovation.
If you compare our prices with the other hotels in the area, you will discover that we are very competitive considering the facilities that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
963 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
21.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing