We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite & Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite & Charming”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This was visit number 4 to Tregenna Castle and as always we had a fantastic time. We stayed in a self-catering apartment and I have to say we couldn't fault the accomodation and facilities. Our 7 year old daughter loved the Castle Kids club, which was a relief because keeping one child entertained whilst on holiday in the winter months can be tricky!

The castle is situated high-up above the bay of St Ives, which makes the views from around the grounds breath taking. It's a very pleasant walk through the castle gardens and down into St Ives, but be prepared for a breath taking walk back should you return the same way (walking down is definitely easier than walking back up, but there are benches to sit on to get your breath back :-).

Personally I find the castle very charming. Yes it's a little creaky here and there, but for me it's all part of its character. Overall service, facilities, food, etc are spot on and it's nice to see some of the same faces (staff wise) visit after visit. Looking forward to staying with you again in August - hopefully get to use the heated outdoor pool!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissilesET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thank you very much for your loyalty. It is always a pleasure to hear that guests have enjoyed their time with us so much that they visit repeatedly.
I am glad that your daughter was suitably entertained. We have the Kids Club operational during all school holidays and love to see children have fun and enjoy themselves.
It is great that you noticed the continuity of our staff, we are privileged to have loyal and dedicated employees in many key positions.
Thank you for your review, your compliments and for rating us with five stars.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    821
    429
    216
    140
See reviews for
584
1,456
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (856)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We booked a last minute a 2 day break at the Hotel and were fortunate to enjoy some great weather during our stay. This enabled us to make the most of the lovely winter gardens, and also play a little golf. The room was of a traditional style and had clearly been recently refurbished (I understand the whole Hotel is having the bathrooms up-graded). The on-suite was of a modern design and had a power shower. The room was clean and tidy, and was serviced whilst we were out enjoying the winter sunshine. We had breakfast in the main Restaurant which was a Carvery layout with excellent choice of well presented and delicious food. In the evening we ate early in the Bar. The selection was good and the food was presented and served well. The Staff were both polite and friendly and we gained the real impression they wanted us to enjoy our stay. Although there was a gym and swimming pool available we did not use them in our short stay.
A problem we have had on previous visits to St. Ives was car parking. Tregenna Castle Hotel has ample and secure parking on-site, a real benefit.
For value, service, comfort and food, I have no hesitation in recommending Tregenna Castle for a winter break.

Room Tip: We upgraded to sea view room, well worth it for the stunning views over the golf course to St. Ives...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyPound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post such a complimentary review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the fine (cold!) weather enabled you to take advantage of the outdoor activities that are available around the Estate.
Thank you for your review and for any potential recommendations that you may make.
We sincerely hope that we will be presented with the opportunity to welcome you back to the Estate sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed on a two night break in February. The location is superb with great views across the bay and harbour and being a 10 minute walk down the hill into town gives easy access without the parking problems. The hotel itself however is fine if a little dated and tired. Dont expect top accommodation - everything worked but odd taps, creaky wardrobe doors and dated decor tell a tale of minimal investment in the fabric of the building. Spa facilities were good though with indoor pool, sauna and gym being of a good standard. We had breakfast twice and it was buffet style, hearty and basic.Recommended but not great.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DR18July2014b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're glad that you enjoyed our location and agree with you wholeheartedly about the benefit of our free parking when wanting to explore St Ives! Thank you, too, for your kind words about our spa facilities. It is a challenge to keep the whole castle looking fresh, but we will continue to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2013

2 nights on a deal, what a let down - the room was poorly maintained, the bathroom very outdated and tired, clenliness poor. We had a double bed (two singles pushed together) plus a single for our young daughter, we pushed them together as she wanted to be close, I dont think the double had been moved in years there was a lot of dust. Cracked tiles in the bathroom, no pressure at all in the shower, blood staines on the bed sheets, hairdryer next due for electrical test in 2011, remote control not working, no catch on the window, you get the idea......... The pool was full when we first tried, we went the next morning, well it was a damp, damp area, cold, run down, rusting roof supports etc, not nice, the shower in the mens changing area needed a real overhaul. Breakfast was interesting, we were asked our room number, shown to a table and left. So what do we do, do we help ourselves?? Eventually we worked out it was all self service apart from the toast, they bring that to you (no chice in colour), but tea etc, go get yourself. We did not dine in the evening, we had a peek at the dining room and decided Berni Inn cerci 1988 was not for us (red table cloths, red napkinks in wine glasses!). St Ives is great, we love it, but if you want some comfort and cleen then there are much better options.

Room Tip: Make time to look round the grouds and take in the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
We're sad that you didn't enjoy your visit but thanks for your kind words about our gardens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I booked this hotel through travelzoo last year it was a present for my husband's 40th birthday. We arrived at the hotel at 11am on 17th Feb and did not expected our room to be ready, we spoke to reception who informed us that the room would be ready at 2pm and she would give us details of the facilities when we checked in, we were given a map showing us how to walk into the town, it felt like we were'nt welcome until our room was ready. At 2pm we returned to reception to be told our room was still not ready and that housekeeping was in there cleaning it, surely it would make more sense to clean rooms in priority order, how difficult would it have been to call housekeeping at 11am and ask them to clean our room before 2pm after all we were assured it would be ready but then. So we waited in reception after 20 minutes my husband went up to the desk and asked how much longer our room would be to which he was told its ready now, when he responded with was someone going to tell us or leave us waitin the receptionist response was well i am busy...the room itself needs refurbishing and the bath loked like it was pre war. We ate in the brassierie which was ok, although the menu is limited you could only get the lunch time menu after 6pm although they were advertising a dinner menu when we asked the waitress for the dinner menu, she went away and came back and said it was not available. I ordered a for a steak sandwich and asked for it to be cooked medium to well done the waitress said that it comes pink so i asked her could the chef not cook it longer her reply was well i can ask the chef....it came out still fairly pink. I felt like what is the point in complaining the night before i had told the waiter that my daughters carrotts were'nt cooked you could hardly cut through them with a knife he just looked at me an apologies and offered to get some more but she would have finished her meal by the time they would have come. Also on the children's menus there was a limited choice of dessert 3 ice creams, one was out of stock on both evenings. We only ate at the hotel as it was easier than taking out 5 year old daughter out in the evening. The hotel setting and location is beautiful and children's club as excellent only £7 for 2 hours. It is a shame the staff aren't more accommodating and friendly this could be a really good hotel.

Room Tip: Room 5 - needs refurbishing and the sea view was limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacksdevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2013
We are sorry to hear of your experience, it is most out of keeping for our staff to be found wanting. We're glad that you enjoyed Castle Kids and the location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
426 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here over a 33 year period and whilst the owners may have changed from British rail hotels the view the ambiance the location hasn't
In good weather there is no better place in the world
Rooms are comfortable with high ceilings
The breakfast is fantastic the brassiere is excellent and the leisure centre is functional but needs a revamp

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
33 years!!! That is amazing and how lovely to hear your affection for Tregenna, thank you very much for sharing it. We take your point about the leisure facilities and hope that you will continue to see our improvements by coming back each year. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the Valentines night. Dinner fabulous with great food and wine? Cheeseboard could do with more taste. The Yarg was like cardboard. BUT the bed....two singles pushed together, the mattresses continued to separate during the night in spite of my efforts to push them back together. The bed linen did not fit properly, and my partner and I both had the worst nights' sleep in any hotel anywhere. The plumbing in the bathroom leaved a lot to be desired. The water pipe to the WC insisted on knocking as soon as the loo was flushed which had the effect of waking both of us. The enamel in the bath was badly chipped and the shower....well it was either cool, or, by turning the temperature knob a fraction of a millimetre was hot enough to cause significant redness. When addressing these issues upon checkout there was only the hint of an apology. Love St Ives and visit at least 3 times a year, but without a doubt will find alternative accommodation in the future!!!!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Molesworth154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. This is a difficult review to read and one that I will talk to my staff about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing