We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could be better for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“could be better for kids”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

spent 2 nights here with my wife and 2 kids - attractive hotel, our famiy room was ok, in basement foor but bath was disgusting sealant missing and bath top was rusty and as were taps - it looked so awful we would not use - no other rooms for famiy available. Pool was great for kids - disappointing on each day the indoor activties in sports hall for kids only available until 2pm then hall was booked. outwith pool on wet day nothing else to do....food was really good in brasserie and fairly reasonable - improve the family rooms and kids activities would be great

Room Tip: be wary of basement rooms - no views apart from brick walls and pipes and tatty
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb2003spurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your compliments.
Unfortunately, prior obligations to our Timeshare and Gym membership, means that we have to provide an opportunity for them to play badminton.
The issue regarding the bathroom will be addressed immediately and I sincerely hope that it will not deter you from visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    815
    428
    215
    138
See reviews for
583
1,447
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Near London
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Had a lovely week - ideal location for St Ives, away from the bustle but lovely walk to town through the beautiful gardens (a bit harder back up the hill but great exercise!).
Hotel has everything - tennis courts, swimming, badminton, golf, good food and a good pint of beer - amazing. My favourite feature has to be its position and the extensive grounds - just lovely. Room was very nice with a comfortable bed and great shower. A good choice for the self-service breakfast included fresh fruit, cereal, croissant and full english. Get to breakfast early as it is far more laid back - get's a bit frantic later due to the large number of guests to service but the staff do keep on top of it and keep the supplies topped up - they must be ready to drop at the end of service!
The room was really quiet which surprised me as it was reasonably close to the function room and
there seemed to be a function(with disco) each night - all added to the lively ambience of the place. Staff all really nice - efficient and not over fussy which I like. Was lucky to be at the hotel when a Bird of Prey display was in progress - lovely for the children and adults alike. A really good place to stay! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
We are very pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed your stay. We are also pleased that you took advantage of our facilities and managed to catch the bird of prey display.
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for rating us with five stars. Thank you as well, for your kind compliments.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Whilst the hotel itself sits on stunning grounds, it was a shame that the children's activities, as advertised on the website, were not actually available. Every time we asked we were told of a 'private function'. However the children really enjoyed the dvd and popcorn afternoon! The room we stayed was more than ample in size, but reminded us of the channel 4 programme 'Hotel'. It wasn't cleaned daily and the bathroom seriously needs an update - so much of the enamel on the bath had worn off it was that old! Apart from these niggles, the place is operated by lovely pleasant staff. The breakfasts were average - setup as a buffet but you must ask for anything different - they will not offer! Would have given score of 4 due to staff but cleanliness let it down.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank famishedmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for your review and for complimenting our staff.
The children's activities were on, as advertised and available every day in the badminton court and catered to many children.
I am sorry that other aspects of our hotel failed to live up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Attending a wedding which was lovely and stayed 2 nights.
Great SPA and facilities and a simply wonderful view from the site.
A lot of the previous reviews mention that the rooms are "tired" but it seems that they have very recently renovated all of them as our room was lovely and work was ongoing.

PJ

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJ1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
We sincerely hope that the wedding function was a roaring success, you definitely had great weather for an outside ceremony down at the gazebo.
If that is you in the photo (and I suspect that it is!) I remember chatting with you.
Thank you for your review and for your compliments and observations. I hope that we will see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We decided to stay at the Tregenna hotel for a short trip away for our 1 year anniversary. The hotel had been recommended to us by friends. We booked up 2 nights, which turned out to be the very last double room available in the hotel. First impressions - we were very impressed with the grounds and the views are fantastic. However when we got to our room we were a little disappointed with it. It was pretty small, with no view and it all looked a little tired. It was especially annoying that we heard of a lot of people using discount vouchers for their stays, whereas we had to pay full price of £100 a night.
The extractor fan in the bathroom also made a hell of racket, vibrating and whirring whenever the light was turned on. The room also smelled pretty musty, especially the carpet! (Yes I actually smelt the carpet! We were wanting to locate the smell!) There was very little ventilation in the room too, which meant even with the window wide open the room was very hot.
The rooms were hardly turned over, the bed was straightened slightly and new mugs provided. But the bins weren't emptied or glasses replaced. The hotel was very busy with weddings each day and night, so there was a little bit of drunken noise in the corridors around midnight.

We're not really a couple to kick up a fuss or complain and we did really enjoy our holiday, but the fact that we paid a £100 a night was frustrating.

The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent. The food was cooked to perfection.

So overall the trip was "average" I did expect more from a top hotel such as this one.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
I am pleased that the food in our restaurant impressed you and I hope that your first wedding anniversary was a pleasant one. Congratulations.
I am sorry however, that you feel aggrieved and frustrated that you did not obtain a 'deal'. But there are many internet agencies offering one; Deal Cloud. KGB, Mighty Deals, Amazon and Hotel Exclusive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Stunning views from the front of the Hotel, we however were there on a discount coupon so found ourselves at the back,not to far from the building behind.That said,the weather was fab so we didn't stay in the room much.The room itself was good enough for us,desk, bedside units, room to move.The bathroom looked as though it had had a bit of a refurb and was spotlessly clean. It was room 59 by the way, ground floor, should anyone be booking.I'm sure one could request "a room with a view". The Hotel seems to be doing okay with weddings so book early. My wife and I were there for Thursday and Friday nights and there was a wedding both Thursday and Friday I would assume Saturday as well. So not very quite about the place during the day and all though there were plenty of kids at both we were not disturbed one bit at night. In fact as large Hotels go it was very peaceful in our room.
We both had treatments,carried out by two charming and friendly young ladies with a very professional approach, without being over the top.
Breakfast was a buffet,plenty to choose from all tasting good.My only crit would be some items could have been a bit warmer.Very nice scrambled egg for a buffet.
If you"re looking to eat out in St Ives, from here on you best book early,we didn't and couldn't get into any of the restaurants recommended to us.So we ate in the Hotel restaurant, which is huge,the size of a ballroom, which probably was way back.Too big for so few it seemed.I think it looked the wrong way round, this room should have been for the weddings and Hotel guests in the room used for weddings.
Dinner on Thursday was good,a little more liaison between staff maybe ,we had 20% off discount vouchers, one server said it was off both menus and it wasn't, we had already selected from the isn't menu!! typical!!
To get into St Ives....you can walk...its steep which ever way you go so be prepared or fit going down or back up. The option we chose was to drive half a mile to the leisure centre and catch the bus for a pound each.Its starts at 10 and runs all day,loads of them!
A slight let down for us and another complainant I over heard was at the bar,staff let it down some what ,a bit too "laid back" may be, plus the wine list was under change and the by the glass selection was rubbish.
The gardens and grounds are immaculate with stunning views.The lodges and cottages look ideal for families. May be next time!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAW400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your extensive review, your compliments and your advice. If you are visiting St.Ives during any school holiday period, you will definitely need to make a reservation in the local restaurants.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and received professional treatment in our Beauty salon. We are also pleased that your room was quiet and peaceful despite the weddings.
I apologise if the bar staff were a little too relaxed and that the wine selection was inadequate.
Hopefully, we will see you here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Hotel just like picture lovely location and views also hotel nice breakfast would go back staff helpful very clean hotel only thing was no wi fi. In bedroom missed not having this pool was great kids really enjoy hotel wanted to stop another night

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your review and for rating us so highly. I am very glad that you and your children enjoyed your stay and our facilities and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again. We look forward to seeing you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HRS, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing