We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in high class surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just returned from an excellent 5 day self-catering stay at Tregenna. Our well appointed and galleried apartment (Herland) overlooked the golf course and was fabulously quiet and restful throughout. We had worried when we realised that the 'cottage' was part of a block but either our neighbours were particularly quiet or the sound proofing was better than expected - as we didn't hear a thing. The grounds at Tregenna are truly spectacular and a credit to the groundsmen in charge. The short walk to St Ives is easy on the way down but a bit more challenging on the return - especially if you come all the way up from the beach. The very helpful staff did advise a taxi for the return (as we are in our sixties) but we did the walk every day both ways without much more than stopping to 'enjoy the view' a bit more often than usual. Given that our Dealcloud offer only cost £189 for the break and the wonderful amenities in the cottage, we thought this staggeringly good value, we will certainly return. One slight downside that we might need to ask about next time though was that the galleried bedroom got rather warm on the one or two hot nights of our stay. The Velux windows in the apartment didn't seem to open to provide better ventilation. Having said that, we didn't enquire about this at Reception as perhaps we should - especially as all the staff were so very helpful and professional about other enquiries. All in all a great stay and a place we would be more than happy to return to. We also speculated that it would be a wonderful place to work at - especially if you were a gardener! Let us know if there is a vacancy.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AnneOEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

What a lovely review, thank you so much for your kind words. The grounds team love to hear that people appreciate and enjoy the gardens as they work so hard. Keep your eyes on our website for vacancies! We do hope to welcome you both back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,733 - 1,739 of 2,773 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

I was on the border of leaving a 3 star review but we were happy enough so 4 star it is. Location is great and the grounds are spacious without the worry of cars or where to park, there is a walk directly to one of the beaches / town through the grounds with a security gate at the end, it's easy going on way out but St Ives is on a hill and the walk back is steep (or it's a two bus stop ride back to the main gate)

We booked a self-catering flat which was very spacious & extremely well equipped (a washing machine would be nice though). Although the décor was a bit tired the flat was clean, we travelled with my parents whom are in their sixties and we have two small boys the steps up to the flat we quite steep so be warned if you have pushchairs or less mobile members of your party this can be a pain so be warned.

On site facilities were good the indoor pool although small was at the right temperature and the small paddling pool was useful, there was also a hot tub, sauna and steam room all of which were working and were very nice.

The outdoor pool was a surprise, we only used the paddling pool as the main pool was a bit chilly (others were using it though) but the surprise was the temperature of the paddling pool, it was like a hot bath and our 3 and 5 year old loved it!

Restaurants in St Ives can be pricey so we used the Hotel's restaurant on the first evening, there was a good choice, service was quick and food was good although one of our chickens was a little over cooked. There were a reasonable number of guest using the restaurant so it is clearly popular.

I noticed on some of the replies from management against negative points that there are scheduled maintenance plans, my lack of a fifth star was down to very creaky beds as mentioned by another reviewer they need a definite upgrade as they are past it, the 80's curtains and bed runners need upgrading as well as painting the external woodwork of the self-catering accommodation (it's a shame as apart from this both internally and externally the self-catering was in excellent order)

Room Tip: Try and get ground floor and not overlooking the road, we stayed in Trevose which did over look the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and especially that your children enjoyed the pools. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed at one of the Self Catering Apartments called Kayle the accommodation was of very high quality we had a look on the website at the pictures but when we got there it far exceeded what we expected it was like home from home. the accommodation was very clean everything supplied right down to dishwasher tablets. The grounds where lovely and also within walking distance to St Ives, lovely part of the country so much to see I would go back to Tregenna again and had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank gerryt58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

It's always nice to hear that Tregenna exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed here for our son's wedding, this being in a self catering lodge for the week, then in a west wing seaview hotel room for our final night. All accommodation was brilliant as usual here, with beautiful sea views across St Ives. The wedding organisation was spot on, and is run like a well oiled machine, this being their speciality at this hotel. Can't fault anything.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed both your stay and the big day itself. Many congratulations to the happy couple. Our wedding team are delighted to hear your compliments and it's very kind of you to take the time to tell us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We have stayed here before but not written a review. This was up to its usual high standards and I can recommend either a hotel or self catering stay. It is often busy but never uncomfortable. It is clean but starting to get a bit grubby around the edges though nothing serious. This weekend it had a rather strange arrangements whereby food in the bistro came from kitchens and carried through a busy lobby to table. Perhaps I am getting picky - don't let me put you off - it really is a great place to relax, whether using the club facilities, the golf course or just chilling out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THATFOODIEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review and for returning for another visit. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and made use of our facility.
We hope that you will give the pleasure of your company again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Very good range of facilities (gym, tennis, golf, walks, swimming, beauty, dining, etc). Food prices very competitive compared to St.Ives town and food was excellent at breakfast, evening meal and sunday lunch.
Room was sea facing and also looked over the golf course and gardens and was amazing.
The staff were very helpful, polite and knowledgble.
I've been coming to St.Ives for 6-7 years and have never been to Treganna Castle as I assumed it would be very expensive. I assumed wrongly as the prices are very competitive for food and accomodation.
Fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Sea views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darrelstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

I hope that you had a great birthday and am very pleased that you decided to spend it with us.

Thank you for the fantastic review and wonderful compliments. Now that you have found us, we sincerely hope that you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in one of their best best (!) room - west wing with sea view king size bed.

The room itself is very good with wonderful views and the bed is comfortable. However that's it. The wardrobes are old and broken, there is no fridge or safe and no internet connection (just wi-fi in the lounge). No complimentary water and a tissue box with just three tissues in it (I counted them). There's no air-con, not that we needed it but there is an oil filled radiator with broken wheels.

The bathroom is dire with an old bath and no separate shower. No shelves by the sink, no flannels, no bathrobes to wear to the spa.

The breakfast is what one would expect in a holiday camp - very little choice, We had dinner there one evening and spoke to other guests who agreed that it was very mediocre.
(We went the other night to The Loft - a restaurant in town. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.)

We paid £235 per night - far more than it's worth.

This hotel has all the basics - including a wonderful garden and beautiful views. It just needs proper direction, refurbishment and new restaurant manager (and chef). The staff are all very nice - nothing wrong with them

Room Tip: Wist to see whether they take any notice of these comments - otherwise look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finchley2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

I am sorry that we failed to meet your high standards. We take note of all of our guests' relevant comments and suggest that potential guests reading this review do likewise, by reading other reviews that contain objectivity and less vitriol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £68 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing