We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“two day break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“two day break”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Tregena castle is in a stunning setting overlooking st ives bay, the hotel is in need of some refurbishment, work was being carried out whilst we were there, staff were always polite and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style, lot of choice. We ate in the hotel one night, discount given on the bill. Amazing food, husband said it was thr best sea bass he had ever eaten.would stay again. Gym and pool were ok, could do with an upgrade but all in al a lovely relaxing experience

Room Tip: We were not really bothered about a sea view,so our room was sufficient, but if that is why you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hi Kay, what high praise from your husband for our chef and his team! Thank you very much. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and our spectacular setting. Do visit us again soon for some more freshly landed fish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    839
    445
    225
    146
See reviews for
611
1,485
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Dithering between 3 and 4 stars on this one. The positives which give the fourth star include the location (just up the hill from the centre of St. Ives, 15mins walk at the most). Breakfast was a good spread on both days. We were in the cheapest rooms which don't face the sea. As noted on previous reviews, the room was a bit tired and dated but so long as everything is functional and clean I'll never knock a hotel for being dated....if you want a modern boutique hotel then just book elsewhere. There is an outside pool which is a rarity in the UK and was excellent on the one hot day that we had.
We had the set menu dinner one evening. The food was good and well priced.
But...just a few easy changes that could really help (in my opinion only of course):
- Went to the bar for a pre-dinner drink. The TV was blaring out Sky Sports, highlights of a soccer match from 2005. We, along with others, had to vacate to the seats in the reception area to escape the noise. This has been commented on in previous reviews.
- Maybe a sign in the gents changing room which says how to get to the swimming pool? (btw, you have to walk thru the gym weights area to get there...not good in your speedos)

Room Tip: Probably worth the extra for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for deciding on four stars! It is very helpful to see where we can improve so thank you, too, for your comments which will be relayed to the relevant staff. We're very pleased to hear that the good weather allowed you to spend time in the outdoor pool as it's a great facility. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Tregenna has really lovely well kept grounds and couldn't fault our room which looked over St Ives, the lodges from the outside looked amazing and would have loved a peek inside !
this would be a great place for a party of you to go.

We ate out mostly but decided to eat in on our last night and although the food was nice that was about it - lacking in imagination was about right as everything we ordered came with rocket and just rocket.
I had the whole crab as a main dish which was lovely but came with rocket and a roll??
my husband's steak was ok but for £9.00 extra could have been better.
Also heard another couple asking for some fruit for her husband as he was diabetic but the chef said they didn't have any as there was a wedding going on??
Other than that i would recommend the hotel as the staff were really friendly and helpful just the restaurant let it down slightly - come on chef!

Room Tip: We had a sea view which i would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that the restaurant disappointed you but pleased that you enjoyed your visit overall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After several visits to St Ives my husband and myself decided to treat ourselves to staying at the Tregenna castle Hotel for a weekend break.
What a dissapointment,this beautiful building is being neglected so much for the sake of the lovely grounds.Our room was nice and big but our bathroom was awful,chipped bath put you off having a bath and over all so shabby.As you walk around the building and look at the decor you can see how tired it is becoming,what a shame.We feel the lodges and the grounds is were the money is being spent and not the Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms need aircon a must if facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triggy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
What a shame to hear that you didn't enjoy the main building but we continue with our refurbishment programme of the 80 bedrooms. It is, however, good to hear that the gardens had such a positive impact on you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely, relaxing three days staying at Tregenna Castle. It was everything we wanted from our accommodation for our short break in St Ives. The gym, spa and swimming pools are excellent and we used these facilities every day. The breakfast was full of choice and consistently great. Wedding party came on the Friday, and it did slightly feel like all the other guests were forgotten about, but we didn't need for anything. Would recommend, and will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVeryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akira1981
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay here for a long weekend. A good value hotel. The facilities for a 3 star hotel are very good. There appears to be a wide range of accommodation available. The outdoor pool is very nice as too is the indoor pool with spa sauna and jacuzzi. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Free wifi in foyer very handy. Breakfast very good.
No chance to use golf course but it looked very well manicured. Tropical gardens were lovely. Tennis courts available if you so desire.
The bar showed the lions match against Australia. Really good atmosphere for it.
All in all a very pleasant stay. The room is a little tired, but if they did it up to the nth degree the value would not be as good. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akira1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for your kind words and good scores, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit. We're especially pleased to hear your reaction to our variety of leisure facilities, we work hard to keep coming up with new activities for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Having been to St Ives in the past it has been a while and we decided to stay in one of the lodges at Tregenna castle. On arrival it is a very impressive building and beautiful grounds as we drove up to the hotel. Check in was very quick and easy and we were guided to the lodge. The lodge had some wonderful views and was very spacious, clean and plenty of the necessities in a self catering establishment. Could possibly do with a bit of updating but did not detract from our stay.
We only ate breakfast in the restaurant as we were out and about for most of the days, and the quality of the breakfasts were very good and a good selection.
Enjoyed a walk through the grounds and is an easy walk into St Ives through a private pathway which has a security gate once you get closer to the town.
The only thing that I am dropping one star for is that the accommodation has a mezzanine floor for the bedroom, I haven't stayed anywhere that had one of these before and found that it could be a bit noisy if next door had their TV on or playing music, not noticeable at any time other than when trying to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danpne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Many thanks for your thoughtful review, we're glad that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you at Tregenna again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
968 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
21.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing