We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star grounds surround a 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“5 star grounds surround a 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The grounds were stunning - some massive exotic plants and flowers in excellent condition and all manner of scents as you wandered around. I think the finest of any place we have stayed, and you could believe you were in any number of countries. The hotel itself was OK. The bed and room were both had plenty of room and were fine and comfortable. The bath a little tired. The breakfast was OK, but a shame that there were no options such as kippers, or cold meat & cheese........ just the identical selection of fried items each day. A lovely position, very quiet, and good for buses.

Room Tip: If you ask for and pay for a sea-view room try to get one above the lowest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your review and compliments. We are pleased that you enjoyed our grounds and are flattered by your comments. Both fish (kippers) and cold meats are available from our breakfast menu, as well as cheese. I am sorry if this was not made clear to you and hope that we will be able to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    828
    440
    219
    142
See reviews for
597
1,472
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Let's start with the 'good' - clearly the (not cheap) prices are geared around the location and facilities which are very good. Although I didn't use most of them, the hotel is well equipped with very good leisure facilities - 2 swimming pools, tennis courts, gym, badminton court, squash court etc. I did have a 'hack' around the golf course which, as a novice, I found extremely enjoyable - it's a 'proper' par 3, 18 hole course and I found it challenging enough. The grounds are superb and St. Ives is easily walkable, partly through the grounds which are wonderful, although 'very' downhill and the walk back is somewhat challenging. The breakfast is pretty good - I've had better choice elsewhere but it was more than adequate, although people were waiting for tables at 09:00 on Sunday morning.
Now the 'bad'...... in no way can the price be justified based on the quality of the hotel rooms. I was in a party of 18 and no-one was complementary about their rooms. Mine (101) was extremely dated and in need of refurbishment - no shower, no mixer tap with shower head JUST A BATH (with a lump out of it too!). I mean, this is 2013 for goodness sake and having to wash my hair using one of those little plastic cups when I'm paying £155 per night is taking the preverbal. And to give you an idea of just how dated the room was, the toilet roll holder included a little silver ashtray on the top! Although a 'modern' flatscreen, the TV was so small you need a pair of binoculars to see it beyond 4 feet away. And the seagulls!!! The room had a very unpleasant 'internally facing' view of service ducts, extractors and satellite dishes - I wasn't bothered about this as I had chosen not to spend even more on a room with a view - but there must have been some seagulls nesting and they made the most awful screeching noises throughout the night, meaning my sleep was VERY broken. The room was very warm and it just wasn't possible to have the windows open at night due to the noise. And another thing, when the bar shuts, you CANNOT get another drink, even thought it is supposed to be a 24 hour service for residents.
So there you have it - my experience is both good and bad, but in summary I think it is overpriced based on the quality of the rooms, but if you are going to use the leisure facilities then you'll be able to justify the price more easily. Would I stay there again? I'd take some persuading!

Room Tip: Avoid Room 101 like the plague! Bring Ear Plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henners64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this extensive review and for categorising your comments. Firstly, thank you for your complimentary comments. We will be addressing the bathroom issues that you raised, before too long and have already made progress in that direction. I would like to stress that we are very competitively priced and offer superior services and facilities than most other hotels in the region. If we disregard the hyperbole, I am concerned about a specific issue that you raised; we do offer a 24 hour service that does include bar drinks.
Unfortunately, seagulls are a protected species and we can not disturb their nests, plus we have no control over the awful noise that they create.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The hotel has something for everyone. I stayed recently with my fiancée and it was lovely. It was a shame about the weather as you can see the beach and sea from the hotel and in fact from our room!I would return again with my little girl as the hotel has baby sitting services giving you a chance to have a quiet couple of drinks in the bar or on the decking

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 988Dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to seeing all three of you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We visited St Ives staying four nights at the Tregenna Castle Hotel self catering apartments, from 17th of June 2013. We did not have any meals at the hotel however used their other facilities such as the indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Overall the surroundings are a plus, absolutely beautiful and breath taking especially when you've endured a four hr car journey. The location of the hotel is very ideal for walking into the town centre and the uphill walk back is good exercise.

I found the apartments needed some TLC on the outside but were very cosy,clean and comfortable inside. Some things need updating such as shower systems, kitchen units etc but in any case I felt the whole establishment needs a refurbishment, my children forgot to bring their tennis kits but we noticed that the tennis surfaces appeared to be poorly maintained (not so the the gold course though). Another major issue was the lack of activities and areas for children, my children aged between 7 to 11yrs did not have much to do except use the pool, the play area hardly had much to write home about, and even though it was term time there (not for my children though) I think this is the same even when its holiday time.

Hope the management takes these issues on board because would definitely be back and would recommend to others because the surrounding gardens and seaside town still did it for us.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ncbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay but we are disappointed to hear that missed out on the great range of free activities that we offer children at Tregenna. In term time there are 72 acres to explore, two swimming pools and a host of sports courts to enjoy. In the school holidays there are free activity sessions every weekday morning which are run by our childcare team, Castle Kids, rated 'outstanding' by Ofsted. These include pottery classes, cookery and garden games. There are also free falconry displays every Wednesday evening in the grounds. Do come back with your children and they can enjoy these activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Many years ago we stayed at the Tregenna Castle in one of the log cabins they are lovely, we have just spent one night in the main hotel and unfortunately the standard is not good. The rooms are very dated especially the bathrooms, in fact the whole hotel could do with an update we will not be staying there again. We did'nt eat in the hotel so I cannot comment.

Room Tip: Stay in a Log Cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lynne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our five star wooden lodges. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your hotel room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

A fantastic looking property with majestic views over the bay. Staff generaly helpful. Buffet breakfast is great. The walk down to the beach is not for the weak, a bit steep but you are on a big hill! The pathways could do with a little clearing as are overgrown in parts and makes it even more difficult. Our room in the dungeon has a view of back wall, but we didnt upgrade so thats what you get. The leisure centre is in a world that time seems to have forgotten, the entrance is a bit industrial and it looks like it has had no financial input for some time. The outdoor pool by contrast is lovely. Overall a good stay but with just a little more attention to detail this could be the place it promises to be.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view = keep away from the dungeon. The rankings are based on our room however there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingprawn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your review. The combination early in the season of sunshine and rain has resulted in tremendous growth throughout the estate grounds and the team is having to do much clearing work. - they will get to those paths. We're glad that you enjoyed the spectacular views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Tregena castle is in a stunning setting overlooking st ives bay, the hotel is in need of some refurbishment, work was being carried out whilst we were there, staff were always polite and helpful. Breakfast was buffet style, lot of choice. We ate in the hotel one night, discount given on the bill. Amazing food, husband said it was thr best sea bass he had ever eaten.would stay again. Gym and pool were ok, could do with an upgrade but all in al a lovely relaxing experience

Room Tip: We were not really bothered about a sea view,so our room was sufficient, but if that is why you book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, General Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hi Kay, what high praise from your husband for our chef and his team! Thank you very much. We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and our spectacular setting. Do visit us again soon for some more freshly landed fish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
941 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing