We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeps on getting better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We have just had a five day stay at the Tregenna Castle which was wonderful at every level.
The hotel grounds were impeccably maintained and the hotel has superb views over the town and to sea. Our West wing rooms (our first night was in a non-sea view room) were warm, well-equipped and comfortable. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean as were all the public areas.
The catering this year was spot on. We ate in the Brasserie Restaurant once and had a very pleasant meal. Breakfast was excellent with well cooked porridge and beautiful smoked haddock with a poached egg as special highlights. My only small gripe is to ask that the management reintroduce pots of tea and coffee at breakfast time rather than the current do-it-yourself arrangement. I know it would need more staff and staff cost money but it would make such a difference to the quality of the breakfast time experience.
One of the real joys of staying at the Tregenna Castle is the quality of the staff team. It feels almost mean to single out individuals but BIG thank yous to Fred who found time to answer my questions about the history of the hotel and share with me fascinating facts I had never known about the past in St Ives; to Fiona in the Brasserie whose quiet, unshowy, friendly efficiency made our morning coffees and afternoon teas so very pleasant and to Illona in Castle Beauty who retains my wife's vote as the very best beauty therapist anywhere.
We only got to Cornwall once this year but we had a wonderful almost magical time at the Tregenna Castle.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happywanderer93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you very much for your kind and flattering review and for rating us with five stars.
We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us and are particularly grateful for your compliments, and for the special mentions. Fred, Fiona and Illona send you their thanks.
Pots of coffee and tea are available at breakfast, and will be served to your tables, upon request.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,577 of 2,711 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for three nights at Tregenna Castle Hotel. The location is wonderful, with lovely views over St. Ives. The hotel has very nice, well kept gardens. We an outdoor and indoor pool. Although its possible to walk into St. Ives from the hotel its an extremely steep climb. We are fairly fit, but did find the climb back to the hotel hard work.
The hotel is in need of some decorating. Our room had a lovley view over the sea, however the bathroom was very old fashioned and in need of updating. Our bed was very uncomfortable.
The reception team were effcient and friendly. But the restaurant service was chaotic and slow with a complicated billing system making it wide open to making errors.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your compliments.
We are tackling the decor and maintenance issues throughout the hotel and will continue to do so.
I apologise for any inconvenience that you experienced whilst dining in our restaurant and have passed your comments to our Restaurant Manager.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

we tried a groupon weekend and had the best time, perfectly placed and beautiful, Food was fantastic, everyone was really friendly and helpful

went back in August just used the faciitlies(pool and golf course) perfect

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BOOTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We are really, very pleased that you enjoyed your weekend with us and that it prompted you to return and take advantage of our facilities.
Thank you for your review and the excellent rating. I hope that we will see you here again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Went to St Ives for the first time, and stayed in Tregenna Castle. From gardens to views, the set is very impressive, whilst you drive into the hotel and you admire the view, you really cant beat the location. Restaurant - Food and Service were very good indeed, we decided to bring our kids along to the evending meals, and staff couldnt do enough for you. Food Quality was also very good, and not that expensive. We stayed in one of the cottages, which sometimes can be difficult to find, but once we knew our way around, everything was quite easy to gain access to. Walking distance from st Ives, however bare in mind the walk back, which will be up hill for 20min. Would recomend this hotel and will no doubt go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joao E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

We are extremely pleased and grateful that your inaugural visit to St.Ives was spent with us, and that you and your family had a great time.
Thank you very much for your lovely compliments, your review and for rating us with five stars.
We are thankful for any recommendations that you may make and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights the public areas & gardens are very impressive & well maintained food was lovely dining room staff very helpful & friendly
The rooms however are a different story our room was shabby none of the doors shut without slamming & neither did anyone else's on our corridor opening the wardrobe was like a bad horror film with its over the top loud creaking, every single floor board in our room creaked this may sound a bit petty but I do try to be fair with my reviews but the noise was unbearable
Although I appreciate its a lovely old building these issues are about lack of maintenance
Their was no Questionnaire in the room & when we checked out we wasn't asked if we enjoyed our stay maybe if this was addressed they would understand more about the problems
We won't stay again which is a shame as we had looked forward to it

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view we faced windows of another room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 132susan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. There should have been a 'comment card' in your room, they are replaced when the room is cleaned. All cards that are answerable, are answered.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, but thank you for complimenting our staff, grounds and food.
I am sorry that you will not be visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a b&b and dinner basis. The hotel is extremely impressive on first impressions, it has plenty of character and the gardens look to be kept immaculately.
Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed, I see some reviews are complaining about crooked doors and creaking windows, but this just adds to the character of the hotel, if you want 'modern and contemporary' don't stay in an old building!
We had a 3 course meal in the restaurant which was lovely, the food came to our table hot and was full of flavour. The staff were very polite and friendly and even though we didn't need to ask for anything, if we had i am sure our requests would have been fulfilled.
In the morning we had breakfast and again this was superb, plenty of choice and everything was fresh.
The hotel has wonderful grounds to explore and is just a short walk from the town, which is ideal to work off the hearty breakfast we had!
Definately reccommend this hotel and if we come to St Ives again, we will be staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tillykins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

We are very pleased that your night with us was pleasant and enjoyable. Thank you for your compliments and observations, and for any recommendations that you may make.
I have passed your comments regarding your meals along to our Executive Chef and he sends his thanks, too.
We hope that you will return to St.Ives soon, so that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay in the Tregenna Castle Hotel. What should have been a taste of luxury turned out to be a very disappointing experience. First impressions were good, reception and check in were pleasant and efficient. Unfortunately it all came to an end when we were showed our room.
It was small, tatty and the view was overlooking what looked like a service yard. The door was badly fitting and the closer was very fierce and had obviously been adjusted to ensure it closed. A previous resident had stuffed tissue into the smoke alarm (possibly a smoker) but to fair this was rectified very quickly when bought to their attention. There were empty milk cartons on top of the wardrobe, bins that didn't get emptied, dirty towels left in the bath to be replaced were left in the bath. The cheap vinyl tiles on the bathroom floor were starting come up and to cut a long list of minor issues short, the room was badly in need of attention.
Although the room was sold to us at a special rate, almost half price, at no time were we led to believe it was a budget room apart from the fact we were told it was a non-sea view room. If i had paid full price I would have felt very cheated.
On the positive side the public areas were all fine and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
I note that their website does not state their star rating which is suprising,but i assumed they were a prestige hotel competing with the likes of the Ped'n Olva and the St Ives Harbour Hotels. If this is true they should be thinking of providing wi-fi in the rooms, a safe, mini bars, trouser presses, security locks on the doors etc, etc.
Perhaps we touched for a bad room (No.53) but i cant help feeling very disappointed.
We have been to St Ives many times and have always wanted to stay at Tregenna Castle thinking it to be "the place to stay in St Ives". I'm sorry to say it did not live up to expectations.

Room Tip: Don't book No.53
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

I am sorry that there were issues regarding your room that caused you disappointment, and that we did not live up to your expectations.
It was explained in our response to your comment card, that of our five categories of room, you paid for the least expensive non sea view room. Apart from the tissue in the detector, for which we are extremely sorry and should have been more diligent in discovering, the other issues that you mentioned where not brought to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £100 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing