We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay in Bayview appartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Bayview appartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our second visit as we stayed in the West Wing Sea View back in February for 3 nights on a Taste of Tregenna break .
This time we stayed a week in the Bayview appartment within the hotel on the ground floor and it really is excellent. Whilst we were there, there was a wedding on the Sunday and Tuesday and also functions on both Friday and Saturday but even though we were next to the Brasserie and very near to the two public rooms, we did not hear any noise other than the normal when people were leaving and walking down the road to their cars but that was with the windows open at the front as it was so warm.
The appartment has everything supplied from toiletries to washing up liquid and although we had brought the essentials they stayed in the car - even a tray of coffee, tea, sugar and milk was supplied on arrival.
We ate in the Restaurant on four occasions and could not fault the food. Jose was excellent in making sure everything was to our satisfaction, and on the Friday evening when friends joined us, due to a function we ate in the Godrevy Room whilst the other evenings we were in the Trelawney Room and both these rooms are tastefully decorated in our opinion but it depends if you like modern or traditional decor.
Maybe those who commented on some reviews about it being 'tired' and 'outdated' prefer very modern boutique hotels with double glazing to stop any noise, rather than staying in older buildings with much more character.
Just one comment about the appartment was that it should have it's own parking space as does most of the lodges and cottages.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teignmothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your kind review and excellent rating. We are very pleased that you were impressed with Bayview and that your entire experience with us was enjoyable. We are grateful for your opinions and that you took the time to express them. All of the reviews, on this site are opinions, and provided that the comments are actually truthful, are all equally valid.
We sincerely hope that we will have the privilege of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    808
    423
    213
    138
See reviews for
579
1,432
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Not a typo or poor English, but a reflection on the Americanisms that the hotel uses. I rarely check my account. Like an idiot I just flash the plastic, but on this occasion I had to wait at reception while the departee in front queried his bill and had it corrected. I looked at mine and found that I also had been overcharged

This was going to be a glowing 5* review, until the last night. However I had a minor problem. Even this was not enough to stop me giving this hotel a 5* report. The waitress who dealt with my complaint was sympathetic and helpful, still 5*. However, when she called her manager over, things changed. The explanation was a fairy story that equalled anything that the Brothers Grimm have published. When we challenged this, the aggression began. This was so obvious, that when the manager left, the waitress returned to apologise, although the problem was not hers.

I cannot give a rating for service. 99% of the staff deserve 5*. One deserves a negative score.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DrMIkeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We have recently had a variety of different special offers running concurrently. Some offer discounted prices for meals, golf, the spa et cetera, and others not. If one fails to inform the staff member about ones particular discount, then that discount wil not be applied. This may explain discrepancies, as I fervently hope that dishonesty is not implied.
If we can disregard the hyperbole; with regard to the encounter with a 'manager', I am very sorry for their conduct and wish that we had more information, that we could investigate the matter further.
I am pleased that other than this unfortunate incident, your visit was pleasant and hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed in the hotel last week, upon arrival the external views of the hotel are magnificent, beautiful building surrounded by golf course and parkland gardens. Arriving at our room the initial expectation was somewhat dashed, the room was very tired and really needed an overhaul. The bathroom however was absolutely dire - on entering an unpleasant odour hit you, later found to be the actual shower curtain - rank! A rotting and decaying bath plug was stuck on the edge of the bath between the taps - I couldn't remove it but they should have. The bath was full of chips and very nasty marks, the toilet had a hole for the flush handle to go, and left void when it was put on the other side!? During the whole visit, 3 nights our room was not hoovered once.( For the record, I did take photos of all these things, but don't know how to put them on here!)
We decided to have dinner at the hotel on the first night - what a mistake that was! The food was bland and frankly not well done, and the service was nothing less that appalling. Being told that the crane flies in the room would end up in our meal, or if not definitely in tomorrow, mornings breakfast! This guy does the hotel no good whatsoever.
Breakfast was totally self service, we had to get our own tea and coffee and everything else as well, the only thing bought to our table was anaemic underdone cold toast! On the final day all the hotel guests were crammed into a smaller room for breakfast, along with a large party of schoolchildren who were somewhat noisy. This was the final indignity, they hadn't even supplied a suitable machine dispensing hot,water for the tea drinkers! The breakfasts themselves were as before stated, mediocre at best. The couple we were talking to at the next table said their room was so awful that they wouldn't stay in it and they had been moved to one of the self catering lodges on the site, this meant that their rooms were never cleaned or their beds made, they along with us will not be repeating this experience, the hotel owners need to stop spending money on the golf greens and the holiday lets and spend some on the actual hotel rooms themselves, you are really letting your guests down.

Room Tip: I honestly don't know if there are any better rooms in the hotel, this is based on our own and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HyacinthofTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you were somewhat disappointed with your visit. The bathroom issues that you mentioned will be addressed, and I apologise for the conditions that you described.
I find it incredulous that a member of our waiting staff would suggest that crane flies would find their way into your food. Even in jest, it would be an incredibly silly thing to say to a guest.
We appreciate that it is your prerogative to air your opinion via this medium, however to speculate and paraphrase the opinions of other guests is not really within your purview, as a reviewer, here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed 22-28sept. With a living social deal plus upgrade, we feel it was good value . Wouldn't pay full price, but if you go with realistic expectations, it is well worth it. We had a great week and were very impressed with the consistently friendly, efficient and welcoming staff. The grounds are lovely with pleasant woodland and other walks ,v well maintained and beautiful lawns, gardens, and Interesting different areas.. A shame the outdoor pool closed a week before our stay, but the indoor pool was fine, though could do with a spinner and bags for wet swim wear.
We had a west wing room with lovely views of st Ives,which was only a pleasant 15 min walk away. The room was huge,a bit dated but comfortable, which sums up the whole hotel really. Big bathroom,bit basic but fine for the deal price. Brasserie nicer than huge dining room; breakfast good but coffee not v nice. Breakfast staff v obliging though and cooked food was good. Didn't sample dinner menu but it looked good. Complimentary cream tea a nice touch and delicious. Public areas of hotel could be upgraded ,as felt rather dated, but were fine. Outside impression and location is probably the hotel's strength but does overall have an old fashioned charm.,helped by v good staff.
If you take notice of the reviews, get a deal and upgrade to west wing room with sea view, and go with realistic expectations, this is a gem. We would certainly return on this basis.Thank you for a lovely stay!


News
Site Information
CONTACT US DELIVERY & RETURNS PAYMENT METHODS LEGAL CAREERS THE STORY SO FAR REQUEST A MAGAZINE
© Cath Kidston 2012 all rights reservedSite designed by Maginus eCommerce
Good facilities though and seem v well kept. Husband had good massage from hotel spa,and though we didn't sample them there is golf, tennis etc

Room Tip: West wing sea view ,with four poster was large, Comfortable and quiet, with fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenandmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for your objective review and for taking the time to post your thoughts.
We are very pleased that you felt that you received value for money and that you would visit us again. We are also pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Nice hotel although slightly dated and tired, the view from our room 136 was very good overlooking the golf course and the bay of St Ives. Most of the staff were very nice, although the middle aged man who seem to be in charge of the breakfast's obviously never heard of customer service as his manner and interacting with guests was pretty poor to say the least! The rating I have given is for the fab views and lovely grounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 196maureenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for complimenting our staff and grounds.
I am very sorry that one of our staff members gave you cause to be annoyed. I have passed your comments to our Restaurant Manager for his attention.
I hope that this incident did not detract from your overall enjoyment and that you will come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpswell, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I had booked a double/twin, non sea view room trying to stay within budget but wanting to stay in the castle recommended by our tour guide. When we got there, our room No. 60 was on ground floor with king size bed and a wonderful view of the town and sea. Absolutely exquisite. I can imagine in a property this size that the negative comments could easily happen. Our only problem was not being able to walk to town, but taxis were readily available and requested from the front desk. Although there were weddings, we were not inconvenienced by them with only a brief bit of noise in the hall at one point during the night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouB738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review and for rating us so highly.
We are very glad that you liked your room and enjoyed your time with us.
I sincerely hope that should venture to this part of the world again, you will consider another visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Ok. Two friends staying one night for a weekend away from men and children. My birthday too.
Friend had booked a twin room. Both looking forward to a bed each!
On entering the room-it's a double. Back at reception Lisa says no problem and sends us to a new room, a twin.

New room is BAD. Shabby, dark, and NO SHOWER, just a bath.

We call reception. We are polite but firm. This is NOT a nice room, and I cannot remember ever staying in a room without a shower.

Lisa is sympathetic. But they are busy. I mean busy busy: Two weddings, packed to the rafters. She says she'll ring us back.

She rings back. Asks us to come to reception as they have a solution. Off we trot. Lisa then leads us through a beautiful walled garden and we behold before us a self catering HOUSE that is ours for the day and night, at no extra cost of course.

Wow. Our stay was fab. It could have been so awful, if Lisa had chosen to handle it differently. All kudos to her. As she said "if you don't ask, you don't get!".

Very impressive. Thank you Lisa.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeppermintPasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for you very much for your review and for your high praise of Lisa.
We are pleased that we were able to arrive at a suitable solution and that you were happy.
Hopefully, you will visit us again and things will be perfect from the beginning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing