We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
somerset
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“wonderful!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed in November for a 3night break B&B on a special deal. The hotel is impressive, staff warm , friendly & polite . Our room had amazing sea views of St Ives harbour ....breathtaking and being November it was blowing a force 9 gale,so very dramatic!,only slight drawback is the hotel windows are not double glazed and the wind , was whistling straight through,we needed 2 additional heaters but it was a cold couple of days . The room was huge, clean, tastefully furnished pure luxury!
We ate one evening bar meal which was very nice,chose not to eat on further occasions due to uninspiring restaurant menu. Breakfast was a buffet style which means timing your cooked breakfast so that eggs aren't solid or tomatoes dried!! Young waitressing staff are hard working,friendly with good people skills.....older senior staff could learn from them in the dining room,less strutting !!!!!
We didnt use the leisure facilities so can't comment.
We enjoyed our stay at Treggena,would I pay full price....unlikely.

Room Tip: Jumpers and t-shirts for changing temperature in hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrygirlSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review and for your lovely compliments regarding our staff. Unfortunately, the grade two listing places limitations on what we may do to the windows or facade of the hotel. However, we are having a more effective weather stripping installed that will drastically reduce the draught and any rattling. We have regular special offers running, so I hope that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    818
    429
    215
    139
See reviews for
584
1,450
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bagshot
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

The hotel is offering excellent 2 night packages during the winter, we paid £99 for two nights including English Breakfast. A complimentary cream tea for two and 20% of meals. The 3 Course dinner was excellent. You cannot beat this for value

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade to a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_BBagshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for your review and for your recommendation. I am very pleased that you took advantage of our special offer, and more so that you enjoyed your stay.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I was treated to a couple of nights here by my other half for my birthday and it turned out to be a good choice. The hotel sits overlooking St Ives with terrific views from the grounds. It is a lovely old building with a castled roof so looks great and there is plenty of parking. First meeting with the staff at check in showed them to be charming and helpful, in fact we found all of them throughout our stay to be the same. Our room was in the West Wing with a four poster and those superb views over the bay. Everything was clean but this is an old building and it did have a few tired bits here and there but that did not detract from our visit. We had a deal that included an evening meal ( got a better price by contacting the hotel direct) and thought we would try both restaurants. The first night we ate in the brasserie and although we had one small hiccup which was attended to immediately the overall impression and food was good. Having seen the main restaurant at breakfast we decided it to be a bit soulless so returned to the smaller restaurant for my birthday meal. The staff were superb, gave us the table we asked for and after another good dinner brought in dessert with a candle in and all sang happy birthday to me...Thanks for that!
We actually stayed during the half term holiday so there were quite a few families around. It seemed they were well catered for as there is so much to do, loads of facilities and clubs etc. so they all had plenty to keep them happy. If you want to get out there is a short walk through the grounds to St Ives, the beaches and all it has to offer.
It was a relaxing and enjoyable stay. We met some nice people in the bar in the evening and even though we had checked out on the last day we returned after a short trip around the area for a cream tea before we headed home.

Room Tip: The west wing overlooks the town and bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mobilemess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your compliments. I am extremely pleased that your birthday get away was so thoroughly enjoyable and that you had such a great time.
I am also glad that you enjoyed your birthday sing song. Hopefully, everyone was in tune, and hopefully you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Again , very nice staff but a dozen problems with accomodation . Dirty room , stained bedding , poor plumbing , lights not working , etc...Wrote subsequently to director who had little interest in grievances . Overpriced & Overrated ! Hotel exterior is old and in need of maintenance . The lovely grounds are spoilt by poor care & attention . Road is pot holed and overall there is an air of neglect .
£900- a week self catering out of season . What a bargain ? NOT !.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for complimenting our staff.
The issues that you raised in your letters, were not raised while you were a resident. The letters that we received were answered and an offer of compensation was made, that you declined. Instead, you demanded more. Our pricing is wholly competitive with the other hotels offering the facilities and services that we have, within the region.
We feel that this damning review is an exaggerated account of your stay and a result of not getting what you demanded.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Just spent two nights here, lets start great welcome checking in very quick and the info about in and around the hotel very helpfull, some great views from the outside looking over St ives,very nice walk down through the garden small waterfalls and river nice for photos. now the room. bed a bit soft but nice and big a bit hot through the night had window open but abit noisey. decor needs some updating but the place is old but nice and clean,all the staff very helpfull and the food very nice, the swimming pool water "cold" all in all we had a very nice stay thanks.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ste12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post a review. Thank you also, for your kind compliments. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we will see you here again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

A wonderful luxury break in a great location. The hotel and staff cannot be faulted, we went in the Spring and again now in November and have enjoyed both seasons at Tregenna.
The breakfasts are superb and we enjoyed a delicous meal in the hotel restaurant.
The rooms are warm and comfortable and we hope to return again.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a sea view the first stay and it was much more spacious than the standard non-sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
We are really, very pleased to learn that your Spring time visit was that good that it prompted an Autumnal one.
Thank you very much for complimenting our staff and food, and for rating us with five stars. Hopefully, we will see you in the Winter and Summer, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit, please read previous review, we thought we would give them a second chance.
We won't give them a third, the hotel is actually quite old and run down yet charges higher end prices. The heating was banging overnight as I had it set on 2, fully open or closed and the banging stopped so roast or freeze take your choice.
The bathroom was old and very tired the shower was very poor with hardly any power so you had to bend double to get under the spray!
The double bed had 2 single mattresses pushed together with an uncomfortable ridge in the middle, not conducive to a romantic weekend away with my wife!
Breakfast had hardly any vegetarian option, the coffee was weak and tasted awful, the cups plates and cutlery were not clean, you need to hunt through to find clean ones.
Now the shocking bit, after a great day in St Ives we were having pre dinner drinks in our room and we noticed some white ish stains on the sofa, on closer inspection it was apparent that the sofa was covered in something very unpleasant, we think it was baby sick!!, having had 2 children we are quite sure that was the cause.
The hotel response was to offer us a room that was a lesser standard and had mould on the bathroom ceiling!!
When I pointed this out I was told, "it's an old hotel"!!
Our only other option was for them to clean the sofa and stay in the room, whilst we were waiting for housekeeping to do this we noticed more stains on the other furniture!
This was my wife's 40th birthday weekend away, so I was careful to play it all down and too not ruin the weekend by making a fuss, but we were both disgusted and really wanted another room, but we were told the mouldy room on offer to us!! Shocking!!
We were given a bottle of wine at dinner, but no apology or visit from anyone with a managerial role, very poor.
In short not worth the prices they charge.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Homer069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Having re-read the comment card that you left us, I can see that the only issue that you mentioned was regarding the stain. I am very sorry that you were 'shocked' by a stain and that it caused you so much distress. The stain has been cleaned. We made every effort to accommodate you and your wife while you were in residence.
Your comments regarding the cutlery and flatware are hyperbole and unfair. Many of our guests enjoy the coffee, it is unfortunate that you did not.
There are 16 items on our breakfast buffet, and as we provide vegetarian sausages, only one of them - bacon - would be unsuitable to a vegetarian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing