We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Christmas Pressie from our two daughter's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our Christmas Pressie from our two daughter's”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We came back last night after a 4 night stay at Tregenna Castle and had a really lovely time. Yes, perhaps some of the rooms are in need of a few little jobs doing but as for creaky floor boards as mentioned by another, its an old building and this happens. Our room was 137 non sea view and was large, comfortable & clean. Lovely thick white towels, & teas, coffee & biscuits replaced each day.
We used the sauna's & jacuzzi and must admit to the pool being cold, but still enjoyed our experience.
We did not eat at the hotel as this is not 'our thing' as each day was spent walking and visiting many other places. We travelled down by train and used the trains and buses the whole of our stay (thank you to Geoff the receptionist who was efficient and helped us with a timetable printout), he has to be the 'fave' one & also 'fave' waitress has to be Cynthia who serves breakfast with a lovely smile.
We had a lovely stay and would we come again - "Too True" we would love to and thank you to all concerned.

Room Tip: The housekeeper let us look in room 140 which is a front, sea view and double 'windowed' whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for rating us so highly. Please, thank your daughters for us, too, for introducing you to Tregenna Castle. Geoff and Cynthia were very pleased and grateful to receive a mention.
We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you would visit us again. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    815
    428
    215
    139
See reviews for
583
1,447
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a large hotel, but the staff were all cheerful, efficient and helpful during our three days stay. The grounds are great and offer views and walks to be enjoyed even in December. Summertime must be better. Our only negatives were that the mattress we had was past its best, but this was quickly changed for a new one when we mentioned it. Around he hotel were a few examples of poor and bodged decoration finish which should not have been accepted by whoever oversees that department. The hotel was clean, but dated. An updating would cost a vast sum and it is understandable that they are making do. Food was good value and served by very efficient and helpful staff who were always smiling and most importantly kept looking around to see if a guest needed something. It is an easy walk into interesting town and the beaches, but a steady climb back. We would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurorachichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thank you very much for your review and your compliments. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and would visit us again. I am also pleased that we were able to attend to the mattress issue promptly and efficiently.
We are currently in the throes of refurbishing many of the common areas and corridors, in some cases with new flooring and new carpet, as well as redecorating.
I sincerely hope that you will come back soon to see our progress for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brummie in Cornwall
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

On Saturday 30th November I celebrated my big ?0 birthday and it was the best Party that I have ever had or been to. There were 90 guests from all over the UK as well as from Australia and the USA.
The function room (The Godrevy) was set out very attractively and we all sat for a buffet meal where the food was of excellent quality and very well presented. I had many comments from my guests about how good the food was. The hotel staff could not be faulted.
Once we had ate the delicious meal the local band (The Strawdogs) who I believe are voted the best Cornish Party Band had most people dancing for the rest of the evening.
Exhausted at the end of the evening we retreated to our self catering accommodation which was very clean and comfortable.
Hopefully I will do the same again in ten years time.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for a special function or for a holiday.

Room Tip: Many of my friends who were staying at the hotel said how good the rooms were especially the sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank storminnormski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We all, here at the hotel, wish you a belated happy birthday.
We are very pleased that your big day was such a resounding success and that we could have been a part of your overall enjoyment.
Thank you for your wonderful review and the plethora of compliments contained therein. Thank you also, for the positive feedback from your guests and for rating us so highly.
I sincerely hope that you will not wait 10 years before you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We decided to celebrate my wife's birthday at the Tregenna castle Hotel as we are fond of St Ives. It has massive grounds and formidable looking main building overlooking the sea.We stayed in the main hotel and our room had an internal view of a scruffy unkempt area. The floor outside the room creaked every time someone passed and being the first room on that corridor it was quiet regular. Our bathroom was poor with many signs of damp ( see images) and mould. Old fittings and a very mouldy window frame.
Room was above a premier inn room in size and could have been so much more.We had planned to have a meal in the restaurant on the second night which was my wife's birthday but it was quite a steep walk up and down to St Ives so we booked for the first night meal. Wished I had risked the walk. The meal was woefully slow taking over 2.5 hours for 3 courses. My wife had soup that you could seriously turn the bowl upside down and the soup would not fall out it was so thick and congealed. We both had the worst excuse of Beef bourguignon ever made . It was some old beef from a previous menu in a watery gravy type thing..plus it was cold and inedible . Complaining had no effect and we left very disillusioned . Others were complaining also and the service had become a joke amongst diners. Upshot was next night we endured the walk to st ives and ate there. Shame as we had brought smart clothes for a special evening at the hotel but it was not to be.
Strange thing was the breakfasts were fresh and well organised..
Cannot comment on spa or pool etc did not use them, the grounds must have been lovely in summer and the reception staff were helpful.
Hotel is tired and needs some investment plus a fresh look at the dinning experience would be useful.
We will not return or recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe shop around for a hotel nearer to the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hadfield2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
I am happy that you managed to find some aspects of your stay with us satisfactory, but sorry that you found fault in too many others.
The issues that you raised, with both your room and the corridor, have been dealt with. The room was held of for three days for refurbishment and the corridor has been refloored, redecorated and recarpeted.
With regard to your meal; our Executive Chef sends you his sincere apologies, but finds your time frame a little hard to swallow. Our restaurant opens at 18:30 and closes at 21:00hrs. This means that you would have had to sit for the entire service period to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Just returned from a groupon stay at tregenna castle hotel. Was impressed when we arrived at the attractive hotel. The entrance and area with the leather settees looked inviting especially with the Christmas tree and decorations. When we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised with its size. Large room with a huge bed ,settee and easy chairs. A dressing room area for coats ,shoes ,suitcases etc. All very clean. Bath could do with renewing and shower not brilliant. Dual aspect views from this corner room. Very quiet. We ate in brasserie both nights of our stay. Very impressed with quality of food stylishly served. Staff all very good especially Cynthia who chatted to us. All attentive and speedy service but we were not rushed. As keen golfers we had taken our clubs with us. Although only par 3course it was very testing and in a beautiful setting through the extensive grounds. A good centre for visiting west Cornwall. A stunning trip on coast road from st.ives to st.just and cape Cornwall. All in all a lovely stay. Thank you Tregenna. Hopefully we will be back ,next time we fancy room 142 !!!

Room Tip: Ask for room on 2nd floor. We had 143 but rooms 140 and142 looked brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely, descriptive review and also for rating us so highly.
We are very happy that you liked your room and the fantastic views.
Thank you also, for your compliments, both Cynthia and the Executive Chef were grateful.
We hope that we will see you again, before too long. With a little notice, I am positive that we can put you into room 142.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter devon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Once again, stayed at the Hotel on a two day special offer. very good value for money. allocated a large room with a huge bed. excellent breakfasts, staff, as usual smart and helpful. room was clean and tidy with everything we needed, only a couple of observations this time, the driveway around the back of the Hotel could really do with some resurfacing, and the pathway down through the garden to the road, has one or two areas that require some lighting. overall very satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devonwebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed another visit with us and that almost everything was excellent. We are aware of the roadway and it is on our 'to do' list. Thank you for all of your compliments and for your review. I hope that it is not too long before we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We, husband and I , visited this hotel for two nights with a special groupon deal, and we're not disappointed.The hotel sits in a huge vast area high up above St Ives,with lovely gardens, fab view and a golf course.
We stayed in room 53 on the first night, which was cosy,warm, and very clean however it was situated next to the exits and sadly was very noisy with through traffic going past our room,but the following morning wee asked to change rooms due to the noise and the staff accommodated our request with no issues and we were given a better room with a sea view at no extra cost thank you very much!
Again the room was clean lovely big bed, and as the heating was off as the room wasn't being used we were given a heater to warm up the room while the heating became active!....which was very effective.
The staff at this hotel were friendly,approachable and happy to serve you at any request.Especially Cynthia, who we chatted to quite a lot as we all love the Canary Islands!
The breakfast was plentiful, lots of choice,and freshly cooked.we ate in the restaurant which was reasonable cost wise.
I injured an ankle while staying,while walking in the town,and the staff were very helpful with providing many ice packs!
We have booked another weekend next year at this hotel,to relax,and chill out.......we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foss92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
I remember your visit, and think that I may have gotten you a bag of ice myself. I hope that your ankle is better.
Thank you for your review and compliments, and also for any recommendations. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit so much that you have booked to come back already. We look forward to welcoming you back.
I am also glad that you found our staff friendly, approachable and happy to be of service. Cynthia sends her thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing