We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Firstly I have to say, had I not found this hotel on Groupon, we probably wouldn't have stayed there. But our stay was hugely enjoyable. The service from the staff was excellent, very helpful. This position of the hotel is above St. Ives itself, so a downhill walk, but a massive hike back! I have to say the hotel sits in beautiful grounds, with stunning views of St. Ives. We ate in the first night, and again the food was very good, as was the buffet style breakfasts in the morning. The bedroom was spacious and adequate, very comfortable bed, the bathroom, though clean, was a little tired. All in all very good.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We are extremely pleased that, via whatever route, you did discover us and that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable.
Thank you for posting a review and for your compliments. We sincerely hope that we impressed you enough to encourage a return visit and hope that we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    807
    423
    212
    138
See reviews for
578
1,431
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (844)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect, we had a lovely refurbished room, we paid extra for sea view only a little disappointment was our room the only one that had scaffolding !!!
Breakfast was plentiful, lovely gardens, the pool and spa area was clean.....
Staff at hotel very polite, a big thank you to Lisa who took my original booking.
Our only little complaint was that the postcode took us to the back door where there was no entry......
Good location lovely beach coastline trains......

When booking ask questions as some rooms are being renovated so to avoid the reviews that say disappointing... Ask for a refitted one when booking...Easy then no reason to leave a bad review
Trayc

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review, compliments and advice. I apologise for the scaffolding, we are having a section of the roof replaced and unfortunately, that was the easiest access point. It will be removed very soon.
Tregenna Estate has its own postcode, as a result SatNavs take you to the rear of the estate, based on the neighbouring postcodes.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We loved our stay at Tregenna Castle. The place just has an amazing charm & calming atmosphere. Comfortable sofas everywhere, a separate bar area to have a drink & attentive staff.

We paid £99 for 2 nights. Included on the first night was a 3 course meal which was gorgeous. The carvery was perfect! The singer in the background was a great touch & created the perfect atmosphere throughout the evening. Also included was a lovely cooked breakfast on both mornings & a bottle of wine in the evening.. talk about good value for money!

The meal on the second evening was up there with one of the best we've had. Top top quality & excellent service by the waiters & waitresses.

Our room was comfy, nothing special but i liked that it had character. The only down side was that we could hear every word the workers were saying outside our window, very early in the morning.

The swimming pool was pretty standard, i expected better but we only wanted a dip to kill some time.

We used the hotel to explore the area & it couldn't have been in a better location. I definitely recommend taking the short drive or walk over to The Island. The views from on top of the rocks are stunning!

It's definitely the sort of hotel where you could spend a whole week without even needing to go outside. We were so impressed & will definitely be back every year from now on!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheGodfooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We are extremely pleased that you consider the special offer, through which you visited us, such excellent value for money, and hope that you will visit us again.
Thank you very much for your review and the five star rating, your compliments are greatly appreciated. I have passed your remarks along to our kitchen, and they send you their thanks, too. I apologise for any disturbance from the contractors, and assure you that they will soon be finished. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Having had this nights stay booked as a present we were very much looking forward to this break away. The reception and staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room we stayed in was very spacious however the hot water for shower and taps were at fault (resorted to using Gym facility shower). A partician door had not been sealed to sound proof resulting in an uncomfortable nights sleep and a early wake up call due to next door noise and tv volumes! The room itself was a 'garden view' of which we could see the tennis courts and snipets of the sea, which was expected. Sadly the room had no wow factor and the decor left little to the imagination.
The evening meal was acceptable but more pleasure would have come from a McDonalds! The dining hall was a lovely big room but the way it has been done was horrific, a few particians to separate the tables off would be a start, we felt like everyone was watching us. To then have to ask the waitress how the inclusive menu works..she explained we were under the set menu, but certain meals were supplements!!! This is not an all inclusive menu?! You pre-pay for this meal. Given little choice in the first place, this did not leave much to choose from.. You could tell the staff were embarrassed to be bringing out the meals, alongside COLD breadrolls which were rock hard. Our meals were average and we were glad to go back to our room after. The gym and swimming pool facilities were great for what we needed. Overall a nice hotel location wise and exterior/grounds are beautiful. Could not fault the staff! Just needs an improvement inside on alot of areas and bring the hotel into this generation! Sadly will not be returning, nor recomending.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahJaneJamesMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you for complimenting our staff.
I am sorry that you did not care for the decor in your room or enjoy your time with us, or that you will not be visiting us again.
It is not stated that the menu is "all inclusive", you paid a diner, bed and breakfast rate, which means that the evening meal set menu is at a reduced price. It is unreasonable to think that anything off of the whole menu would be the same price.
Our staff are certainly not "embarrassed" to serve our kitchen's food, and it is absolutely unfair for to assume such a thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel was recommended by friends but we have been very disappointed by the sub standard rooms, will never stay here again. The room we were first given was tired and musty so asked for another one only to be moved to a 3 bed house that was equally musty and run down, we were just after a cosy , comfortable hotel room not a cold, empty, dated chalet type place. Even after complaining the alternative offered was rubbish. Definitely don't stay here unless you like moth balls. Even

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becs82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
I am sorry that we failed to meet your high expectations and that we will not have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Incidentally, we do not use moth balls in any room or property about the estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed 3 nights here, beautiful setting, friendly staff and comfortable accommodation. A spacious room, everything spotless and extra heater provided for winter temperatures. Bathroom a little dated, shower pressure rather poor, but otherwise all good, including fluffy towels and plenty of hot water. We had a really nice evening meal in the restaurant, served by 2 very pleasant waitresses, and excellent breakfasts set up for the day. Although we didn't use the pool it looked inviting as did the sauna and steam room. A welcome Reception area and bar to spend time relaxing and enjoying a quiet drink. Pleasant walk into town, walking back uphill helped to work off the calories!! Tregenna Castle is an imposing building overlooking St Ives and the management are doing a grand job keeping this imposing building looking its best for visitors!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruby71WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review and compliments. We sincerely appreciate your recognition of our efforts to maintain and improve our hotel; like the Severn Bridge, it is an on going process.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your three days with us and hope we will see you here again for at least three more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The room was a decent price and the room had recently be refurbished. 3 of the 4 windows would not open as they were painted over. Bathroom was decent and modern. No iron in the room which is a pain. Staff were fairly helpful. Dinner was above average for a hotel at this "evening do". Breakfast was decent. Don't park under the trees as it took an hour of scrubbing to remove the bird poo the next day ! Biggest disappointment was the bed. Linen looked new and decent .... but ... it was less comfortable than a camp bed .... Time to replace the mattresses !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamLBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that so many aspects of your visit were pleasant and enjoyable, and hope that your Ball was a success. I am sorry that the bed was not to your liking, and have passed your comments to the Housekeeping Manager for his attention.
I hope that we will see you here again next year, or sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
879 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing