We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Tavistock, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband, 2 1/2 year old daughter and I have just had four fantastic nights at Tregenna Castle.
From the jaw dropping views, stunning gardens and beautiful castle we cannot reccomend it enough. Super friendly and helpful staff, delicious food that is reasonably priced and an amazing nursery too.
The pool was spotlessly clean and like swimming in a warm bath!
If you want a great value break in stunning St Ives then this is for you.
Happy holidays!

Room Tip: If you have children then room 86 is brilliant. Bunk beds and a cot and just up from reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
We are pleased that you and your family had such a great time and were able to take advantage of our facilities, especially the pool and nursery.
Thank you for your compliments and recommendation. We sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you all back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    815
    428
    215
    138
See reviews for
583
1,447
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Greeted superbly, we were directed to our large room - with a lovely view over St Ives Bays. (unfortunately, the radiator cover was in pieces in front of the window)! Although "Large" the room was very tired and was in need of a re vamp - not the re painting that was going on around the property during our stay.

The catering staff were helpful and friendly - the food itself well prepared and tasty - the restaurant itself however was "cavernous and soulless" (Chris Evans at Breakfast more than enough to cope with over the sound system). Breakfast did not start until 07.45 - (late even for a relaxed holiday environment.

To fine that wifi was only available in the reception area was a shock and very inconvenient. To make matters worse, there were very few mains sockets in the area to which one could attach one's lap top / tablet etc. Other wise - a nice break.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Spa-Collection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your review and for complimenting our staff.
The rooms that require attention will receive it, through a programme of systematic maintenance. A lot of them have already been completed, I am sorry that you did not get one of them.
I am surprised by your comments regarding the WiFi; coverage is clearly outlined in the booking confirmation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed for two nights last weekend and had a lovely time.
The big plus are the staff, they were always extremely helpful and went out of their way, thank you all.
We paid extra for a sea view room, considering we went on a Taste of Tregenna deal it was good, if let down a little by the bathroom.
The meal was really good as were the breakfasts.Once again the staff were really nice.
The only downside was the noise as workmen starting banging at about eight in the morning, although this is an old building and obviously needs continuous work.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0mekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
I sincerely apologise for the disturbance caused by the contractors. We did inform them that no work could begin prior to 09:00hrs.
Thank you for your review and compliments, hearing kind words regarding our staff never gets old.
We would love for you to return, and hope that you will before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed on the Taste of Tregenna deal. Although the deal was for 2 nights we had extended it to 3 and we are so glad we did. Also upgraded to a west wing sea view room, which was worth the extra. We had Room 134. which had been refurbished. We had no problems with anything in the room, comfortable bed (zip and link twin), plenty of hot water, fantastic view, flat screen TV, nice décor. We used the pool every day, which was lovely and warm. Could not fault the breakfast or evening meals that we had every day. All the staff were very friendly, from reception to bar and waiting staff. Also had a lovely massage and manicure from a very nice lady called Zoe in the Beauty section.
I own a hospitality business and know how hard it is to please everyone. There will always be nit pickers who will complain no matter how much you do for them. Obviously the building is very old and takes a lot of upkeep. Yes you will find that some floor boards creak and the décor could be improved in some areas but this all takes time and a lot of money. While we were there we saw workmen painting in the public areas and bedrooms and also repairing the roof. To the moaners I'd say you're not there to sit and stare at the wallpaper and paintwork so don't let it spoil your time there and if you have a problem with the food then you must be very fussy!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a west wing sea view room (Room 134 is lovely)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TickleTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. I am very pleased that everything was great for you, and that you had a good time.
Thank you also, for your kind compliments, outstanding rating and amusing observations.
I truly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed for two nights small room but it was nice the bathroom wasn't that great peeling paint which they have tried to paint over which was very patchy. Great food in restaurant, waited 30 mins for cream tea in afternoon but given more tea for free. Gardens and grounds are fantastic. staff very friendly and accommodating. Drinks a bit pricey but it is a hotel. A lot of work going on but again I went in out of season but was no mention of work when booking. Would stay again but just need to finish off those little finishing touches like pool area. Also need full length mirror in room with dressing table and a shelve in the shower.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay010182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for your compliments. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and that you would visit us again.
I apologise for any inconvenience or disturbance our programme of maintenance may have caused you. There is not really any convenient time to carry out these projects, but it needs to be done. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Firstly I have to say, had I not found this hotel on Groupon, we probably wouldn't have stayed there. But our stay was hugely enjoyable. The service from the staff was excellent, very helpful. This position of the hotel is above St. Ives itself, so a downhill walk, but a massive hike back! I have to say the hotel sits in beautiful grounds, with stunning views of St. Ives. We ate in the first night, and again the food was very good, as was the buffet style breakfasts in the morning. The bedroom was spacious and adequate, very comfortable bed, the bathroom, though clean, was a little tired. All in all very good.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We are extremely pleased that, via whatever route, you did discover us and that your stay was pleasant and enjoyable.
Thank you for posting a review and for your compliments. We sincerely hope that we impressed you enough to encourage a return visit and hope that we will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Perfect, we had a lovely refurbished room, we paid extra for sea view only a little disappointment was our room the only one that had scaffolding !!!
Breakfast was plentiful, lovely gardens, the pool and spa area was clean.....
Staff at hotel very polite, a big thank you to Lisa who took my original booking.
Our only little complaint was that the postcode took us to the back door where there was no entry......
Good location lovely beach coastline trains......

When booking ask questions as some rooms are being renovated so to avoid the reviews that say disappointing... Ask for a refitted one when booking...Easy then no reason to leave a bad review
Trayc

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thank you very much for your review, compliments and advice. I apologise for the scaffolding, we are having a section of the roof replaced and unfortunately, that was the easiest access point. It will be removed very soon.
Tregenna Estate has its own postcode, as a result SatNavs take you to the rear of the estate, based on the neighbouring postcodes.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing