We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 10 March 2014

wonderful establishment, incredibly friendly helpful staff
room needed a touch up and woodland walk to st ives a bit dark at night [its so pretty it deceives more lighting to enjoy it]
but otherwise it was a wonderful [too short] stay
i will definitely return, this time for a sea view and four poster bed

Room Tip: twin was ok, spacious but a bit tired looking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review, and for complimenting our staff. We are very glad that you enjoyed your abbreviated break, and even happier that you will definitely come back. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,415 of 2,744 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

I took my wife for a 2 days, stayed 4, what a lovely place nice food wonderful helpful staff and how can any one be upset at the price but I am sure there will be some. don't take nigel s comments as me and my wife had the 2 for ten pound meals most days recommended where can you get two eggs a nice wedge of ham and chips for a fiver in st ives we should support these old hotels as they might become posh flats as the grounds must be worth £££££££££££££££££ thanks for enjoyable stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

We are extremely pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your visit so much that you extended for another two days. What a fantastic compliment.
Thank you very much for your review, compliments and observations.
I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Another taste of tregenna has come and gone and I have to say I love this place, again we went for a west wing sea view room and even the upgraded rooms are average. However the views are amazing and the room size is excellent. The staff are fantastic and eager to help. The food is good sometimes very good but usually value for money. The spa and pool were ok and free to use although I had athletes foot for a week after using the facility. The men have to walk through the gym area after changing to get to the pool. There are no individual changing areas in the ladies changing rooms. There are loads of hotels in st Ives but with the parking and the views I would not choose any of the others over tregenna. The hotel is in an excellent position to just discover St Ives or the rest of Cornwall.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Startrekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for another visit and another review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us that much, that you would not stay elsewhere in St.Ives.
Thank you for your compliments, I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again, sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed for two nights (using an Amazon voucher), we upgraded to a sea view room and were glad we did. The view was spectacular, in the morning you see St Ives below bathed in the sunlight, it really was wonderful!
The room I thought, was quite large and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom has been retro fitted, which was to be expected, as not every room would have had a toilet/shower in it.
The staff at check in did not mention anything about the bathroom so we did not think anything of it, however when we used the bathroom we realised that there was some kind of pump plumbed into the toilet/shower that obviously assisted with the disposal of water. What we didn't realise was that this pump was going to be VERY loud. We tried not to use the toilet late at night because it really was that loud. The same for the shower, while the shower was running the pump also ran making quite a racket. Admittedly we didn't hear too many other showers or toilets while we were there but I am not sure if the pump is fitted in all the rooms?
Once we had adjusted to this we were fine, but I think for something so unusual, that the staff should give you a heads up when checking in so you're not taken completely by surprise the first time you use the bathroom!
The breakfast was quite simple, the usual 'English Breakfast' items which is always a popular choice. The staff at breakfast were friendly and would bring you fresh toast to your table about 5-10mins after you arrived, which was perfect timing for the cooked breakfast. I also didn't have any trouble getting gluten free bread at breakfast which was very convenient!
We didn't dine in the restaurant but the menu looked very nice when we stopped to check it out.
Although wifi is only in the foyer area this didn't bother us, it was a good opportunity to do other things than sit in the room and facebook, I would not have been disappointed however, if we could have had internet in our room!
We really enjoyed our stay here, it was such a nice experience, we would definitely come back and stay here if we were in area again, who doesn't love staying in a castle and a castle overlooking the ocean at that!?

Room Tip: Pay the extra to upgrade to a sea room, the view is worth the additional few pounds a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz_D27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you for your informative and complimentary review. I apologise for your not being informed about the saniflo lavatory. Very few of our rooms are fitted with those types of toilet.
We aim to have our WiFi coverage extended to encompass the whole hotel and estate sometime in the very near future. Hopefully, it will be prior to what we hope will be another visit from you.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had the opportunity to see St.Ives in the sunshine, we haven't seen much of that lately!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The staff were very helpful. Meals were average.
Our room was in the "Castle" and it was very tired - could do with a refurbishment. The bath had three chips in the enamel coating which could have been very sharp.
Bothe of us have problems with mobility and the ramps were very poor design, one was to step and incline and the other the carpet was very worn. There was no fridge in the room so I had nowhere to store my insulin except in reception.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patmoss10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

I am sorry that there were issues, during your stay that gave you cause for disappointment.
Thank you for complimenting our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday on a two night taster deal.
The view was gorgeous over St Ives and the room spacious. The adjoining partition door to the next room was not good enough. You could hear everything from low tv, conversations and a man with a very bad cough. The floors were very creaky and an issue for light sleepers.
We requested our room to be cleaned and although the towels were exchanged( not requested) the bathroom was not cleaned and the bed only pulled over not made.
On the Sunday we had the carvery. This was served on a hot plate but unfortunately the food was not hot. This was the same for breakfast as it was also served on the hot plate. It was lukewarm at best. This is such a shame because the quality of the food was very good and would've-been so much better if it had been hot.
The staff, without exception were very friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed our break. The hotel is spacious with beautiful views and grounds and lovely staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesvern7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are grateful for your lovely compliments regarding our staff. Thank you.
I am sorry though, that there were some issues that caused you disappointment and I have raised those points with the relevant departmental heads.
I sincerely hope that these negatives did not detract too much from the enjoyment of your birthday get away and that will have the pleasure of welcoming you back, someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I took my girlfriend to Tregenna Castle Hotel for her birthday. We had such a fantastic time and it was, largely, down to the staff. The place itself is picturesque and lovely on top of a hill fifteen minutes walk from St Ives centre. The grounds are gorgeous, the views spectacular, and the food wonderful. But the staff are the icing on the cake. Friendly, welcoming, courteous, and very happy to help they really made our stay special. From taking the initiative to book us a new restaurant when ours was found to be closed before easter, to recommending walks and booking us taxis they had a brilliant and welcoming manner.

Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. I might be making the trip a yearly birthday tradition!

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - it's worth it just to wake up with the Atlantic in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

We are sincerely, very thrilled to know that we contributed towards your girlfriend's birthday enjoyment. Your compliments regarding our staff are heart warming and extremely flattering, and we truly appreciate them. I have posted a copy of your review in our staff room, so that everyone can see your compliments.
Thank you very much for your review, your compliments and your tremendous rating. I certainly hope that you will make visiting us a birthday tradition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
295 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,026 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £80 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing