We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to return to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
West Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A place to return to”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

A wonderful location overlooking the bay of St Ives. We have stayed at the hotel several times but having a West Wing sea view room was just the best even though a bit more expensive. The grounds and facilities are great although walking into St. Ives town and beaches could be a problem if not very fit especially walking back to the hotel, all uphill but taxis always available.
The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful despite it being a very busy weekend. The food was excellent, good selection and reasonably priced. Tregenna Castle is a place we will continue to return to especially out of the busy summer season when there are often good deals to be found.

Room Tip: West wing sea view, expensive but you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We are very happy to know that you frequently visit and enjoy your stays.
Thank you for your kind and complimentary review and for rating us with five stars.
The kitchen team was grateful for your comments and send you their thanks, too.
We hope that it is not too long before we see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    839
    445
    225
    146
See reviews for
611
1,485
37
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (864)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights with friends to look at local area and do lots of walking and sightseeing. This hotel provided a super base with its position above the town and superb views of St Ives and the coast. The bedrooms was spotlessly clean and really well appointed with all the facilities we needed. We had 2 very comfortable nights and could not fault anything.
The buffet style breakfast was very good except for the coffee/hot water machines which were slow and caused long queues, but food was good quality and nice varied selection.
The staff were really friendly and efficient and very attentive, we were very impressed with the standard.
The grounds,gardens and woodlands were delightful and made a very easy walk down to the town. We did not get the time to play tennis, but did use the pool, which was a treat.
Overall this was incredibly good value and surpassed our expectations, will definitely like to come and stay again.

Room Tip: We had a sea view on the first floor, which included a Four Poster Bed and a sofa. The room was larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank churchfarmhartham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Wow, what a fantastic review! Thank you very much, and for the great rating, too.
We are extremely grateful for all of your kind compliments and thrilled to know that we exceeded your expectations.
I sincerely hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a 4 day stay at Tregenna castle and we loved it? Our room was was clean, comfortable and newly decorated with a picturesque sea view. The breakfast was tasty with lots of variety, the sausages were a particular favourite. The location was really convenient for getting into St Ives and for access to the costal path to Carbis bay. Staff were friendly and helpful particularly when they kindly sent on items I had left behind after our stay. A definite winner all round!

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review and for your compliments.
We are happy that our location suited your requirements and that we were able to reacquaint you with your missing items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Had a lovely couple of days here. Nice walk through gardens to St. Ives. Staff friendly but not overly so and very helpful. Food was excellent as was the service. Room very clean (apart from toilet which needed a bit of attention, and shower tray), well equipped with lots of storage and good lighting. Public areas very clean and comfortable. Being a smoker (very non p.c!) it would have been nice to have somewhere partially covered near the hotel. There is an area away from the hotel but it's very secluded and covered in shrubs and bushes; wouldn't go there at night in case something jumped out at me! Would go back but only in the summer so I could see what was lurking in the undergrowth!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazydaisy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review and kind compliments.
I apologise for the housekeeping issues and have passed your comments to our housekeeping manager for his attention.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Far exceeded my expectations. Stayed in the hotel with my sister. Clean, warm room with all we needed. Food excellent, service cannot be faulted and reception staff very friendly and informative. Although the hotel was busy we were never disturbed by noise of any kind. Short walk through the lovely spring gardens into all the attractions at St Ives. All for a good price. Definitely going again - next time with my husband!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are extremely pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you will be coming back to visit us again.
Thank you very much for your fantastic review and compliments and for rating us so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a great stay,staff very pleasant ,breakfast and evening meal were excellent.
This was our 2nd visit and we will return. Room beautiful ,excellent views only problems we had was towel loose in bathroom, and one of the knobs on the shower control fell off,but the shower still worked. Location brilliant look forward to going back.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Sorry about the towel rail and shower knob, I have had our maintenance crew fix them.
Thank you for your lovely review, your compliments and for visiting us again. We eagerly await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had a lovely stay, staff were very pleasant and helpful, food was excellent. Look forward to coming back. We always enjoy St Ives but this was the first time we used Tregenna Castle and were very impressed.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
We are very pleased that on this trip to St.Ives, you chose to stay with us and that we did not disappoint you.
Thank you for your review and compliments. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
968 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
21.8 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing