We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a four day break courtesy of a deal we got o Amazon Local (amazons version of groupon). The hotel looked amazing when we looked at it but actually being here far exceeded our expectations. It was just stunning. A beautiful castle situated above st ives with breath taking views. We had a family room as we had our two young boys with us. The family room was fantastic with a separate room for the children within our room with its own door so we could put the kids to bed at night and not worry about having our tv on. Kids room had its own tv also. It was cleaned daily with refreshments replenished. The shower wss fantastic! The breakfast in the morning was delicious with lots to choose from and great service. Everything was fantastic from the food to the indoor swimming pool to the fantastic grounds and amazing views not to mention the convenient location just on the outskirts of the town centre. On our first night, it was quite warm and we found a little enclosed garden at the front overlooking the ocean, we got fish and chips from becks chip shop just down the road, a drink from the bar and sat on our picnic blanket enjoying our fish and chips and the views with our baby boys and playing kick about with the football. I have to say it was one of the most treasured moments iv had with my family anf I felt very lucky to be there at Tregenna Castle making special memories. Everyone that we told we were staying at tregenna commented how lovely it is. We hope to visit St ives again one day despite the 7 hour car journey, and Tregenna will be our location of choice. THANKS TREGENNA CASTLE!! X

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank kimmyw116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

I am grateful that, true to your word, you posted such a lovely and thoughtful review. We are extremely happy that such treasure memories will include our hotel, and are also grateful that we could contribute towards them.
I am glad that the new layout of our family rooms was suitable to your needs and enabled you to relax and enjoy some personal time, which I know from experience, is not always easy in a hotel room.
It was our pleasure to have you as guests and I hope that we will again some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 2,714 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for four nights and what a wonderful stay we had. Beautiful setting and very friendly staff. Our room looked over St Ives Bay and the very we'll kept grounds of Tregenna Castle.
The breakfast is excellent and the cream teas are very naughty but very nice. ( couldn't say no) !!
Will definitely love to return one day.

Room Tip: Book a room over looking St Ives Bay. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your naughty cream tea. Thank you for posting a review, for your compliments and the excellent rating. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at theTregenna Castle last weekend. Without exception every member of staff we met were fantastic. Its a huge hotel in a prime setting and we will most definitely go back.The rooms were spotless, roomy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrannyDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

What a fantastic compliment, thank you very much. Thank you for the great rating, too. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks family at this hotel and had a fantastic time here, stayed in a family room with a sea view and loved it. Good location, good room, good facilities and very good staff. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craney74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you for your succinct yet complimentary review and for the outstanding rating. We are very pleased that you and your family had such a good time and that you would recommend us.
We hope that we will get see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Had a great short break at Tregenna Castle. Beautiful setting, friendly staff, good golf and splendid breakfast. Gardens are beautifully kept and the walk into St Ives a pleasure, not so sure about the steep climb back though, but that isn't the hotel's fault. Can't wait for a return visit!

Room Tip: On reflection would have upgraded to a room overlooking sea but basic room still very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue190776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you very much for your flattering and complimentary review, and also for the excellent rating. We are glad that you enjoyed our setting, facilities and breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked our recent stay through WOW GO and although having stayed once before, wondered if we would have a good room and not one at the back so to speak. We were not disappointed. From the time we drove through the gated entrance, having been greeted by a very pleasant man in his uniform and driving up to the breathtaking view of Tregenna Castle Hotel and to the right looking over the bay with torquoise blue sea and the very well kept grounds we had no need to worry. The staff, of which there always seemed to be plenty and all busy were very helpful, polite and happy. We were efficiently checked in and advised of room number and facilities available and given a map of the grounds. We made our way to our room which I am pleased to say had a view over Carbis bay and the grounds up to the tennis courts. The room was spacious with a hall between the bedroom and bath room and somewhere to keep the case and bags. Both bedroom and bathroom were very clean with plenty of towels and complimentary soaps, shower and hair products, the only sad part for me was that the shower was just a trickle, yes really, a trickle. I should have complained but thought we might loose the view if moved to another room. I did however make comment upon leaving and was told I should have made them aware, they would have moved us. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh. I was impressed with the fact they changed the top table cloth after when laying up again for the next dinners, many other hotels would give it a brush over and lay up again. Would love to stay again and have already recommended it and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has a sea view, it should not be missed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank murieltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, and for your many compliments.
I understand your desire to keep your room, however we would have liked to have rectified the problem, so that you could have fully enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for any recommendations, and I truly hope that we will see you here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. Hotel is old and a little dated but this didn't detract at all.
Staff were friendly and knowledgeable and the food was first class, especially the breakfast.
The rooms were comfortable but the floors squeaked and the bed was a little narrow and soft for us.
Good selection of teas and coffees in the room and adequate toiletries available also.
We would certainly come again.

Room Tip: a sea view is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your wonderful compliments regarding our staff and food. I am very pleased that despite some issues, you enjoyed your visit and would come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
907 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £99 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing