We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good family hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tregenna Castle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Bristol,England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good family hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Although this resort hotel may need a little updating in décor, it provided us with a very comfortable short break stay. All the staff were very cheerful and helpful even when working under stress in a full restaurant at the buffet breakfast. The food was of a very good standard and reasonably priced. There was plenty to do on site with golf, tennis, swimming and a gym, there also seemed lots for kids to be kept amused. It is a great place for a family stay, set high above St. Ives, with wonderful views of the coast, and within easy walkin distance of the town centre. A good base to explore the many attractions of West Cornwall.

Room Tip: He west wing rooms have a sea view but you have to pay a supplement
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
I am very happy that we were able to provide you with a comfortable and enjoyable break, and that there were plenty of activities to keep you occupied.
Thank you for your review and compliments, and I hope that you will visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    972
    797
    419
    209
    136
See reviews for
572
1,416
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We booked for four nights stay with a voucher from Living Social and what a disappointment. We were in room 132 and the corridor to the room was so noisy - every step taken was on creaky, noisy floorboards and the carpet was threadbare and worn. The room itself was small, stuffy and tired looking, the curtains were cheap and stained, the furniture old, chipped and tatty and in need of replacement. We complained to the staff and they said they were full and could not offer us an alternative room, despite the fact that we said we would pay extra. They did show us a self catering golf apartment, which they said was the only accommodation available, but when we went to view it, it was in desperate need of a deep clean and the smell of oil and grease hit us as soon as we entered, so we rejected it and due to the location, decided to give the hotel a chance to redeem itself with breakfast and hopefully a good sleep. Unfortunately, the bed proved to be very uncomfortable and with that and the stuffiness of the room and a lot of noise from either the heating system or some plant, we slept very little. We complained the next morning about the noise and the maintenance guy they sent to look at it said they had had the same problem a couple of years ago and it was the heating, which he thankfully managed to sort out. We were hoping that was a good omen and that breakfast would continue the positivity - unfortunately, that wasn't to be. When you see 'freshly prepared' fruit salad on the menu, you expect fresh chopped fruit - but what was there was tinned fruit salad complete with half glace cherries! Disappointing, all round. We left a day early and will NOT be returning.

Room Tip: Choose an alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FranciszkaGogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Obviously, we failed in a few areas, in your opinion, to meet your standards and expectations, for which I apologise.
If the hotel is full, money will not suddenly make a room available. You were offered alternative accommodation, which goes without saying, would have been cleaned prior to any residency, but you declined. I am sorry that you will not be visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed for two nights. Lovely 3 Star hotel with good facilities and great views of St Ives. Staff very friendly and accommodating. We had dinner on the first night and breakfast each morning as part of our deal. Dinner good but breakfast was better with plenty of choice. We stayed in an accessible room with wet room as this was the only sea view room available and couldn't fault it. Overall a great stay and a good location for exploring surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakestones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind compliments. We are very pleased that so many aspects of your stay met with your approval and that you had an enjoyable visit with us. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back here again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I spent two nights here with a friend and paid extra for a sea view room, which was well worth it – the views are spectacular. The reception staff could not be faulted; they were friendly, smiling and chatty and gave us all the information we needed about the hotel and getting about in St. Ives. The room was about what you would expect for a Grande Dame in her later years; a little tired, but with reminders of past glories. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding was good quality. There was a maintenance issue (I stubbed my toe quite badly on a loose bathroom tile), but it was dealt with quickly and efficiently when reported to Rob at reception. The room wifi still has gremlins and we could really only access the internet properly in the reception area, but this was not a problem. The area where the hotel was really badly let down was at breakfast. The food was adequate, but the buffet was poorly replenished and the staff could not raise a single smile or a friendly greeting between them. A very curt ‘come this way’ (not a hint of ‘please’) from the maitre’d set the tone. We gave our room number and were seated then left to our own devices as staff scurried to re-set tables whilst ignoring us (and other customers) as we waited to order toast. Finally we caught the attention of a passing waiter and asked him to bring gluten free toast for my friend, which he eventually did. The following day we asked again for gluten free toast and were told that there was none left; when I expressed my disappointment and told the waiter that we had specifically ordered it in advance he disappeared and returned having ‘found’ some. We were horrified to discover that it looked completely different to what had been served as 'gluten free' the day before and queried this with the only member of staff (Molly) to engage with us. It turned out that what had been given to us the day before was certainly NOT gluten free and this could have had dire consequences rather than the temporary discomfort my friend experienced – this should never have happened. I have been teaching a Customer Service NVQ for the past year and, with the exception of Molly, there was not a single staff member at breakfast that would have got a pass mark based on what I experienced and observed. The other, minor, issue was that the tea bags are not individually wrapped and as it’s easy to accidentally pick up more than one there is a hygiene problem as unwanted tea bags are handled and then dropped back into the container. Breakfast apart, we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
I am sincerely sorry about our confusion and subsequent mistake, regarding the gluten free bread. It was a potentially serious error and I hope that it did not cause your friend too much discomfort. This issue and the one regarding the customer service has been raised with the restaurant manager for his attention and action.
I am pleased though, that there were positive aspects to your stay and that overall it was enjoyable. I also hope that you can forgive the problems that you encountered and visit us again. I assure you that they will not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a grand old lady style hotel, with plenty to do including golf, swimming, fitness centre, children's day care etc. The best part is the fabulous and extensive grounds with the fabulous panoramic views of St Ives. The hotel is spacious and the bedrooms huge - we stay in the west wing - room 142 this time.

The staff are all friendly, the breakfast buffet is very good and the evening meals are OK. Lovely outdoor terrace for drinks on warm days / evenings and a separate outdoor swimming pool.

Plenty of parking which is rare in St Ives and you can walk into town and enjoy all its attractions without the car. Bit of a steep climb coming back, but there always taxis.

the heating is good throughout the hotel and it has a comfortable, relaxed grand style. Not the trendiest place, but very popular with its guests and we will certainly be returning.

Room Tip: worth the extra charge for sea view bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScenerySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review and observations, thank you for your compliments, too. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and our facilities and look forward to welcoming you back to the 'Grand old Lady' sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a four day break courtesy of a deal we got o Amazon Local (amazons version of groupon). The hotel looked amazing when we looked at it but actually being here far exceeded our expectations. It was just stunning. A beautiful castle situated above st ives with breath taking views. We had a family room as we had our two young boys with us. The family room was fantastic with a separate room for the children within our room with its own door so we could put the kids to bed at night and not worry about having our tv on. Kids room had its own tv also. It was cleaned daily with refreshments replenished. The shower wss fantastic! The breakfast in the morning was delicious with lots to choose from and great service. Everything was fantastic from the food to the indoor swimming pool to the fantastic grounds and amazing views not to mention the convenient location just on the outskirts of the town centre. On our first night, it was quite warm and we found a little enclosed garden at the front overlooking the ocean, we got fish and chips from becks chip shop just down the road, a drink from the bar and sat on our picnic blanket enjoying our fish and chips and the views with our baby boys and playing kick about with the football. I have to say it was one of the most treasured moments iv had with my family anf I felt very lucky to be there at Tregenna Castle making special memories. Everyone that we told we were staying at tregenna commented how lovely it is. We hope to visit St ives again one day despite the 7 hour car journey, and Tregenna will be our location of choice. THANKS TREGENNA CASTLE!! X

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kimmyw116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
I am grateful that, true to your word, you posted such a lovely and thoughtful review. We are extremely happy that such treasure memories will include our hotel, and are also grateful that we could contribute towards them.
I am glad that the new layout of our family rooms was suitable to your needs and enabled you to relax and enjoy some personal time, which I know from experience, is not always easy in a hotel room.
It was our pleasure to have you as guests and I hope that we will again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twinkle16
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here for four nights and what a wonderful stay we had. Beautiful setting and very friendly staff. Our room looked over St Ives Bay and the very we'll kept grounds of Tregenna Castle.
The breakfast is excellent and the cream teas are very naughty but very nice. ( couldn't say no) !!
Will definitely love to return one day.

Room Tip: Book a room over looking St Ives Bay. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twinkle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your naughty cream tea. Thank you for posting a review, for your compliments and the excellent rating. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing