We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,026)
Filter reviews
3,027 results
Traveller rating
1,161
947
488
260
171
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,161
947
488
260
171
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west wing self catering leisure facilities lovely grounds sea view indoor pool tennis courts buffet style steam room woodland walk hotel grounds overlooking st ives reception area bit dated the main hotel short break night break
Filter
Updating list...
1,620 - 1,625 of 3,027 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Greeted at the lodge by a smiling member of staff we were directed to the reception where we were booked in by pleasant receptionists,our rooms were on the first floor and the had just been decorated and were in good order with new drapes and carpets the room was clean and very tidy,the bathroom was dated but clean the shower was old and difficult to adjust to temperature the bath was also chipped in several places.The hotel and the grounds are impressive and have wonderful views over St Ives and beyond, the public areas are comfortable with lots of leather chesterfields and arm chairs to relax in,the breakfast was excellent with a wide choice from fresh fruit, cereals,yogurt,bakery items,the full English was serve yourself and can't be faulted,kippers & smoked haddock were also available,endless amounts of toast tea and coffee and you are set for the day ahead,a walk in the grounds are to be recommended,the Tregenna Castle is an ideal place to stay to take advantage of this wonderful part of Cornwall.

Room tip: ask for room over looking the bay
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NORMANBLAIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our hospitality and our grounds. Our Head Chef is very grateful for your compliments and sends you his thanks, too.
I apologise for any issues arising from the bathroom and want to reassure you that we are systematically moving through the hotel addressing any problems with the rooms.
I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Tregenna one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my partner, beautiful building, beautiful surroundings, friendly and helpful smiling staff! Quirky decor and great facilities. Had an amazing massage at castle beauty, lovely warm indoor pool and jacuzzi and steam room were great. The food at the restaurant for dinner was lovely however the breakfast was a tad disappointing. Lovely extra long bath and clean and comfortable room. Would definitely stay again!

Date of stay: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We are extremely happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit, our facilities and services.
I am sorry that you were a little disappointed with breakfast, but thrilled that your other meals were enjoyable.
Thank you for your review, compliments and excellent rating. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We enjoyed our April stay. Arrival was very easy, we were able to park by the main entrance and there was a display of flying by two birds of prey including a large owl as we drove up.
Our room was great, spacious and fully modernised - a huge bathroom with a lovely double ended bath and a view across the battlements to the sea. Bed was large, two singles joined together so a lump down the middle but otherwise fine. The furniture in our room and around the hotel is a bit random and doesn't always suit the style of the hotel. I'm told the place is being modernised but not yet complete.
The hotel is a bit rambling, not easy to find the breakfast room on our first morning! There are a lot of extra facilities including spa, pool, croquet lawn, tennis court etc, which we didn't try as we spent most of our time in town. A walk through the grounds is wonderful and it's only ten minutes to the beach and town.
If you like a bog standard executive hotel experience then Tregenna Castle may not suit you, but it's a great place for families - lots of activities and breakfast choices should suit everybody.

Room tip: Ask for one of the newly modernised rooms.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summerlok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

It is unfortunate that you did not have the opportunity to take advantage of our facilities, but great that you experienced our grounds and some of our holiday activities.
At the risk of sounding pedantic; we are not modernising, but refurbishing and renovating.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

When I arrived and my room was in the basement my heart sank But! When I opened the door what a joy A vast room Superkingsized bed,Settee,Drinnks/Bicuits, huge Bathroom with Shower and for £40 extra the most wonderful sunny view of the whole of St. Ives bay. All the staff were very willing and polite and we had a delicious Breakfast each morning and again the waiting staff were very attentive In all , best hotel I have stayed in in a long time. The gardens are very well kept and there is a way down through them towards the town. St. Ives is a lovely destination and the hotel Tregenna castle put the cream on my Cornish scone !

Room tip: I stayed in room 7 in the basement so no one to disturb downstairs and hardly any noise from above or beside that room ,Paid £40 extra for sea view and it was worth it.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Although one must go downstairs, to get to room 7, it is on the ground floor due to the gradient of the hill. We are pleased that you were thrilled with your room and the view and also that you enjoyed your four nights with us.
Thank you for your kind compliments and fantastic rating, I sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to be the cream on your scone again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

From the welcome at the gate house to the welcome at Reception our few days spent at the Tregenna were a joy. We had a large bedroom (52) on the ground floor with a wet room (which was useful as my husband was just recovering from a spinal operation,) with panoramic views of the bay and St,Ives . The breakfasts were lovely, with a varied choice. Although we did not make use of the leisure centre many people did, lovely indoor and outdoor swimming pools, hair and beauty salon, outdoor pursuits plus many other activities. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff including returning my Ipad charger which I left in the room , a big thank you to all for making our stay so pleasant and a big thank you to Graham and Maureen Mace for giving us this break .
Pam Stevens

Room tip: Room 52 suitable for disabled, ground floor wonderful sea views
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

We are grateful to Graham and Maureen too, for giving you the opportunity to come and visit us.
We are very pleased that your stay was so enjoyable and that the room met with your approval and requirements. Thank you for your review and your compliments, I hope that we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews