We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently spent two nights here, while touring the Cornwall area with Dacey's Cornish Tours. The reception was extremely friendly and check in a breeze. Our original room had a strong smell of paint, and we asked if we could be moved. They did so without pause, and then made sure that we were happy with the move. The town of St. Ives is a short walk and a cute town to roam. Definitely, allow time to spend on the grounds of the hotel. The gardens are beautiful, the views of the sea are just stunning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your five star rating.

I am pleased that despite you being uncomfortable in your first room, due to our on-going refurbishment and decoration project we were fortunate enough to offer a room that made your stay all that more pleasant.

As you mentioned we are situated within beautiful grounds and it will take time to view the full 72 acres.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,332 - 1,338 of 2,773 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

absolutely love this place. The staff, the views, the best breakfast I have ever had. Regularly stay here and regularly upgraded which is nice : ) Would consider getting married here... which is a compliment because I live 3.5 hrs away!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carriebradshaw22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Thank you for your review and five star rating.

I am really pleased to read how much you love staying at our resort.

3.5 hours isn’t too far to drive for a wedding is it?

All our staff look forward to welcoming you back at your lovely resort soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Amazing place to stay in overlooking the gardens and the beach with a small walk into the town. Meals were great and room large and very comfortable with amazing views and a quite a large bathroom. Great walks in the gardens and a very well run hotel with nothing we wanted for with a couple of restaurants and bars so even if you did not go into town you could get all you needed for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We are very fortunate to welcome guests from all four corners of the world at our resort and appreciate you taking the time to write your review and for giving us a five star rating.

I am pleased that you were able to enjoy your weekend stay with us.

Hopefully on your next visit to the UK you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the moment we pulled up to the moment we left, our 4 night holiday at St Ives was made perfect by the attentive and warm staff at Tregenna Castle. Our double superior sea view room had an unbelievable view over the ocean and St Ives Harbour. The young gentleman that showed us to our room and settled us in (Maximilian) eloquently explained the features and the comforts at the Castle and so we began our voyage of discovery into wonderful St Ives. Our room was palatial really more of a mini suite than a double room and the view morning, day and evening through the double floor to ceiling sash windows was continually mesmerising I would even go as far as to say the best I have seen even when compared to some views in hotels in lavish, exotic foreign countries. Breakfast was perfect with quality products which one could easily tell we're locally sourced with the restaurant manager (a well built grey haired gentleman whose name we unfortunately didn't get) overseeing proceedings exceptionally well. The young waitresses and waiters were polite and kind and nothing seemed like to much trouble, they appeared to have been given quality training. Even with several weddings happening at the castle throughout our stay room service was still prompt and professional and the food from this menu was delicious. Ludo who delivered ours on two occasions was courteous and discreet (clearly a professional and well educated gentleman, as well as a great member of the Tregenna team. We would stay here again in a heartbeat but only if we got the same room as it's view and soul now has a special place in our hearts (and no, I'm not going to tell anyone the room number). As for S Ives, I am totally in love with the place. It helped that the weather was warm and exceptionally sunny.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BrightMasih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review and your five star rating.

I will pass on your compliments to all our staff and to those who you mentioned by name.

I am glad you enjoyed the views we are very fortunate to have and your Cornwall sourced full English breakfast.

Although the weather helped with your stay I hope the warm and friendly welcome offered by all our staff will mean you will enjoy your next visit even if its raining.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your soulful holiday resort in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is very near to beautiful beach of St Ives. Rooms are good especially ones that are sea facing. I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed my stay thoroughly. Recommended place to stay in St Ives.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you for your review and five star rating.

We are pleased that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and would recommend us.

We look forward to seeing at our resort on your next visit to St Ives and its beautiful beaches.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here on Sunday night and just have to write a review right now! We had room 120 which had an amazing sea view. The room was massive with lovely furniture to relax in. Lovely big bathroom.
The outdoor pool was glorious and very warm. We had the luxury of great weather and I even got a bit sunburnt!
The hotel and grounds are STUNNING with a capital S, we spent an hour just wandering around the walled garden and sat by the pond just taking in the wildlife. I'd love to be a gardener here as they do a fantastic job. All the Tree Echiums dotted around are so striking and beautiful! Everywhere you look there's one!
We ate in the Firehouse in St Ives on Sunday night which was lovely & very reasonable with great views if you get a window table.
Yesterday morning we had a swim in the indoor pool and a jacuzzi, like getting into a bath, gorgeous. Then had a lovely massage in Castle Beauty, very relaxing!
Breakfast was fab, what a spread, full English, fresh fruit, pineapple and melon, and the pastries, YUM!
Can't wait to come back to Tregenna again, hopefully for 2 nights this time to explore more!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view, it's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornished
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review and for your 5 star rating.

Although you only stayed one night I am glad you were still able to enjoy some of the many facilities we have on offer at our resort for our guests, including our heated outdoor pool. I hope the sunburn heals quickly!!

We look forward to you staying with us again and hope that two nights will be sufficient for you too fully explore the 72 acres of grounds our resort is situated on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just back from a four night stay
Great location over looking St Ives hotel is very well placed and parking is a definite bonus but not ideal if you struggle with walking pleasant stroll through gardens down to St Ives hike back !
Rooms quite dated but you would expect it in a building of this great age comfortable surrounding breakfast adequate but evening menu not varied and expensive all in all worth a visit

Room Tip: Go for sea view double aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glynis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

I am pleased you enjoyed your recent four night stay at our resort.

I will pass on your comments regarding breakfast and our evening meal menu to our head chef.

Our resort, despite its great age, is currently being refurbished and decorated and hopefully on your next visit to St Ives and our resort you will be able to have another enjoyable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £68 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing