We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant family stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Me and my family stayed four nights, our room was clean and comfortable, with the added bonus of the kids bedroom being separate from ours. The food was delicious and plentiful. The staff were always friendly and accommodating. We had a very happy and sunny holiday and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We are really happy that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us in one of our recently refurbished family rooms.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and for the quality of our food.

We look forward to giving you another warm welcome on your next family holiday to St Ives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    815
    428
    215
    138
See reviews for
583
1,447
36
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (854)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

A very nice, if somewhat dated hotel. Amazing grounds and location.

However, we booked South Lodge 4 self catering apartment, advertised as sleeping four. The bed settee in the front room was in terrible condition with no mattress protection over the springs. A small but serviceable bedroom, but do not attempt to sleep four here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank M5London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our 240 year old hotel.

I am sorry to read that some of your party had some sleeping issues with your apartment. These will be investigated fully.

I hope you may feel comfortable to return to our resort on your next visit to St Ives and stay in any one of our other self-catering apartments located within our 72 acre resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I booked this little holiday in St Ives because we couldn't get into sennen cove the week we wanted and,to be quite honest,we were glad we came to St Ives.
Tregenna castle may not be the most up to date place to stay but it has a charm all of its own and the staff were truly wonderful and very helpful when needed.There is so much to explore in its 72 acre site and the walks are quite useful after a very filling dinner in the restaurant! Room was spacious,bed was comfortable,bathroom...well,did the job.What more do you require?!
We loved it and we WILL be going back.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the function room,because at weekends it could be a little noisy i guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Well…..we are all certainly glad you chose to stay with us and pleased we were able to meet your expectations.

Thank you for your kind words regarding all our staff and we look forward to seeing you again at our unique and charming resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A surprise to find such a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. The facilities are safe for family use and clean and well presented for parents. The walk to the beach really is not to far away and is well worth the visit i suggest driving to the supermarket at the top of the hill and catching the bus for long days out in the town.

Room Tip: all good and wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamiebrave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review and for your five star rating.

I am delighted that you had a wonderfully safe stay at our family friendly resort and will pass on your comments to all our staff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to St Ives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is a stunning location, on the hill overlooking the majestic St Ives bay , which because of the exceedingly clear air, looks fabulous on any day, let alone when the sun shines, which fortunately, it does regularly in the summer.

We have been returning here with our family for almost 15 years and appreciate the sports facilities, pools, tennis courts and croquet. We have seen some improvement but not enough.

The tennis courts seriously need resurfacing, something we have been promised by numerous different general managers over the many years we have brought this to their attention. The latest excuse has been the budget for 2014 which was earmarked for the court was used to tarmac the road around the estate, which certainly looks smart now and did need doing, but the tennis courts are the centrepiece of the grounds and are very tired, despite the repainting of the lines and removal of weeds, two years ago..

The croquet lawn is a real bonus and to play with such a scenic background is a delight. It is however, such a shame that despite many years of asking, the balls are so old they have lost almost all their original paint. Last year they were promised, but the sports staff balked at spending £80 on a new set.

There is a common theme here and in other reviews, this is a great location, but management do not deliver on promises, and more investment needed to match delivery with initial expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I am grateful for you taking the time to write your review.

It is always nice to hear from guests who have continued to return to our resort, and we do have many of those.

As you mentioned it is has been said previously on many occasions that we are undergoing a decoration and refurbishment project throughout the whole resort and will continue to do so, it is a big investment and evidence of what will be achieved can already be seen.

I am disconcerted a member of staff, management or otherwise would discuss financial budgets for the hotel with guests.

I hope we have the pleasure of seeing at our resort again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Tregenna Castle is a lovely venue for a wedding ceremony. We booked this venue due to the pavilion and the stunning views and gardens. As it happens the day was very wet and we had to have the ceremony in the Godrevy room. This would not be my first choice but I am still happy that we chose Tregenna Castle and took the risk. We were still able to have some photos in the pavilion and outside the front of the building which I am pleased about. Alex the wedding coordinator was fabulous at all stages throughout the process. She is very professional, experienced and organised. Having the inside room set up as a backup really makes the outside wedding a potential which is a great opportunity. Thank you Alex!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottness_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent wedding ceremony review and for your rating.

We are very fortunate of the views we have due to our location, however as we all know this lovely island of ours doesn’t guarantee the weather.

Despite the rain on your magical day I am glad you were able to get some pictures outside.

I will pass on your kind words to the events manager and hope we have the delectable pleasure of seeing you at our resort again soon…..maybe for an anniversary stay????
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Although the building is a former castle, it needs updating as the rooms are tired and a bit old fashioned. Although our room had been recently painted and the bathroom, clean and modern. The amenities are great although furniture by indoor pool could be a lot nicer rather than plastic. The grounds are gorgeous over looking the bay. Bring a good pair of walking shoes, your gonna need it to get up the hill. Special mention to the barman, very accomodating and friendly& Cream tea which is immense. We will definitley return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hollyphippscollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay in one of our recently updated rooms.

I will pass on your kind comments to our barman and I am thrilled you enjoyed one of Tregenna Castle’s unsung gems…..our cream teas!!!

We look forward to seeing you back at our resort on your next visit to St Ives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, HRS, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing