We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Service x”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Coleshill, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service x”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend and wanted to stay longer. The view from our rooms was exceptional and the grounds are wonderful to walk around. The staff just couldn't do enough to make our stay the best they could. Breakfast was yummy too. The walk down to St Ives is pleasant with beautiful colours and flowers My partner was so pleased on our return walk that a lovely housekeeper gave us a lift in her little buggy to the Hotel! My niece was married there last year so we had great memories and now we have some more! We'll be back x thank you to all the staff with your "can do" attitudes and welcoming smiles x

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColeshillGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review and five star rating.

I am so pleased all our staff with their can do attitude enabled you to gain further fond memories of our resort.

We all look forward to your next visit, and we to hope it may be a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    978
    808
    423
    213
    138
See reviews for
579
1,432
35
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a wonderful time at Tregenna Castle Hotel. Everything was spot-on and the staff really helpful. The grounds are superb and meticulously kept. There is no need to leave the hotel, apart from the lovely stroll through the woods to St. Ives town and beaches (slightly harder coming back up as quite hilly)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea-views- amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
I am so thrilled you had a fantastic stay at our resort.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your five star rating.

We appreciate you kind comments regarding our staff and it would seem you enjoyed the facilities on offer to all guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you at our resort on your next holiday to St Ives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Booked the hotel slightly last minute (a month in advance) for family to enjoy short, 3 night break in St Ives.

Very disappointed with first few nights. Temperature of the room was stifling as there was no air conditioning nor could we leave windows open for warning of seagulls and magpies potentially entering room and causing a mess - not good for a toddler or 6 month old baby. No fans were available as had only got 10 or so in whole hotel.

The water from bath ran yellow so had to call housekeeping to sort it out. The nice woman who did help us also had a fan hidden away so at least gave us temporary relief.

The water pipes also made a ridiculous noise when toilet flushed or cold water was running - oh and occasionally in the middle of the night. Again not ideal for 2 young children. This got a bit too much by end of day 1 so asked for something to be done. Eventually got a much nicer room (honeymoon suite perhaps) in better part of the hotel.

For the price we paid - c£500 for 3 nights - we expected better.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrucePallats2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am pleased to read that we were able to offer a satisfactory resolution to the unseasonably high temperatures which caused you an uncomfortable stay in your first room.

I can assure you that we have sufficient fans for our guests with none hidden away; the 10 mentioned in your review were the first half of the additional 20 we ordered to assist our guests further.

I am sorry that despite taking advantage of a very good offer for 3 nights in St Ives in July we were unable to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Impressive grounds and views over St. Ives. Great location. Loved the outdoor pool. Breakfast is mediocre (limited choice, always crowded, mediocre quality such as jam packaged in plastic, tinned fruit salad instead of fresh, beverages from a dispenser). All in all a lot of potential, but run very impersonal and could be much more impressive if properly managed.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelnow09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am bewildered that you feel the whole melon, grapefruit and pineapple, to mention just some of the fruit we offer at breakfast comes from a tin. With a choice of bacon, sausage, egg (fried or scrambled), mushrooms, tomatoes, hash browns, croissants, cereals I am at a loss as to what else we could offer to give our guests more variety.

With a full hotel of over 300 guests staying with us breakfast will be busy at times, our team of experienced restaurant managers run breakfast effectively to ensure guests are not kept waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The staff were excellent especially Max and Rob, the gardens and views are spectacular.

However the self catering cottage was appalling, damp and in very poor condition, the carpets were well worn and the mattresses were obviously well used and needed urgent disposing thereof.

Upon complaining I was very pleased with the professional response I received and the way my complaint was dealt with. However its just a shame that the Hotel do not have the funds available to completely renovate the accommodation, as in our humble opinion it was unliveable. This in my opinion greatly detracted from the super location and spectacular gardens that the hotel has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisjh36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
The resort management are currently investing in a refurbishment and decoration project throughout the whole resort including our self-catering apartments and cottages.

I am pleased to read that the issue’s you experienced during your stay were resolved in a timely and efficient manner.

Some of our traditional Cornish granite properties can give a misleading feeling of damp in summer months after periods of inclement weather, as heating is unlikely to be used inside the property which helps to push the damp air out after it has been absorbed by the granite from the exterior.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort for you to witness the improvements we are keen to proffer our self-catering guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here with friends and we had a great time. The hotel is very nice and it has a lovely garden. If I visit St Ives again, I would stay at the same place. There was free wi-fi, which is important nowadays.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaloyan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay in September 2013 and for your five star review.

Since your stay we have extended our free Wi-Fi to all our guests’ rooms and also to our self-catering cottage and apartments.

We look forward to your next visit and hope you enjoy the further improvements we have made to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed at Tregenna Castle hotel for a long weekend. It was a lot of money for two nights and not worth the expense. It has a lot of potential but it seems all the money has been spent on their lodges which are around the main building. Staff were friendly, good location for walking to St Ives, breakfast was cheap and pretty poor, bedrooms need some investment and tlc. I paid for a sea view but you had to sit right in the window to see it too. Ok but overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
12-Management, Guest Relations Manager at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are currently investing in a decoration and refurbishment project throughout our whole resort including hotel rooms.

I am sorry the variety of choice available a breakfast did not meet your expectations and for the sea view from your window. We are very fortunate with the views of St Ives Bay our guest enjoy from the windows in our sea view rooms and we usually receive high praise for this.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort on your next visit to St Ives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Property: Tregenna Castle Resort
Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing