We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tregenna Castle Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Chy-An-Albany(St Ives)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Regent(St Ives)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Western Hotel(St Ives)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Palms(St Ives)
View Hotel
Reviews (2,815)
Filter reviews
2,815 results
Traveller rating
1,067
890
465
237
156
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,067
890
465
237
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswest wingself cateringleisure facilitieslovely groundswoodland walksea viewindoor pooltennis courtssteam roomhotel groundsbuffet stylefull pricereception areaoverlooking st ivesspecial offerthe main hotelbit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,626 - 2,631 of 2,815 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Didn't rate this hotel at all. The grounds are beautiful and the location is good, however, the hotel itself is not how it is represented on their website. The rooms need upgrading, the TVs are very old with bad pictures, the shower only had hot water for two days and when it did it the water pressure was so weak it was difficult to use - the whole place just needs money spending on it! The restaurant and bar staff are very friendly. The swimming pool and sauna are grubby and need a good scrub, in fact after using it once I didn't return. The gym was ok. The restaurant did not have much choice of food, it was a carvery every night with the only other choice normally being a vegetarian pasta dish or similar. A friend stayed in one of the cottages on the site which was far better then the rooms so if you are staying here I would recommend checking out the cottages.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bintang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We spent two nights at the Tregenna Castle for a wedding in August, and I have never been so happy to leave somewhere. What a dump. From the outside it looks stunning- amazing view over the sea and St Ives, beautiful old castle with ivy climbing up the walls and really lovely well maintained gardens and a really nice outdoor pool. It's when you get inside that it all goes wrong. The hotel is like being dragged into a terrible time machine that drags you back to the days when English seaside hotels could get away with being dirty, having peeling paint and "pub style" carpets, awful food, uncomfortable beds, grotty bathrooms, and still charge inflated rates.
We paid £100 a night. The first night the bed was so uncomfortable with springs sticking out of it that neither of us got any sleep. The bathroom was old and tired and not very clean, and the cistern had a plastic tub underneath it to catch the drips. To be fair I should say that we complained first thing the next day and the mattress was changed, the bathroom cleaned and the cistern stuck together (thank you to the lovely maintenance and cleaning men who were charming!). However, nothing immediate could be done to fix the depressing green, dark room where the horrible greasy breakfast was served, or the general boarding school-like musty corridors.
Basically, don't go there. Other wedding guests told us about their B&B down the road that sounded much nicer, for much less money!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonJessR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Went down to Cornwall to visit relatives, always fancied staying at Tregenna Castle hotel so this time we did. Location was good and as hubby is a golfer the course was a bonus. We had a room that had been refurbished and were very pleased with the accomodation. Breafast was fine but we did not eat in the main restaurant so cannot comment on evening fare.

Staff were pleasant and accommodating, We would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPREssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Lovely setting but we did not think it was good value even though it was a Travelzoo deal. It smelt musty and on the Sunday evening we went down to dinner at 8pm and we were the last ones in the dining room and the food was cold, we complained and when we came to pay the bill we had not been charged for the meal. It also appeared that there were insufficient staff in the dining room especially at breakfast, people had to wait for the tables to be cleared and re-set, the staff they had on duty worked hard but couldn't cope. There was no entertainment at all even a pianist playing would have been nice. The rooms were cold and we had to go to bed to keep warm, background heating would have been good, it was also ccold in the dining room,

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neauve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

Wow, could not believe are eyes! After looking at all the review, my husband and I went with an open mind. The staff were friendly, and helpful. We had a sea view room. Bed linen crisp and white, (I am very fussy about the bed linen) Beds were comfortable Bathroom and toilet clean. The waiters and waitresses were always happy to help, bit slow on collecting the plates, but no problem. Food was plentiful and hot, with a good variety to choice from. Enjoyed the pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room a little smelly! My husband is a smoker; he felt, as did a few other guests we spoke to, the area should have a covered roof. Other wise, a 25th wedding anniversary to remember, a wonderful place to stay.we would go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nobbySlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews