We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Macmillan Ball Friday 19th November 2010”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 20 November 2010

Myself and 10 friends attended the Macmillan Ball on Friday 19th November 2010. We booked into a family room with was spacious and clean. At 7pm we attended the drinks reception in the Ggodrevy room and then went to the Trelawney room for our meal. My friends had roast beef and yorkshire pudding which they all loved and I had a vegetarian roast vegetables and goats cheese which was delicous. We had a great night in a lovely hotel. Roll on next year, we could not fault the food, service or acomodation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveshorses13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Management at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2010

Dear loveshorses13, thanks very much for your lovely review... all the staff at Tregenna are pleased that The Macmillan Ball was a huge success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,424 - 2,430 of 2,744 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2010

The setting for Tregenna is so lovely, the grounds, the view, the area. The building itself is delightful, and the reception area is also well maintained and restful. However, taking into account the age of the building does not always excuse some of the little things that are constantly overlooked. This is our third stay at Tregenna, and we always go when there is a rate reduction as we would not pay full price for the quality and standard of the rooms. Our room was large, with a comfortable bed, but the television was far too small and far away for comfortable viewing. The wardrobe had a damp musty smell, and was clearly old, tired, and of charity shop quality. The inner door to our room did not lock or close, and neither did the bathroom door. For our first two days the loo seat had a large black crack across it, however, this was replaced. I presume the cleaner reported this, (we didn't as we were curious to see how long it was left in that condition). The bathroom sink taps were odd, one large and one small and a different style? Towels were good, thick, soft and large, toiletries were abysmal, poor quality and minimal. However, going back to the room overall, the view was delightful, and the room was warm, and we slept well.
Breakfast was good, the chef was very nice and the food was good and plentiful. The breakfast dishes, plates, and cutlery were on the whole, stained with bits of dried food on. We appreciate this is due to the dishwasher, however, this should be checked before being put out for use. One morning we saw a table laid on top of a crumb laden table? This should have been swept off before laying a cloth over someone else's left over crumbs.
It sounds as though we didn't enjoy our stay, and actually we did. Its just these small discrepancies really do let this hotel down. It could be amazing, but attention to small detail is seriously lacking- and I would not accept that cost is an issue here. The rooms could be easily renovated at minimal expense as alot of the fault is just down to someone's poor taste and insight. If we had paid the full rate of £100+ a night I would certainly have complained, but at a rack rate of £70.00 it was somewhat acceptable.
Tregenna, dont let things slide, it would be such a shame.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen_Kingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Tregenna Castle Hotel is simply beautiful. Set in stunning, peaceful grounds.
The staff were approachable and couldn't do enough to help.
The accomodation was spotless & comfortable.

Would recommend Tregenna Castle to both family and friends - Excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirtys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Management. at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Dear Kirtys, thank you very much for posting this lovely review. We are pleased that you found the staff were approachable and couldn't do enough to help and that the accommodation was spotless & comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We enjoyed a week at Tregenna Castle at the apartments close to the golf course. Thankfully we had lovely weather for end October and had the chance to explore the Castle's beautiful grounds. The kids loved it and our apartment was spacious with 2 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms as well as a sleeper couch in the living area.

The only thing that bothered us slightly was the fact that they expect you to clean the place up after a week of staying there on a self-catering basis, which is not really something you are in the mood to do when on holiday. If you don't they reserve the right to add a couple of hundred pounds to your bill.

All in all, a very relaxing stay in a most beautiful location!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatexplorerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Management. at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Dear greatexplorerLondon, thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you thought our grounds are beautiful and you kids enjoyed the spacious apartment. We do not ask our valued guests to clean the self catering properties we simply ask via a polite notice for the rubbish to be put out for collection and any breakfast plates used to be washed up and put back into the cupboards. I hope this clarifies you’re your concern.

We are delighted that the weather was good for you and we look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Hotel is located in extensive, picturesque grounds on a hillside above St Ives. The views are great. We stayed two nights and found no major defects, although it was a bit lacking in imagination and attention to detail. Our spacious room was clean and well equipped, but painted a rather institutional yellow shade. Self service cooked breakfast was OK with good selction and fair quality, although they ran out of eggs one day, causing a queue. As others have commented, the machine dispensed fruit juice is peculiarly dreadful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Badelynge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Management. at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Dear Badelynge, thanks very much for you review. We are glad that you think we are a 'decent ' hotel. With regards to our fruit juice I really appreciate your feedback and can confirm this has been changed and upgraded. We totally agree with you that the views are indeed great. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Tregenna Castle is absolutely stunning. The main building is fantastic to be in and has a lovely bar and restaurant. The food is superb and is delivered by polite and competent staff. The grounds are huge and have loads of different walks through them with beautiful views of the harbour. This was our second visit and the apartment we stayed in was huge and very well equipped. My children enjoy the indoor swimming pool. My family and I had a wonderful holiday again and will continue to visit Tregenna for many years. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sister_Pinkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Management at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Dear Sister_Pinkie, thank you very much for your brilliant review of Tregenna Castle. We are so pleased that you and your family had such a nice holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit to us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

We have just returned from the Tregenna and were on the whole very pleased with our stay. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and our room was extremely comfortable and well equipped, albeit rather on the small side. The food was excellent. One or two small gripes - one was that all the doors seemed to be on heavy springs as when they closed they did so with speed, and as they are mostly heavy Victorian doors, I now bear a number of bruises on hands and hips from being struck by closing doors. I thought the pool could have been larger. It was lovely, but share it with about half a dozen kids on a half term break, and there was barely room to swing a cat.. Finally, although I did not request a room with a view, a solid wall outside was somewhat disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briannewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Management at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Dear briannewcastle, thanks for your review. We are grateful that on the whole you were very pleased with your stay. Thank you for your comments which we take on board. Next time you stay with us please ask for a sea view room. The views are fabulous. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.8 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Family Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £82 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing