We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it grew on me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tregenna Castle Resort
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 22 December 2010

I wasn't sure about this hotel when i first arrived - being used to modern contemporary hotels with a perfect finish. Bathrooms were a bit tired but i appreciate that to upgrade this type of property actually involves closing it down and spending fortunes - and lets face it, we're not talking about The Savoy here.
But after two days, i really liked it. Stunning grounds, great location and really very good facilities and staff. Would definately come back given the opportunity.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icemaiden72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,690)
There are newer reviews for Tregenna Castle Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,363 - 2,369 of 2,690 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2010

Good:
- Helpful staff
- Aesthetic location
- Easy atmosphere with relaxed communal areas
- Kid friendly

Bad
- Rubbery chicken quesadillas but reasonable steak
- Room tired and bathroom not properly cleaned
- Table tennis for the kids but no pool table
- Hotel policy of not allowing children under 16 alone in rooms.

This last point was not made clear on the website nor when we booked the family room by phone. We were only informed by reception when we asked for a listening service for dinner. We were told there was a baby sitting service and our number could be passed on. No call was forthcoming and so we ended just taking room service at extra cost with the kids and going to bed early.

This was tolerable for one night but had we been here longer, could had incurred substantial extra babysitter costs or many nights confined to our room. I objected to hotel policy dictating how I manage my kids at night and would much more comfortable to have my responsible 9 year old in charge with a mobile phone than an "offstead approved" complete stranger. Countless other hotels have a listening service and rely upon parental discretion. I'd be interested for management feedback as I suspect this rule represents a poorly considered risk averse policy which will act to deter family custom - certainly ours in future

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angusmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

I visited Tregenna over three years ago and returned for an overnight stay for my works Xmas do.

Driving up to the hotel my thoughts were, will it be better than last time. The grounds and drive way are lovely and we were lulled into a thinking we were going to have a great stay, how wrong we were.

Checking in was quick, handed the room key and was asked if we had been before, as we had, we were told 'You'll know were your room is then'.

On entering the 'Sea View Room' we were pleasantly surprised nice big flat screen tv and a distant view of St Ives between the outside bushes. Then the fun and games started. The bathroom was newish and underneath the toilet was a masserator. So after flushing the loo the masserator made a horrible churning noise, went to use the sink, again another horrible noise. Had a bath, on pulling the plug and emptying the water, you guessed it, an intermittant churning noise for about five minutes.

We heard next door arrive and yep they had a masserator in their bathroom too. If we had booked another night I would have left.

The food at the Xmas do was poor, especially the hard 'leather jacket' roast potatoes. To be fare to Tregenna it was for over one hundred people, and my company was paying for it. Again as last time the waiting staff wandered around carrying plates not really knowing what they were doing.

Buffet breakfast was an all you can eat salt fest and hard fried eggs, I could not eat it. The waitress offered us coffee but no mention of toast, so we left hungry.

On check out we handed in the key to the receptionist and was told 'nothing to pay' and she walked off. No, how was your stay, have a safe journey home, ect ect. I couldn't even complain about the bathroom.

I am sorry to say that my impression of Tregenna is still a bad one. Yes the gounds are fab and the holiday lodges look great, but the hotel is a big let down. If your unable to walk very far St Ives is an impossible long steep slog away.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bigwaverider9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

My fiance and i stayed for 2 nights at the end of November and from the second we walked in to the second we left we had nothing but exceptional service and the best 2 days! It's hard to pick any faults out of it but will say the room we were in can get really hot and had to open a window plus the water for the shower took a long time to warm up & only reached luke warm,these 2 things could never affect what was an enjoyable weekend in what is a 5 star hotel with brilliant golf course and plenty of other facilitys with a breathtaking view.

Lynn & Tracey on reception deserve a special mention as their knowledge and eagerness too help was brilliant as was the fantastic service and politeness of Simon in the restaurant.

Thank you all so much for everything.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishccfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I stayed here from 20th November 2010 for three Nights. The beautiful Chesterfield settees and the magnificant entrance hall and warmth not only heatwise, but by all the members of staff, especially Wendy on the Reception desk, are a delight. Breakfasts are served buffet wise and lovely and hot with everything that anyone would want. The views are to die for, there are lots of facilities ie golf course, swimming etc. Special gardens with giant umbrella plants and hydrangeas are really unusual. The bar and dining rooms are all regal and many weddings take place at this hotel. I have stayed in an apartment before and again this was exceptional, 3 bedrooms, one bath/shower and one shower room. I looked round another larger apartment which took at least 10 people with at least 3 bathrooms, four double bedrooms, disabled room with wet room (the cleaners were in at the time so we had a good look) and would definately stay in one of theses.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Setting and impressive grounds do not compensate for the tired interior in need of massive investment. Room poorly furnished, noisy and housekeeping poor. Common areas unppealing. Generally lacking any attention to detail.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jocky01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Good points
Room fine even though internal view
Clean and reasonably fitted out
Beautiful setting, views and grounds although steepish walk back up from St Ives
Helpful staff
Fab pedicure

Not so good
Bed and especially pillows could have been better
Dinner in restaurant bland but brilliant restaurants locally
Worst thing - piped radio in dining room at breakfast

Overall good value and would recommend and will stay again if in the area

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsDir, Management at Tregenna Castle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2010

Dear AnnR31, thanks very much for your review and we are glad that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. We take your notes on board and they have been shared with the team. We are really pleased that you thought the staff were helpful... we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.9 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
958 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
892 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Castle Resort

Address: Treloyan Avenue, St Ives TR26 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#9 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#9 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £99 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tregenna Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tregenna Castle is the ideal holiday choice and perfect venue for your Wedding, Conference or Banquet. The hotel has 80 rooms and a huge range of self catering options. There is a choice of restaurants, bars and swimming pools – complete with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. A trip to the fully equipped gym can be followed by a visit to the hair and beauty salon, or you can play a range of sports from tennis to croquet. The woodland walks and sub tropical gardens are much loved by visitors and locals and the estate has a challenging 18-hole Presidents Golf Course overlooking St Ives Bay. Catering for families, Castle Kids offers a range of day care activities and is approved by Ofsted as ‘outstanding’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tregenna Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Castle Resort St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing