We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We booked through groupon for a two night stay at the beginning of March. On booking I was not informed that work was ongoing at the hotel, but this in no way detracted from our stay.
I get the impression that a full upgrade from a faded, but grand hotel is taking place, and from what I saw a good job is being made. The only thing that I was not too keen on was the reception area. I wasn't sure at first if we had walked into the correct place, as it seemed to be more like someone's office than a reception. I wasn't keen that you had to stand and look down at the people at the desk. I prefer the standing face to face way. We got a lovely room overlooking the beach, with a balcony. The room was spacious, with a very comfortable bed, We had a meal one night, and although the menu was not as extensive as that show on the internet due to the work in the hotel, the food we got was very well cooked, and the waiting staff were very attentive. Breakfasts were a help yourself buffet style. The spa seemed to be very busy, and my massage was good.
The location is what makes this hotel, overlooking the town and bay, and just a short stroll into the centre of St Ives. I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I really appreciate the feedback. I am sorry that you didn't like the layout of our Reception area and will certainly feedback your comments to our interior designers. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, a little disappointed that you were not made aware of the works that were going in the hotel at that time, but that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We do hope you will visit the hotel again t some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    359
    219
    135
    64
See reviews for
212
834
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed for 4 nights on a half board basis. My husband booked it for our first year wedding anniversary and were very excited when were upgraded to a sea view room. When we got there we saw that there was an immense amount of work being carried out on the property. When we booked initially, we under the impression that it would not interfere with our stay. However, on a few occasions we were disturbed by workmen knocking on our door asking to have access to our balcony for work they were carrying out. It was fairly noisy with sound of drilling etc going on every day, not what we were expecting. On one day they were there for an hour. The rooms also need sound proofing, you can hear the footsteps of people walking up the stairs in the corridor from the bedrooms. The bed was also sinking/broken, however, this was immediately looked into and swapped upon informing reception the following day. The key would not open our room and again this was looked into promptly the staff.

On another note, despite all the issues, I have to give credit to the staff who are working extremely hard at this hotel. Had it not been for the great service we received, we would have left after the first night. The reception staff were helpful and dealt with any issues promptly. The staff really are trying.

David Pover (Manager in restaurant), well what can we say, exceptional customer service. We have rarely come accross such wonderful service and he is truly an asset to the business. Knowing that we were here for are anniversary, he went out of his way to ensure we had a great time and even got the chef to whip up a special desert for our evening. Thank you, David, and hopefully see you again in the near future. The food in the restaurant - absolutely amazing. We enjoyed the breakfast and evening dinner and so glad we booked the package for the 4 nights. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 206Aloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Thank you for your valued feedback, I am so sorry for the amount of disruption you encountered, this is not acceptable and I can assure you these issues have been addressed internally. I am so pleased that you found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful as this is certainly something that we are able to pride ourselves on and I will personally make sure that I pass on your comments to the team and to David in particular as without them all our guests would not have a positive experience in our hotel. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The rooms that are photographed on the hotel’s website are nothing like what we found on arrival. The room was old with tired fixtures, water marks on the wall paper and torn, faded curtains (see pictures attached). We booked a double room but were shown to a twin room. When we tried to change rooms we were told that the hotel was fully booked and that all that they could do was to zip the two mattresses together, which really is not the same.

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and went to the spa shortly afterwards to book some treatments for the weekend but were told that they were fully booked apart from one treatment slot at midday on Sunday.

The only redeeming feature was the food, which was consistently good throughout. Hats off to the chef.

The hotel has clearly redecorated central areas and some rooms with modern fixtures that it showcases on its website. However, to advertise (and charge for) one level of quality and then provide rooms so vastly inferior really questions the integrity of the business. More than disappointed, we were outraged by what seemed like calculated dishonesty and misrepresentation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 7 April 2012
Firstly thank you for taking the time to review the hotel on this site, we appreciate feedback from our guests and I am sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations. I would very much like to discuss these issues with you and ask that you contact me directly at jason.parry@harbourhotels.co.uk in order for me to be able to address these problems for you. I can assure you that it is never our intention to mislead our guests in anyway and I am so sorry that you felt that this was the case. I very much hope to hear from you in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucestershire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights on bed and breakfast basis having got a good deal through Late Rooms. This meant the room would not be the best which indeed was the case here. The room itself was fine, fairly big, clean, excellent bathroom but no seaview unless i stood on a chair and stuck my head out of the window and looked to the left. That was the only reason I say it was not the best so moral here is get a room with a view as the views from that side of the hotel are great.

Hotel stands proudly overlooking Porthminster Beach and the sea beyond. A truly great setting and makes it worthwhile staying here for that alone.

First impressions are good with very modern and stylish reception with equally excellent reception staff and so cannot understand some earlier comments from previous reviewers. Reception was friendly, cheerful, helpful and overall very pleasant.

On arriving by car you simply park outside albeit on double yellow lines which is not a problem as in moments the porter is out to park your car for you. It is either parked in a small covered car park beneath a building opposite or in a small parking area down the bottom of a hill just near the Portminster Beach cafe. Not a problem to me as they will fetch your car whenever it is required and park it again for you free of charge.

I cannot comment on the dining as we ate out each evening but this is no means a reflection of the restaurant. We did have breakfast which was excellent and of course with fantastic views of sun rise over the ocean. Waiting staff at breakfast were very efficient but perhaps lacked a smile apart from one very pleasant cheery girl.

Lounge bar was very pleasant to have a drink although for me like all hotels there were was no real ales on draught meaning i tended to sample the local pubs but of course missed out on the lovely views.

Ok were they any problems which would be odd to find the perfect place so yes there were some minor niggles:

No WI FI as advertised in room although being on holiday is hardly a problem but for those on business it could be an issue.

Telephone in room did not work - again I have mobile so no problem.

Building work next door but then thats progress so cant be helped and of course only temporary

Overall a very good well managed hotel supported by what appeared from our experience very good professional staff.

I would stay there again but only if i have a seaview room.

My rating is very good as a place has to be perfect to be classed as excellent but it is not short of being excellent.

Room Tip: Seaview is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
I wanted to drop you a short line to thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the St. Ives Harbour Hotel. It is lovely to hear that you had a most enjoyable stay. The Wi-Fi will be available in the hotel bedroom very soon and currently it is available in all of our public areas and I am so sorry that the telephone in your bedroom did not work, I have asked our Maintenance Team to check all of the telephones as a precautionary exercise and I thank you for bringing this to my attention. Finally we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and spa again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
264 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Our first day was more stressful than it should have been as we had to raise a number of problems, although some of the explanations made us laugh. Freezing cold showers "The plumber didn't do a re-set." No wi-fi signal "They are moving all the wires around." Hot wine "It's come from the other bar." To be fair though, the staff were all lovely and did always deliver in the end.

As another reviewer said, this is work in progress. There is a lot of investment going into this hotel so it's a fair bet it's going to be really top notch. In the meantime, you are expected to put up with some hassle but still pay the usual rate.

So do I recommend? Funnily enough, yes. Overall it's a very nice hotel with an excellent spa, clean spacious rooms and a good restaurant. And best of all, the location is hard to beat with superb views of the bay and a short steep walk into the heart of St Ives. If you can see the funny side whilst making sure you are not being messed around too much then you'll enjoy it.

A couple of bits of information / tips. Firstly, if you arrive by car, park on the double yellow lines outside the front door so the car valet can park it for you. (I'm not sure how anyone in a wheelchair would manage.) Secondly, if you need the Internet, don't accept a room on the third floor as there is no signal.

It will be interesting to see what it's all like when the work is finished as it does look very promising and we would have no hesitation choosing to stay here again with the right deal.

Given the few issues we experienced, we would probably rate it 3or4* but it could well be 4or5* when all the work is completed and the staff can focus on delivering top quality service rather than fire-fighting the problems.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the glorious bay which is also away from road traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil100652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel here on this site. Having only recently taken over the hotel, I really appreciate all feedback as it extremely useful in developing the aspects of the service we offer to our guests. I am so sorry that there were a number of stressful issues and I can assure we are working hard to address these as quickly as possible, I have disused your comments regarding the excuses being given for certain things with the team as this is certainly not the image we want our guests to take away from the hotel. I am really pleased that on the whole you did enjoy your stay with us and do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the St. Ives Harbour Hotel again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have just returned from a lovely stay,the staff across all departments very friendly and helpful. Our room was very spacious with a big bay window which overlooked Porthminster
Beach and across to St Ives harbour going to miss waking up to that view tomorrow! Good variety of choice at Breakfast and Dinner.
Yes there is refurbishment going on but as previous reviewer mentioned builders very respectful
of guests being around,enjoyed seeing the progress made each day.
Spa area very popular , advice booking before you arrive.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmblesideMillie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback, it is extremely important to us and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the St. Ives Harbour Hotel. Thankfully our fantastic views will be with us for many years to come and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back time and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bulgaria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel last week, we had a fantastic time. Our room overlooking the bay was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful. yes there was building work going on, but we found there was little disruption and the workmen were polite and always stopped what they were doing to open doors etc. The communal sitting areas are stunning. Slight disappointment was finding the beauty therapist was fully booked and had no slots available. Will definitely book these in advance next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruby96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay, I know the team here will be motivated by your praise and I am so pleased that you had such a lovely stay with us. Our spa can at times get quite busy and therefore I would always recommend booking any desired treatments prior to arrival to avoid disappointment, I am so sorry if this was not recommended upon booking. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing