We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would i return ? "ABSOLUTELY"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Well first of all nowhere on this large victorian stack could i see the name St ives harbour hotel,the sat nav took me to the porthminster hotel and i drove on thinking i had put the wrong post code in.I made a phone call when i could and was informed that this was indeed the place we had booked.So beware.I could see extensive work was going on to the outside so with a bit of luck the new signs will be up soon.Car parking over the road and undercover,if you can park you will find it a godsend,its up a slight slope and into a basement,you cant miss it.There was a member of staff over there who was friendly and ready to give us any assistance we wanted,its all a bit of a tight squeeze.
Reception and staff were lovely,just what you would want for a perfect book in.
Its obvious work is underway inside as well and when its all finished i think by Christmas it will be lovely,so take no notice of the carpets on the stairs etc.
We were allocated a delightful room on the third floor which overlooks the main street.It was spacious and modern,with a large beautiful bathroom.Massive white fluffy bath sheets and a spectacular shower.Also a nice touch was small lights fitted into the bath panel on the floor,a great help when visiting the bathroom at night.One small little temporary problem in the bathroom was that a small piece of net curtain could be fixed up whilst building work is in progress,you can be seen by the lads on the scaffolding at the moment.
The bed,was pure luxury,feather pillows and feather mattress topper made for a great nights sleep.
When the apartments are occupied over the road i think net or vertical blinds will be needed,the roman blinds now fitted wont be private enough.
The dining room,maybe the best in St Ives,enough said.
The cooked items for breakfast are freshly cooked and tasty,but on the very small side.The toast is like a crispbread,so beware if you order something on toast,very measly portion indeed.
However there is also a table groaning with all other kinds of cold breakfast goodies to fill up on,so didnt go hungry.
The lounge and bar is most relaxing,dont worry if it rains,what a lovely place to sit and have a chat or read whilst enjoying that view.Didnt get to use the spa or gym,had enough exercise walking back up from the town.
We wish we were still there,loved it !

Room Tip: get there early,well before the time your allowed to book in,say 11am,then you will get a nice parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mediterraneanmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our refurbishment programme did not detract from your enjoyment. We hope to welcome you back to our little corner of paradise in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,149 - 1,155 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Lovely Hotel, even with the renovations that where in progress in the public areas. Our room was a small suite, with a balcony and view of the golden sands below. Big four poster bed.
Restaraunt overlooked the beach and the food was good, tasty but of the small and pretty style.
Staff very attentive. Wine was reasonably priced. A short cut to the beach and harbour through the garden was handy.

Room Tip: try to get sea view, and room 117 the best. Short cut to beach through hotel garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CraterCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Thank you for your generous review and we look forward to seeing you again if you return to our lovely part of the world.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Previously the Porthminster Hotel, and now rebranded as The St Ives Harbour Hotel, it is part of the Harbour Hotels chain with the best of the bunch being the Christchurch Harbour Hotel. The St Ives hotel has a lot to do to mirror the standards achieved at the Christchurch. Whilst the main areas are now refurbished our room was not and the stained carpet and wallpaper did little to inspire a return visit. Staff training has not yet reached the level that matches the sister hotels in the group, and the current parking arrangements are below par for an hotel aiming for the premier division. I have marked the Spar low because of poor training.
The good points have to include the stunning views across St Ives bay and the quality of the food although I do wish that they would stop using roofing slates instead of plates, that idea is very old school now and ought to be dropped. A small point but I have to mention it, they actually run out of eggs at breakfast!
Would I stay again, yes but only if I was guaranteed a refurbished room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirstStrategy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that our refurbishment programme detracted from your enjoyment. I can assure you the points you have raised have been addressed. If you would like to contact me directly we can discuss your points in more detail on jason.parry@harbourhotels.co.uk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My daughter had her wedding reception here in March and had a very special day. The weather was perfect and the photos taken on the beach looked like the Carribbean. A lot of refurbishment was going on but we truly didn't notice it. The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The meal was delicious and hot. All the reception rooms have been decorated and the view from the main reception room and restaurant are spectacular.

Room Tip: Dont accept the first price you see as we found the tarriffs changed on a daily basis. If you can af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesnoless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your special day and we look forward to seeing you again in the future – perhaps an Anniversary visit?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked a weekend at the St Ives Harbour Hotel through Living Social which we thought was a great deal. 2 nights bed and breakfast with dinner and a spa treatment. The weekend got off to a bad start but in the end was such an enjoyable time.

So first the bad bits.We arrived at a busy time and when I walked into the reception no one greeted me and one of the staff was tapping away on the computer and didn't acknowledge me. I had to ask if this was the reception only to be told the receptionist would be along in a bit. She was lovely but was obviously rushed off her feet. A supporting member of staff would be a recommendation. Our room was very modern looking but the fixtures and fittings were not practical for a hotel and we had no hot water and no phone so I had to go to reception in my wet swimming clothes to ask for help. Assistance came after a second request and then the bath wouldn't fill. We were moved rooms and the issue resolved.

So onto the good bits. The location is fantastic and the building works didn't affect us. The dinner staff are amazing and the food was delicious. The breakfast was hearty and fresh and of a really high standard and the view from the dining room is breathtaking. You could sit there all night looking at the bay! The bar is well stocked with lovely wines and the bar manager has obviously brought some quality beverages to the hotel. The spa is relaxing and although we didn't quite get the spa treatment we were expecting it was enjoyable.

I was told they are having a second designer in to finish the rooms to acceptable standards. Once this has been done this is a lovely hotel and worth a visit. Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wilkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We really do appreciate our guests’ feedback to help us maintain and improve our standards of service. I am sorry your break got off to a bad start. We do endeavour at all times to provide a welcoming relaxing customer journey for all our guests and regret that, on this occasion, our welcome was not up to expectations. I am pleased your issues were resolved in a satisfactory manner. I do hope you will afford us the opportunity, by returning to visit us, to demonstrate how your comments have been taken on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

we attended for a wedding which the hotel managed very well. The staff were friendly and attentive, there is a fundamental lack of car parking although you dont need to get round by car once it has been parked. we paid £211 a night for a coupes room which is very over priced for the room and hotel which is at best basic, i would look round next time and find a beter hotel at a cheaper price. Food very good but not a lot of it, i ate and was still hungry

Room Tip: you can find better cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Further to your review here, I thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the wedding. I am sorry that you felt that the hotel needed a "spruce up", we have been undergoing some considerable redecoration and refurbishment work at the hotel over the last couple of years which has meant that all of the public areas and some bedrooms have been completed. Further works will continue to improve the rest of the bedroom stock at the hotel during the rest of this year; these works will not have any impact on our guests and will help to complete a beautiful hotel to complement our fantastic position in. Should you be visiting St. Ives again in the not too distant future please do contact us directly in order to make sure you get our very best available price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just got back this afternoon from The St Ives Harbour Hotel and myself and my husband really enjoyed our stay here.

The hotel is in the process of being refurbished and there are small problems which need to be sorted such as, they should tell you when booking that you need to pull up on the pavement outside the hotel and the porter will park it for you, we had to drive around twice and then had the phone the hotel to find out where to go.

The carpet up the stairs looks tired, and the pool area is beautiful until you look up at the ceiling the paint is flaking off which is a real shame.

I had paid a extra for a sea view room, when we got the room we did have that but I thought we would have a balcony, (which to be fair was my fault because I assumed it would have one) . when I spoke to the deputy manager he was fantastic and apologised for me feeling disappointed and said he would not charge us for the upgrade. He was really lovely and sorted out the problem very well and quickly.

The room was lovely esp the bathroom, the food and wine in the restaurant was very good, the staff were friendly and service good. We had breakfast in bed the second morning which was also lovely.

The situation of the hotel is perfect as it has great views and its in easy walking distance to the town centre.

This place really will be a 5 star rating once its sorted out its little problems, but on the whole a really enjoyable stay and we would come back again.

Room Tip: Room 305 was really lovely, it has lovely views but no balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jasonparry55, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel here on this site. Having only recently taken over the hotel, I really appreciate all feedback as it extremely useful in developing the aspects of the service we offer to our guests. I am sorry that there were a few niggly issues and I can assure we are working hard to address these as quickly as possible and do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the St. Ives Harbour Hotel again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
276 reviews
21.6 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
22.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £111 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing