We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We returned after 18 months after recommending friends. The new foyer and spa are lovely and reminiscent of top end Thai hotels. The gym has the best view ever with treadmill overlooking the sea. Breakfast and Dinner staff engaging, friendly and relaxed. Quality breakfast - not too big. Lovely quality dinner. Our rooms were big and had great views - we got moved from the first room due to noise from builders, but this isn't a bad thing - the rooms are all getting beautiful makeovers.

Really comfortable beds

The remaining rooms are lacking polish but still lovely for the rates.

Downsides - I found the welcome a little lacklustre and unfriendly, no newspaper offered (which would have been appreciated). I asked for an ironing board in the evening and it didn't arrive until I requested again in the morning. The funniest thing ever was - we returned to our car on the last day after a walk around town - I asked in the foyer for the man to help us down in the lift (car lift needs and operator). I think I may have disturbed his lunch because he totally blanked us. I said thank you. I tried to engage in conversation and when on the ground floor and we thought he would help us reverse onto the road but just left us without a word - stroppy. Maybe I disturbed his lunch, maybe I stayed too long after checkout - everyone has an off day I guess. These pretty, trivial criticisms do not detract from an always lovely experience.

This is a beautiful (improving), hotel, the common areas and bar are warm and smart. Best views ever and still our favourite hotel. Lacking the polish of the Christchurch Harbour Hotel because of room decor and slightly marred service but I don't care. Brilliant - thanks

Room Tip: new rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeoff42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor, I am happy to hear you had a lovely experience during your stay. I will forward your comments onto the team here. All reviews help us to improve the service we provide.
We look forward to seeing you again when our improvements are in place.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,037 - 1,043 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed at the hotel last week with my partner on a Dinner, bed and breakfast tarriff, the location is lovely and staff are wonderful.

The down side I would say was the room. It was nicely decorated but the bed was quite small and uncomfortable (didnt sleep very well), the room was very hot even after switching off the radiator and opening the window and there were quite a few cracks and dents in the bath.

Other than that it was good, the public areas of the hotel were really well decorated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAVVHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of refurbishing all of the rooms and hope that you will visit again.
Kind Regards
Peter Holgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights ,February on business. Located just outside st ives a five minutes walk down the hill. Great views of the beach from the bar and the restaurant. The car park for the hotel is down a small steep hill near the beach, park outside the hill and seek assistance. I had a room to the front of the hotel so no spectacular sees view. Small clean , the only issue was with the shower controls funky modern completely unfathomable.....bathrooms are small .

Food in the restaurant was well cooked and tasty evening meal £19 for two courses £25 for three .
Staff were very attentive food was good breakfast was equally as good great views watching the sun come up .. Would stay here again.

There is a great looking spa but never used it maybe next time ....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotogni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for the very positive review.
We hope to see you at St Ives Harbour Hotel again soon.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We really enjoyed our stay but the room was a let down and we had to complain it was not that clean, carpet was stained as was wallpaper. This did not reflect the rooms shown on the website. The staff explained that they were in the middle of a refurbishment and I have to say the parts of the hotel they have done are lovely.
The staff are helpful and polite and to be fair they gave us a reduction after we complained about the room. Breakfast was good and it is convenient for walking into town, the parking at the hotel is not good really. We would stay there again once the rooms ate all updated.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudgie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We value your custom and your feed back helps us to improve the service we provide.
We are in the prcess of refurbishing all of the rooms and we hope to see you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a 2 night, dinner, bed and breakfast stay with 2 treatments per booked in the spa, for my partners 40th birthday. The hotel is in a beautiful location and I had booked a sea view room. On arrival we were greeted in the parking bays outside of the hotel by a very friendly man who directed us to where we could park and assisted us into the hotel with our luggage. The ladies on reception were also very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is beautiful and the spa facilities stunning. The restaurant serves amazing food both for dinner (which is excellent value) and at breakfast, again with such hardworking staff who seem to be there from dusk to dawn but always are welcoming with a smile on their faces! The spa treatments were excellent with lovely, friendly therapists. Unfortunately the hotel, restaurant and spa were all let down by our room! It was very dated and in need of a refurb! The walls and carpets were stained (but otherwise clean), the bed was old and creaked at the slightest movement and the headboard loose. I also had paid extra to upgrade to a sea view room but the window was very dirty and spoilt the lovely view. I had paid for a bottle of champagne to be in our room on arrival for my partners birthday but I had to go to reception to request it, as it wasn't there ob arrival. This took the fizz out of the surprise! Whilst we felt the room let the rest of the hotel down we would without a shadow of a doubt return to The Harbour Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review all of your comments are valued and help us to improve for future visits. Thank you for your positive feedback, and I am very sorry you had the issue with the Champagne on arrival, all of your feedback will be passed on to the team.
We are in the process of refurbishing all of the bedrooms and we hope that on your next visit you will see the improvments that have been made.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The staff in this hotel are what make it special along with the location of St Ives and the beautiful views. The room was light and airy and the bed was extremely comfortable but it did need decorating. However, everything else made up for that. It was spotlessly clean and offered everything we needed. We left walking on cloud 9 and looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Room 104 was quiet with a beautiful view over the beach through a large bay window. The bed was so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaqStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Thank you for all your possitive feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your kind words onto the team here.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Peter Holgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends. Hotel far exceeded our expectations not least because the staff were without exception so obliging and friendly.
Beautiful, stylish hotel with stunning views . Exceptional value out of season. Hope to return soon with my family but will probably stay in one of the super luxurious apartments the hotel owns next door.

Room Tip: Refurbished sea view rooms or book a whole apartment for a week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iztay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. Your comments are much appreciated by all of the staff, it really does make a difference to the team when they read about such great feedback. We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon. Kind regards Peter Holgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
289 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £100 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing