We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, friendly staff and lovely interior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 8 March 2013

So a get away from work... What a lovely location. So we arrived and what better to do was to have a massage... It was lovely...they got to all the knots!!! We were able to check in early, they parked our car for us. Fantastic!!! We wouldn't go back to eat as we found it bland and the breakfast was greasy. As the gym is right beneath the restraunt you could hear the drum and bass at breakfast luckily we had no hang overs.

Room Tip: Select a sea view room as we stayed in 308 we were looking at the back of the attached building to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you very much for your recent trip advisor review. All guest feedback is so valuable to our business. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Peter Holgate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 1,526 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013

Just returned from five excellent nights. The staff were all friendly and helpful and cannot fault the service. One constructive criticism was the fact that there are no bedside lamps (apart from an over bed light that you have to climb up to switch on and off) so should one of you prefer to read while the other sleeps it makes it difficult. Also the plug sockets were in odd places none accessible near the dressing table for a hair dryer or the kettle (which had to stand on the floor). We were in room 305 where the bed was very comfortable but the room was cold but then so was the weather! We will be recommending and staying again, thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to hear positive feedback regarding the staff and service.
All of your points will be taken on board and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards

Peter Holgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at the Hotel, and have to agree with another post on here that the room was very cold when we arrived. We stayed in 307 a lovely big room, recently refurbished, but sadly in Brown and Beige and was very dull indeed, with 2 black and white prints on the wall, shame, could be such a nice room. Our sea view was lovely but the window was high, you had to stand to look out of it. The bed was amazing! Big and very comfy, very good bedding too, and a decent hairdryer. Bathroom was good, clean and fresh, with a good shower.
The common areas were beautifully done and the hotel was very clean. We had good food in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast. The local produce menu was very good value at £20 for 2 courses and changed daily. I cannot praise the staff highly enough, despite seeming to be constantly on duty they were always helpful and cheerful. The young lady that serviced our room was lovely, and Megan on reception was very helpful answering my many queries before our arrival. St Ives is an easy walk down the hill so we didn't go out in the car much, but the car parking is handled very well.
On the whole this is a lovely Hotel, the views are stunning, and it's location is brilliant. We were made to feel very welcome. Just a few tweaks to be sorted.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor, I am happy to hear you had a lovely stay at St Ives Harbour Hotel. I will forward your lovely comments onto the team here.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel and booked a 'relaxing' spa day but found the spa pool area allowed very young children in at certain times. The children were understandably excited with lots of jumping in the pool and squealing, not what you would expect in a spa. Indeed the website states that spa days and certain treatments are not available to under 16s, this is very misleading. We were informed that the pool was open to hotel guests from 10am till 11am and after 3.30pm, had we been told this on booking we most certainly would NOT have booked. The lunch offered was in a beautiful dining room, which, incidentally meant a walk through the hotel in your spa dressing gown, then sitting in the dining room with other people in normal clothes. It did make us feel a little uncomfortable. The food, however, was poor and disappointing. I ordered a plain Caesar salad but it came with loads of ham and no Parmesan. The croutons were rubbery and the salad had obviously been pre-dressed and was limp and tasteless, it was inedible. The bread and butter pudding looked really nice, but looks most definitely proved deceiving, I've never had to cut a bread and butter pudding with such force as it was stale, again, inedible. The staff at the hotel were very apologetic and offered to change the food but as my other two friends were already eating I declined the offer. We did speak to the duty manager who offered to reduce the price of the day and only charged us for the actual spa treatment we had, which, incidentally were nice. Overall a huge disappointment and we most certainly wouldn't be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I'm sorry to hear about your experience in the spa. The Spa however is part of the hotel where we welcome families; this means we do have to accommodate them also and by offering allocated children's times in the swimming pool, we try to please everyone.
I sincerely apologies for your dissapointment during your visit and can assure you all of the points raised in your review will be looked into and bought to all those concerned attention.


Kind Regards

Peter Holgate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Having stayed at the Christchurch, Dorset,equivalent of this hotel we were expecting a whole deal more. It failed to impress even with its swanky reception area. Our romantic classic room turned out to be a huge freezing cold family room with 4 twin beds, with a serious lack of heating and a beautiful tiled bathroom floor that needed slippers to walk on. Our whole corridor had a cold feel about it. When we asked reception to sort the bed out they did by pushing the two beds together and supplying a double duvet. Their response to the heating was to provide 2 dimplex heaters...
Breakfast was part self-serve, part order. Service was slow and hubby's to order full English was sent back as it was cold...sense a theme coming on here!! The following morning breakfast was better and warmer although not as piping hot as you would hope for.
The spa facilities were good, clean and warm and ample space. Our massages hit the spot tho and although they did try and charge us for 5 the problem was rectified immediately.
On a plus side the hotel was spotless, the staff cheery and happy to help and the valet parking brilliant. Our room altho cold had wonderful sea views and anever hopeful seagul waiting for that all important biscuit perched outside......

Room Tip: Make sure you get the room you booked and remember your thermals!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate all feedback and are constantly evaluating, learning and improving as a result. I sincerely apologise for any poor service that you received across your stay, I can assure you that we will be assessing all of the points raised in your review. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our cheery and happy staff, I will forward your kind words onto the team. We would encourage you to return to the hotel in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards Peter Holgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We returned after 18 months after recommending friends. The new foyer and spa are lovely and reminiscent of top end Thai hotels. The gym has the best view ever with treadmill overlooking the sea. Breakfast and Dinner staff engaging, friendly and relaxed. Quality breakfast - not too big. Lovely quality dinner. Our rooms were big and had great views - we got moved from the first room due to noise from builders, but this isn't a bad thing - the rooms are all getting beautiful makeovers.

Really comfortable beds

The remaining rooms are lacking polish but still lovely for the rates.

Downsides - I found the welcome a little lacklustre and unfriendly, no newspaper offered (which would have been appreciated). I asked for an ironing board in the evening and it didn't arrive until I requested again in the morning. The funniest thing ever was - we returned to our car on the last day after a walk around town - I asked in the foyer for the man to help us down in the lift (car lift needs and operator). I think I may have disturbed his lunch because he totally blanked us. I said thank you. I tried to engage in conversation and when on the ground floor and we thought he would help us reverse onto the road but just left us without a word - stroppy. Maybe I disturbed his lunch, maybe I stayed too long after checkout - everyone has an off day I guess. These pretty, trivial criticisms do not detract from an always lovely experience.

This is a beautiful (improving), hotel, the common areas and bar are warm and smart. Best views ever and still our favourite hotel. Lacking the polish of the Christchurch Harbour Hotel because of room decor and slightly marred service but I don't care. Brilliant - thanks

Room Tip: new rooms only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeoff42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor, I am happy to hear you had a lovely experience during your stay. I will forward your comments onto the team here. All reviews help us to improve the service we provide.
We look forward to seeing you again when our improvements are in place.
Kind regards
Peter Holgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I stayed at the hotel last week with my partner on a Dinner, bed and breakfast tarriff, the location is lovely and staff are wonderful.

The down side I would say was the room. It was nicely decorated but the bed was quite small and uncomfortable (didnt sleep very well), the room was very hot even after switching off the radiator and opening the window and there were quite a few cracks and dents in the bath.

Other than that it was good, the public areas of the hotel were really well decorated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAVVHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of refurbishing all of the rooms and hope that you will visit again.
Kind Regards
Peter Holgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
289 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £100 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing