We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel has very nice public areas, a very good spa and generally good competent staff.
The only downside we found was a very small bed in our (standard) room.
When we arrived we were greeted by two very good members of staff one of whom helped us to park the car using their car lift.
Help with baggage was offered immediately.
The room we had was a standard double, clean and with nice bathroom, shower gels etc.
The only reason I would not give this hotel five stars is a small bed and small television.
Having said this I suspect if one went for a superior room this would not be a problem.
The health facilities are excellent with a reasonable sized swimming pool, a large Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and very well kitted out gym.

Breakfast the following day was again excellent in a very nice restaurant overlooking the sea and beach. Full English was served with a continental buffet and the usual supply of coffee and juices etc.

Overall an excellent hotel - thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pipehitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

904 - 910 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in november and enjoyed every minute right from the start with valet parking and a welcoming check in. We had arrived early and had booked sunday lunch so we went into the restaurant and enjoyed the 3 course lunch. The staff were marvellous and nothing was too much trouble. The spa was superb and the staff excellent. Can highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: go for a sea view -they overlook the beach and look down towards the harbour.Always something to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a fantastic 5 star review on trip advisor. We appreciate all feedback here at the hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you at the Hotel again soon in the not too distant future. All the best, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a bit of confusion before arriving (a trifling matter about the spa break package inclusive bits and bobs) but the matter was cleared up before we arrived by hotel manager Peter H. When we arrived (a little earlier than check-in at 3pm) we were told the room was ready and that we'd been given an upgrade to a sea view room, which I would highly recommend - the view of Porthminster beach is spectacular! We were really pleased with the staff and the service, everyone was attentive and pleasant. Travelling out of season always helps as there's more time for everyone!

The spa has great facilities (I should imagine there's a struggle for loungers by the pool in the summer however), the espa treatments are second to none and the staff are really relaxed and welcoming.

Overall we were really pleased with the hotel and couldn't understand negative reviews about staff, they were a joy to deal with. Any niggles (room not serviced on first morning) and small requests (robe and slippers) were dealt with immediately and with no fuss at all. It was a really relaxing trip - just what I wanted at 7 months pregnant.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Plump for a sea view, you won't be disappointed, whatever the weather - the wilder the better in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDLeatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Thank you for the lovely review Emily- I am glad you had a great stay at the Hotel it was a pleasure to meet you. I wish you well with you impending new arrival, 2014 will certainly be special! The picture you took of the rainbow overlooking the Hotel as had over 100 likes now - thanks again for sending it to me. Hope to see you at the Hotel again soon. All the very best Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We took advantage of the 'Autumn weekend break' offered by the hotel and upgraded to a room with a (wonderful) sea view.
It was a perfect short break and St Ives (a short & easy walk downhill) was quiet and welcoming. The beautiful beach is an easy walk down steps or down hill (and then level into St Ives through a maze of tiny and interesting streets).
We also took the bus (bus stop outside the hotel) into Penzance and enjoyed both the travel (great views of St Michael's Mount) and shops and sights of Penzance.
The hotel staff were friendly, very helpful and efficient and the bedroom beautifully appointed and clean (the windows sparkled, thus showing the wonderful view to great effect). The breakfasts were beautifully cooked with generous portions and a great choice on offer (again, wonderful views from the dining room....) and the evening meal excellent (no view as it was dark!).
The swimming pool is a great asset and was enjoyed on two occasions though, was closed on Saturday evening due to chlorine content problems.
Parking is unusual (but efficient) - the friendly Porter takes care of your luggage and parks your car in the hotel car park,across the street, by means of a car lift!
Great stay, lovely hotel, helpful staff, excellent food and wonderful sea views - Thank You for the perfect weekend break!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view! The gentle noise of the sea was lovely to sleep with.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful 5 star review. We really appreciate all feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff regularly read the reviews and it is always great to get such positive feedback from our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. All the best, Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Stay for 1 night here. Receptionist very helpful and friendly . Staff seems to be proud of the hotel and show you around. View from the dinning room is absolutely stunning. Spa looks great, will enjoy my treatments. Parking is a bit taff , very step small way to go down, highlight the porter beings your car back for you to the hotel. Will come back.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Kikifoodandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Kind Regards, Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we stayed at this hotel on the 3rd nov for a spa treat dinner bed and breakfast;the spa treatment was amazing,room 109 was so lovely clean warm and welcoming .the only problems we had was the restraunt, evening meal ,was fine but they had sold out of what we wanted unusual for such a good hotel,breakfast was a disaster,hairs in the food ,ok the waiter took it away and brought a fresh one,but the comment that they would do a dna test on the hair did not go down well ,although apart from this the service was good,it would be nice also to see the staff dressed more formally one waiter looked like a bouncer from a night club ,all staff dressed in black,maybe a nice white shirt and tie would not go amiss,and female staff in black leggings and black tops not nice ,its a lovely restraunt,so please brighten up your staff,and teach the guys to smile it goes a long way

Room Tip: room 109 was just right facing the beach very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review after your short break here at the St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa. I am delighted you enjoyed your spa treatment. We appreciate all feedback and are constantly evaluating, learning and improving as a result. I sincerely apologise for any poor service that you received during your stay, we work very closely with our staff to ensure high standards and I can assure you that we will be assessing all of the points raised in your review. We would encourage you to return to the hotel in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I went to St. Ives for a week and I stayed at the Harbour Hotel & Spa. Starting from the beginning of my stay there, check in went smoothly with no complications at all. One downfall to the hotel was there was only one elevator that did not access the majority of the hotel. So my family and I had to lug our luggage through what seemed to be a maze of hallways and stairs - but that wasn't that big of a deal. We had a suit room, it was very very nice and very clean. One downfall to the room was the bathroom, the decor was lovely and modern, but the shower pressure was next to none at all. We asked the front desk to fix it, they sent someone up to fix it, it still didn't work after. So the whole trip we had to shower in the Spa because there was little water coming out of the shower.

The Terrace restaurant at the hotel was lovely. The food was consistent and great every night. I highly recommend the fish and chips and the tomato and basil soup. The service was very slow, at breakfast and at dinner, one evening we waited 45 minutes for our food. However, the staff at the restaurant and throughout the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

The Spa was very nice, I only used the gym and the pool. The gym was small but very nice. It overlooked the sea so when your running on the treadmill you have a beautiful view of the sea. The pool is mainly a workout pool, it is not deep so don't dive in! The steam room and sauna were fantastic.

Overall, my stay at the Harbour Hotel was great. A few minor problems but other then that I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for rating us a fantastic 5 stars on trip advisor. I am really sorry to hear of the few problems you had whilst here at the hotel and I can assure you that we will be assessing all of the points raised in your review. However, I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
296 reviews
1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £101 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing