We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat visitor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel just gets better! The accommodation is superb with beautifully decorated, well appointed rooms. A very varied menu offers scrumptious food with excellent flavours and textures. The extremely helpful and genuinely friendly staff make you feel very welcome. The amazing views and perfect location (close enough to the beautiful town of St. Ives to walk if desired), along with the indoor pool and jacuzzi all add up to make it a very 4/5* experience.
The lounges and bar area are a delight to sit in and while away a wet afternoon or partake of an early evening drink. The 1930's/40's/50's black and white prints, which adorn many of the walls, enhance the decor and ambience. My husband and I had a lovely pre-Xmas break at very reasonable rates. My aunt joined us for an evening and was equally as impressed! We will return!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janjones55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Many thanks for such a glowing review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I recall you spending the day in the lounge writing all your Christmas cards while watching the rain beat against window! It was a pleasure to meet you and hope to see you at the Hotel again soon. All the very best Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

925 - 931 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

My wife & I spent a long weekend at the Harbour Hotel & Spa in St. Ives. We spent an afternoon in the spa, I enjoyed the pool & jacuzzi but the pool was quite cold which disappointed my wife greatly. We paid for dinner, bed & breakfast for two nights. The breakfast was very nice and for a change this hotel didn't attempt to serve up haute cuisine which leaves you searching for the nearest Chinese takeaway or fish & chip shop. The portions were plentiful and tasty. In saying that, I did order stuffed sardine starter & was served with a cold meat platter, I didn't bother to complain because I was hungry by the time it arrived. Our second night was a Sunday & the hotel didn't provide enough staff to serve the number of diners & subsequently we had to wait over an hour for our main course. The Omni Royal Hotel in New Orleans still holds the 'couldn't swing a cat' award for the smallest room we've ever stayed in but this establishment runs it a close second. One suggestion I have is, if you have such small rooms, is to not fill what available space you have with chairs that you're unable to sit in because the bed is wedged up against them. I would certainly go back to St. Ives but not to this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IAIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on the Hotel. I am please that many aspects of your stay you enjoyed. I am sorry that the room allocated was not to your liking and only wished you had raised this at the time so we could have looked into relocating you to another room during your stay. I sincerely hope you do return to St Ives and hope that if you do, you contact me personally so I can offer you a spacious , recently refurbished room. Kind regards Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel was absolutely beautiful. The rooms are trimmed with high quality bed linen, the decor is beautiful, the bathrooms are modern and the breakfast is very good with a great view.

The staff were very friendly and always smiling.

I would absolutely love to come back to this hotel and recommend it to anybody, as it was a pleasure to stay here.

The only criticism is the wifi and how slow and inconsistent it was. In the context of an otherwise excellent experience, this is minor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequentFlyer1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Many thanks for such a fabulous review, I will ensure all your kind comments are passed onto the team who will be delighted. Hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed here Saturday & Sunday 14th & 15th December for my hubbys birthday.

The hotel is lovely, great layout, location is good for the town. Its a bit of a hill walking back up so be prepared. Car parking is okay when you find out where to drop your car. We missed the turning and it took 20 mins to refind it. It needs signage (large enough to read as you drive by).

The room was small, or too much furniture. Whichever. There was no room to move easily. The room was cold first night then I realised there was a heater hidden behind 2 chairs in front of the window. Bathroom was cold. Swimming pool was cold and for a spa hotel I expect at least warm.

Its a nice hotel, but needs tweeks to make it perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay at the Hotel. The size of the rooms do vary as this is an old building, had you enquired at reception I am sure we could have relocated you to another larger room to make your stay complete. All the Best
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I previously reviewed a visit to St. Ives Harbour Hotel a few months ago, there were a few things that let it down for me, but this visit was fantastic.
My partner had booked a Spa Day for us and we couldn't fault it. Staff, service, experience... All 5 star.

Thankyou.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BriFantana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Many thanks for the 5 star review and kind comments in your recent post. I am delighted you enjoyed your Spa Day experience at the Hotel and hope that we will see you soon. Kind regards
Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Bewildering parking arrangements , apparently using a car lift . Small room , very small bathroom , I had to climb over the loo to get into the shower. Right over the road so traffic noise interferes. Very slow WiFi . Dinner service was exceptionally slow food ok though if a little cold . Good breakfast . Lots of stairs to tackle

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your trip advisor review. We appreciate all feedback and are constantly evaluating, learning and improving as a result. Valet parking is available to assist you with the car lift. It is an old building and the rooms all differ in size, however this is related to the various room categories in the tariff. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards, Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We had the most amazing time, thank you for arranging such a great stay, it was amazing, great food, friendly staff, pool and jet brilliant and it made us all feel very Christmassy, shall look forward to the spring break and sorry for leaving dinner table messy : ) 10/10 to Duty Manager
Big love from Brighton

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you very much to taking the time to write us such a wonderful 5 star review. We appreciate all feedback here at the hotel and our staff will be extremely pleased and motivated by your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Merry Christmas, all the best, Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £112 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing