We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South Bound to Suarez”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“South Bound to Suarez”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A nicely furbished hotel in a great location. Fabulous views and a lovely spa let down by many factors. We had a room with a nice view but it was very pricey at £250per night, nothing was replaced after the first night. The service in the restaurant was surly at best and some of the staff looked completely dis-interested. This did improve the following night but the presentation and delivery of the food remained poor. Luckily we had a nice stay and the rest of St Ives made up for this Hotel. The football was disappointing as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rugbymikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you had a nice stay here in St Ives. I have noted your comments and will be discussing them with the relevant departments as all feedback both positive and negative is required to grow a business. Kind regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    363
    224
    137
    64
See reviews for
216
842
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The sea view rooms from this hotel high above the beach at St Ives offer a truly magnificent panorama of the bay. When booking, definitely book sea view as the road is close on the other side of the hotel. Breakfast is good, dinner so-so and we found much better food in the middle of the town.

Most of the rooms are extremely nicely decorated as are all the public spaces in the hotel.

Would definitely recommend this hotel in a town where quality accommodation doesn't appear to be plentiful.

Room Tip: Ask which room you are being allocated and check the size of the bed in that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanTraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay here at the hotel, the views truly are wonderful as we are situated in the perfect location. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. All the best, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were for 3 nights at the Harbour Hotel and absolutely enjoyed our stay.
The first night we had a room on the ground floor to the street which we changed for the other two nights. The room changing was very easy and the no problem at all. The "new" rom was just brilliant with view to the sea side.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and it also was no problem to get breakfast before the regular time as we had to leave early for a day trip!
I can just recommend this hotel as we really loved it to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mela40629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for writing such a great 5 star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with at the Hotel. The views from the sea facing bedrooms are stunning I am glad you agree. The staff will be please to read your compliments about them, it is always good for team morale. I sincerely hope you will return to the Hotel again soon. Kind regards Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Visited the spa with my partner for a treat on our holiday - did the £59 deal with the 25 minute treatment and it was lovely! The facilities were amazing even if the sauna was out of order (should have been notified of this when booking) and the staff were lovely and very helpful!

However, with part of the deal is a two course lunch or afternoon tea. We chose the afternoon tea and spent 10 minutes wondering around the restaurant and terrace/bar area to find a single member of staff to help us.
When a staff member did eventually appear he didn't seem to care about us so we chose our table, he took our drink order and the hot chocolate I ordered had burnt milk so was undrinkable and tasted horrible.
Nobody checked to see if our afternoon tea was okay and some of the sandwiches were stale.

The spa was lovely and would go again, but I would have rather eaten somewhere else, would not visit the restaurant again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janespatisserie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am please that you enjoyed the Spa and the facilities in this area. I am disappointed to read your comments about the restaurant though, I will certainly be looking into the points raised with my F and B team. Kind regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is a beauty! It is very well presented, the staff are courteous and it is excellent value for money. The view of the bay from the breakfast room is outstanding. I would not hesitate to book this hotel again. The spa really is a place to relax. A little peace of heaven!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamaload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a 5 star review. I am delighted that you such a great time.
I sincerely hope that you will return to the Hotel again soon. kind regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Myself and step daughter have just returned from a 2 day Spa break at this lovely Hotel, the staff could not have been more helpful and the service was excellent.
As for the Spa one of the best full body massages I have had, the food at the hotel was excellent the views breath taking.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel a fantastic break on all levels.
We will definitely return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a fabulous 5 star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your Spa break and all the facilities at the Hotel. I sincerely hope you will spread the word and come back to the Hotel again soon. All the best Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This overpriced hotel seems to be rather complacent; the restaurant staff were quite lack-lustre and unaware of the relationship between staff and guest and the provision of a paid for service. They seemed to think they were doing us a favour.... The place desperately needs a revamp, sad, scruffy room, (211), at the front which was illuminated all night by the spotlight shining on hotel name, it cost just £20 less per night than the stunning room we were moved in to when we complained(205) and was grossly overpriced.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best. If you are given 211 change immediately - don't wait until you've h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am disappointed to read that you didn't feel that your visit was not value for money and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. I will send you a message with my contact details on in the hope that you will get in touch. Kind regards Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
900 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing