We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding guest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wedding guest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Really good 3 night stay for a wedding with family. Staff very friendly and helpful......room very clean, more than enough clothes space, wardrobe, hangers drawers etc.....beds/ room cleaned every day and towels changed. Weather very hot so asked for a room fan.....it was there within the hour at a very busy time!!! Wedding staff were so organised....everything was perfect....well done!!!! Would love to come again....must look out for offers. Loved the old lift, except for the idiots who couldn't use it properly!!!!valet parking was brill.

Room Tip: 202 and 207 were really good, but ask for help if not happy....staff were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review on trip advisor. I am really pleased you had such a great three night stay at the hotel for the wedding. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. All the best, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    359
    220
    135
    64
See reviews for
214
835
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

My partner and I stayed four nights here last week on two separate bookings (both though booking.com). Same price both rooms. First very nice sea view (which is why we booked to stay longer); second room much smaller, tatty room (very hot and poorly ventilated) without view. We were ready to check out there and then, but the staff switched us to a larger sea view room that had some temporary 'maintenance' problems re the plumbing. This room was not comfortable for a number of reasons (which I accept would not normally apply) or secure (we returned to find other guests in our room that evening). Following a poor dinner in the restaurant (my other half ordered duck 'medium done' and 45 minutes later received a 'well done' piece with the texture of rubber. Again we were ready to check out the next day. However, our visit was saved by Jenny (apparent senior member of staff), who changed us to a great room with a sea view and a complimentary bottle of fizzy that evening.

In summary, this is a hotel that we were almost ready to write off as a bad experience, but because of the actions of Jenny and some other staff, you can guarantee us returning (but we will make sure we're booked into one of the refurbished rooms next time).

My main piece of constructive feedback is that the inconsistency in the rooms needs to either be fixed ASAP or reflected in vastly different room rates. £350.00 for two nights (discounted on booking.com) in a room little bigger than the bed, without proper ventilation is a grossly inflated rate and not fair to those unlucky enough to be left in such a room. It should either be good enough to justify the rate or so cheap not to warrant complaint re size etc.

Look forward to returning later this year.

Michael

PS: once home I realised I left a pair of jeans in one of the rooms - many thanks to the staff in particular Analiese for locating and returning to me so efficiently and courteously

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick201017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you Michael for taking the time to write us a review. I am delighted you enjoyed your overall time at the hotel and that you are looking forward to returning again later this year. I am pleased to hear that the majority of your issues were dealt with by the members of staff you have mentioned in your review. I will let them know your kind comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. All the best, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This hotel stay was a bit of a treat for us, as we usually make do with a travellodge but wanted to stay directly in st ives.
we had luggage with us so arrived early and the people were kind enough to let us store luggage there and explore st ives until our room was ready. when we came back, slightly too early for room check in, they let us check in anyway.
the hotel is a maze. we got lost a couple of times during our stay, but it becomes easier. we had room 121 which had no sea views (we opted not to pay for that luxury) an the room was lovely enough. we felt it was a bit dirty in places, with no air conditioning and a ripped blind but the rest was pretty nice. We paid for the spa and a treatment too. we got to use the spa including swimming pool, hydrotherapy pool and heat rooms on the whole day of check in and even after checking out the next day.
the pool was lovely and big, and safe for non swimmers, and the decking outside for sunbathing was really nice with great views. the treatment I had was a facial which was heavenly and the lady which did my facial was kind, informative, and generally fantastic. the lady that did my partners massage may have been new as she wasn't so informative and my partner was a little confused about what he should be doing for instance when the massage ended, how he should cover himself with towels etc.
I enjoyed my stay, and besides the smaller niggles (which, for the price of the room should really be dealt with!) it was worth it and was a relaxing and enjoyable stay.
I had a dinner in the restaurant, and had a tomato and mozzarella terrine starter (eeuurgh!) and a main of vegetable spring rolls, leek sauce and sesame fried bean sprouts which was absolutely heavenly and I would pay for that meal any day of the year. The dessert was a chilli chocolate tart with honeycomb ice cream, it was nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VioletHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am delighted you enjoyed you time with us and enjoyed all the facilities. I sincerely hope you will return again in the not to distant future. Kind regards Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We enjoyed our second break here, and found the staff friendly and helpful, especially the manager Peter, who sorted out our parking problem. We didn't have dinner but we could not fault the service at breakfast time. Ia hope that the parking can be made easier, as everything esle about this hotel is great,especially the views and the gin o'clock.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andho43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review on trip advisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed your second stay here at the hotel and that it is still living up to your expectations from your first stay. Thank you for your kind comments, it is really pleasing to hear. I look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay. All the best, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I decided to write this review as a result of seeing the manager's response to another review when he said that if the guest had reported the niggles, they would have been dealt with. They won't. We stayed in 2 rooms paying £250 p night for 5 nights. Our room was fine apart from the stupid concave mirrors over the dressing tables and the lack of any measures to prevent the gulls landing on the flat roof outside our window... The gulls try to get on if the windows are open. We too had problems with TV reception. However my parents room was completely different. They were astonished at the state of their room and asked to be moved so that they might have a walk in shower but that was not possible ( apparently). The room was brown in furniture and furnishings, shabby ( broken light fittings which have been mentioned in an earlier review in the same room) and very sparcely furnished.. Only 1 chair to sit on, no drawers and very few coat hangers. In the tiny bathroom there were cracked tiles and no shelf space other than a tiny ridge. They asked for a stool or table to put in the bathroom on which they could put things but were told none were available. We found that difficult to believe. We thought the hotel location was lovely, and on the whole the staff very friendly and helpful but not all rooms are up to standard for this price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I appreciate your feedback, it is very useful to understand the kind of experience guests have whilst staying here so we can continue to improve. The room you were allocated was a refurbished bedroom, and your parents room would have been one of few remaining un refurbished standard rooms which are due to be upgraded next year. I am however pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that you found the staff very friendly and helpful, I will pass on your kind comments to the team. I sincerely hope you return to the hotel again soon, kind regards, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We went as a party of eight having stayed at the harbour spa Christchurch last year - we weren't disappointed. Our room overlooking the Bay below had a small sitting room attached and well appointed bathroom - the decor was pleasant and airy giving an overall feeling of light and space. The spa pool was spotlessly clean and the staff very welcoming throughout the Hotel without being intrusive.
A tremendous thunderstorm over the Bay at dinner provided incredible entertainment! We felt that we had excellent value for money with the one night's stay including dinner breakfast and all drinks at £313 a couple. Gin o'clock on the decked terrace should not be missed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AgathaBideford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful 5 star review. I am delighted you enjoyed your spacious newly refurbished sea view bedroom, the view overlooking the bay is simply magnificent. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the not too distant future. All the best, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here in July and overall we were very happy. We hadn't looked into the parking arrangements before getting there but it became apparent that there was a separate parking building across the road, just for the hotel. Eventually a porter valet parked for us and there it stayed until we checked out.
We had a good room, it was not meant to be a sea view but we could see a lot of the sea. Biggest disappointment was the lack of air conditioning, we really needed it during what was a hot spell so we had some sticky nights.
The dinner first night was a bad experience as one of the chefs did not show, it was 90 minutes between sitting down and getting our main course. The staff though handled it well, very apologetic and gave us free drinks. Also the manager next day sent us a nice card and a bottle of Merlot by way of further apology. We were assured if was not typical and so it proved, the food and service were excellent throughout.The dining room is spacious and window tables were sought after. The food is modern, with good ingredients and well presented.
The hotel has an excellent indoor pool and spa with all the usual facilities and treatments. It's a short walk from the town, at the 'nice' end. This used to be the Porthminster Hotel and all the public rooms have high ceilings and are quietly elegant.
When checking out we were charged the wrong rate which I paid as we had to quickly get to our next stopover but when we got home it was easily sorted out over the phone. We would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter-Marcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, General Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for writing us a review on trip advisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay here at the hotel. The staff regularly read the reviews and will be pleased by your compliments, it is always good for team morale. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again, all the best, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing