We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, Excellent service, Food superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
South East
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, Excellent service, Food superb!”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My husband and I Renewed our Vows in Cornwall and chose The Porthminster Hotel for our reception dinner. We wanted the best and we were not disappointed. A great location, the staff gave excellent service, and the food was superb. We had a wonderful bedroom overlooking the beach with a fourposter bed, it was really romantic, our very modern bathroom had double basins and a jacuzi bath! We are planning to return next August for our Anniversary. A huge thank you to all at the Porthminster Hotel for making our day so special.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    365
    231
    139
    66
See reviews for
220
850
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We picked this particular hotel for it`s location and wonderful webstie. Our room was located right next to reception and the old lift which was noisy at times!. the room it`s self was clean and comfortable. The view of the beech was fine but obscured by a roof which was in need of a good clean. Breakfast was smashing and the staff where very friendly. The cream teas are a must they where fantastic! St ives town is a few minuets walk and a good place to grab something to eat, be warned the seagulls are unforgiving and will not hesitate to snatch food from your hands!!!
we only visited the indoor pool once and was not very impressed a bit shabby, but as the manager has said the hotel is under some refurbishment and I would love to think once this has been done it would restore it to it`s full glory and would be an amazing place to stay.
I would love to visit again once the work has been finished.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PearlyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We booked at the Porthminster Hotel as there was very little accomodation left in the area being high season and were initially looking for a cheap B & B. The hotel was offering some good discounts as a last minute promotion and when we read about the facilities on offer at the hotel and its location we decided to treat ourselves for 4 nights. We had read some negative reviews about some of the standard rooms in the hotel notably at a time in low season when they were refurbishing. We were not disappointed, we got a room at the side of the hotel overlooking the harbour and had a view of the sea and the beach. The room was lovely and well equiped with a new bathroom. The indoor pool and jacuzzi were a real treat as the weather was poor for a couple of days and very relaxing after long walks on the coast. The sea was cold but the outdoor pool was lovely and the right temperature. The breakfast was included in our reduced rate and was really good with a lot of choice including vegetarian options, cereals crossants cooked breakfasts fruits and yoghurts etc. You could have it all if you have a good apetite so very good value. We treated ourselves to an evening meal which was really good and as well priced as other restaurants in the town and the cafe on the beach. We were offered a reduction as a welcome on this too. The views from the restaurant and bar are simply superb with the hotel commanding a high position over the beach. The staff were curteous, friendly and professional. This victorian hotel 's decor is still a little dated in places but once this has been refurbished it will be a gem of a place to stay. The car parking is a little difficult as is the case with many hotels in the St Ives area but its proximity to the beach, its location and views and easy walk to town makes it a favourate for me now. We decided to stay for another 2 nights and although it meant a room change the staff were accommodating and we were just as happy with the other room as it had the same views and at the same discounted price. We would be happy to come back here and with the value of the reduced price made this only just a little more expensive than a good B & B with similar views . There is an alternative car park at the bottom of the hill in front of the hotel near the beach, with a short walk through the gardens which we were always able to get a place. We found however that the staff always tried to get the car in the top carpark acessible if we needed it which is a useful to know for those people who would find the steep walk from the bottom car park. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dactylioceras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I booked the hotel on the strength of the website, it looked very nice. We traveled 6 hours to get there and I was very disappointed by the room. It was awful.
Nothing like the website shows. I spent £800 for a weeks stay. It was a disgrace and a total rip off. Ok, i know its a hotel but if your going to charge Hotel prices, make it a nice Hotel. Like the website says it is.
The room was clean but my god it was more like a dodgy B&B that had not been updated for donkeys years. The room had a excellent view of the road, the sash window had to have rolled up paper stuffed in it by me to stop it rattling all night, whole hotel had a very musty smell.
After a long journey down we just wanted to go to bed. We turned the TV on and suddenly a horrible high pitched noise came out the tv, We couldn't watch tv without, i kid you not, getting earache. Don't get me wrong i didn't go on holiday to watch tv but when your waiting for the wife to get ready, what else passes the time so quickly.
One good thing was that the staff are very friendly indeed.
We looked around the hotel and some rooms that looked nice. If you get a room with a key, i think it means its a old room. Some rooms have key cards, they are the nice ones.
i wont be going back

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonniemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 August 2009
Dear jonniemartin

As you will have read already we are having a complete refurbishment and redecoration after our peak season. I appreciate that this does not help you now, however, if you would care to contact me directly I would like to attempt to make amends for your disappointment in the standard of room you were allocated. As you point out this is not the general standard, indeed it is only 4 rooms which are still requiring a refurbishment. I would have greatly welcomed the chance to put things right for you whilst you were still at the hotel.

I was cheered to hear that you found our staff very friendly, I hope I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, once our reurbishment is complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We booked the same day as arriving, and were taken up to our room which was very standard.
Out of interest, i contacted reception to ask if there were any other rooms we could upgrade to.
They showed us to a beautiful room which had a sea view, balcony, 4 poster bed and a large bathroom. The room was beautiful and really made our holiday.
We didn't make it to the outdoor pool, looked a little cold and the indoor pool looked ideal for little children, there was a games room with table tennis and a pool table, but the room is much in need of a face lift!
Staff are very friendly and the breakfast is very fresh!!!!

Definitely worth an upgrade for £25 if you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Great position Good food and hearty breakfasts Rooms in process of updating Those that have been are delightful. Seaview rooms offer amazing views across bay In all most enjoyable visit Thankyou to all the staff and the charming manager.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Service attentive and friendly
Stylish room with view of sea and garden from balcony,lovely modern bathroom and shower.Comfortable king size bed and flat screen TV
Excellent location for beach
Wonderful dinners and dining room with seaview

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sweb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.0 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing