We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing getaway - just what we needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Our experience of the Porthmimster was of a quietly majestic hotel in a superb position for easy walking to the town & beach. All meals were of the highest quality, served in a dining room with a superb sea view. Our spacious bedroom, also with a sea view, was clean,, very comfortable, and had excellent bathroom facilities. We found all staff to be friendly, couteous, and efficient. Special mention for the Chef who met my gluten-free requirement with flair.We slept and dined well, and would say that the Porthminster was very much part of our enjoyable visit to St Ives.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tasman38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Dear Tasman38

Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to note that our Chef created menus with flair to meet with your gluten free diet.

I hope, very much, that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,386 - 1,392 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

The last time my husband and I stayed in this hotel was at least 5 years ago and we thought it was ok then. I booked a last minute one night stay at the hotel as we were going to be in St Ives for a week at a self catering apartment. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room we booked was facing into the town and was bright and airy. We went downstairs for a cup of tea and wow what a transformation. The old bar has been ripped out and is now the more modern, bright welcoming dining room with views over Porthminster Beach and to The Wharf. The room next to the dining room which was a room that was always empty - no atmosphere a wasted space, it is now an elegant, relaxing bar/lounge. Next to this was a games room, this now has comfortable seating where you can sit, relax and have a quiet coffee and read the newspapers - we were very impressed with the transformation. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night (already arranged to meet others who were in St Ives), though we did browse the menu and all the dishes seemed to appeal. The choice of food at breakfast was very good - you helped yourself to fruit juices/fruit/youghurts/a range of cereals or porridge, croissants and other pastries. The waiter/waitress took your order for hot drinks/toast and the your choice of hot food which there was a choice of 4 or 5 different dishes. The walk down from the hotel to the beach through the gardens is much improved with trees/shrubs tidied and a handrailed area all the way down to the gate at the bottom of the garden. Another improvement is the decked area outside the function room downstairs - lovely to relax on with a glass of wine - brilliant use of another wasted outside space. Although the renevations are still going on at the hotel you wouldn't notice it - it was very quiet. The hotel is in a prime spot above Porthminster Beach. It has its own carpark infront of the hotel and although it seems very busy with cars pressed in they also have an overspill car park at the bottom of Primrose Valley. We would definately return to the hotel. Very impressed by the transformations they have done so far - looking forward to checking out the swimming pool and new spa area when its completed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muewinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Dear muewinc

Thank you for your review.

It is very satisfying to read that you enjoyed the transformation in the ground floor of the hotel. I do hope you will revisit us soon in order to see how much more has been achieved. With the majority of rooms now fully refurbished, and our new spa opening in spring 2011 the hotel is improving on a daily basis!

My thanks again
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

All the staff were very helpful and polite. Nothing was too much trouble. Even though we were warned about renovations, we were still moved to a much better room than we had originally booked, at no extra charge! Lovely breakfast. Ideal location. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie551696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Dear rosie551696

Thank you for your review, I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.
We do have a policy of upgrading to the best rooms available on the day as there is nothing worse then our best rooms being empty while the others are all occupied!

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

The most polite and friendly staff we have encountered, nothing was too much trouble.
The room that we ultimately stayed in was very pleasant, albeit although newly refurbished, it lacked a few minor refinements and finishing touches.
The location of the hotel in respect of the views it allowed and the proximity to the town was excellent.
The most outstanding part of our stay at the hotel was by far the restaurant. We had breakfast and evening meals; and can honestly say that the standard of the food far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Dear neilstevens

I am very grateful for your feedback, we have now finished this phase of rooms which has included many tweaks and refinements throughout to enhance and unlock the potential of all our guest bedrooms.

I do hope you may consider a future visit so you can witnness first hand our continuing improvements in all areas of the hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

1st impression was how small the car park was for the size of the hotel. Hotel had tried to overcome this by asking guests to leave keys at reception so staff could shuffle the cars around. This system works fine, but as we later found out it only takes one forgetful/selfish guest to screw the system.The same sentiments apply to the guests who cause problems by not shutting the inner door of the antiquated lift rendering it inoperable. Reception staff were friendly and helpful on the whole and the rest of the staff were young and inexperienced, but friendly and did a good job.Stayed in room 304 which did have a lovely sea view, a sizeable chunk of which was obscured by a slate roof and also had a gutter running outside the window. Bathroom was a good size, let down slightly by the amateurish application of sealant around the bath panel. The heated towel rail wasn't working, but when we mentioned this to reception it was quickly rectified. Bed was V. Comfortable with lovely fluffy pillows and duvet.
Ate in the restaurant that night, which has excellent sea views, and my wife and I both enjoyed our meal. Thought the bar and lounge were very comfortable and nicely furnished.
Had a great selection of food on offer for breakfast with ample bowls of fruit salad,fruit juice ,cereal and pain au chocolat as well as breakfasts cooked to order..Our first breakfast was a bit of a let down. I ordered the scambled egg and smoked salmon. The egg was overcooked and 'grainy', by contrast my wife ordered boiled eggs and these were raw, but for 2mm of cooked white just inside the shell. The eggs were send back and perfectly cooked eggs brought back in there place. We had no more problems throughout the week and the 2nd time I ordered scrambled eggs they were fine. The only other meal we ate in the hotel was on a wet Wednesday where we had the lunchtime special. I had seabass with new potatoes, shredded mange tout and a saffron butter sauce. Wow! one of the most memorable dishes of my holiday. my wife had roast pork which was also delicious.
On the whole we both enjoyed our stay and the problems we encountered were minor .You can see that the hotel is doing its best to improve and are very nearly there.I would love to return one day,but when the refurbishment has finished perhaps.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manofkent1394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We decided to spend our 1st Anniversary at the Porthminster. We have been there several times before and we absolutely love it there. The refurbishment and the wonderful food made it hard to leave the hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they are most courteous. We availed ourselves of the outdoor pool and had a wonderful and very relaxing anniversary week-end there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valdavis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I booked this hotel as a last minute break for the family as we hadn't been abroad for the summer and the hotel helped to make our holiday fantastic. It was just a short walk down the hill to the beach and a 5 min walk or so to the harbour where it is all happening. We had a lovely family room that had been refurbished. Our bed was very comfy even though it was twins pushed together with a mattress topper, infact it probably gave us an even bigged bed. My two young boys were on camper beds which they loved and were comfy for them. The only complaint that a of drawers would have been helpful to put some more of our stuff in. There are other renovations going on at the hotel to introduce the indoor pool and the spa but none of this affected our stay. The kids also used the outdoor heated pool which was great and good for a break from the beach. We stayed on a B&B basis and our breakfast every day was great and was enough to fill you to tea time if you wanted. The sea view from the restaurant and the lounge are amazing. All in all a great hotel and the staff were lovely. I am looking forward to giong back again in the future to use the Spa.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diso67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
307 reviews
1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
789 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £100 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing