We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best wedding venue ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Reviewed 9 November 2010

My husband and I had our wedding reception at the Porhminster in October. It was perfection down to every last detail. The hotel's renovation looks amazing and our honeymoon suite was fabulous. The Harbour suite where we had our wedding breakfast looks amazing and the views are stunning..we had a really hot and sunny day!!
The food was out of this world. You expect good food when dining in a restaurant but I was taken aback with the quality of the food even though they were serving over 110 people. All my guests commented on how delicious the food was and the menu is very varied for weddings. It is brilliant as you can have a choice of different foods for your guests to choose before the wedding which is a brilliant idea and not many hotels will do this for weddings. It also meant that all the guests could choose a meal that they really liked. Rebecca the wedding event organiser was brilliant and couldn't have been more helpful during the months before the wedding and on the day itself.
The evening reception was brilliant and the resident DJ was awesome! I can not fault this hotel at all and would reccommend it to anyone thinking of going there and especially to those thinking of having their wedding reception there. the only bad point is that the day went too quickly. I will definately be going back to the porthminster for meals as it is probably amongst the best food i have ever had! Thank you so much for making our wedding very special.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2010

We stayed for a short break to get away from London. We arrived at the hotel late at night. Our first impressions were not good as the reception area was a bit tired and smelt of food. Parking is very restricted but we handed our car keys to the porter who wedged our car into the carpark so it was not an issue.

We had a family suite. This consisted of 2 bedrooms and a bathroom. Our bedroom was spacious with lots of storage, a big bed and a great sea view although no balcony. Also had a iron and ironing board which is always handy although I didn't use it. The other bedroom was a twin, no sea view, not as attractive but perfectly okay. The bathroom was fine, although the shower had no pressure. I think this is fairly common in hotels so I wouldn't say it was a black mark. My friend stayed in another room and had a power shower which worked a treat, so I guess it is luck of the drawer. The towels were large and really fluffy - great!!

The dining room has a beautiful view and has recently been refurbished as has the bar and lounge. All looked really good. The ladies cloakroom has also been refurbished to a high standard, don't know about the men's. Now for the food - the breakfast was just okay. I had poached eggs a couple of times and they were fine but the scrambled eggs were cold although they were served with a massive amount of smoked salmon. In general though I thought the breakfast a little mean. We ate in the hotel one night but it had very little atmosphere and my portion was far too small - tasted nice but not enough of it, too expensive. I complained to the management the next day who gave us a round of free drinks to make up for it.

I would stay here again when the indoor swimming pool is open again. As this was October the outdoor pool was closed and full of green water, they just needed to put a cover on it. All in all we enjoyed our stay, was a good hotel in a lovely location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minniesafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

We booked a 2 night dinner, bed and breakfast break through Travelzoo and spent a very comfortable and pleasant time at this hotel.

Reception was efficient and the reception staff themselves very welcoming. Our room, sea-facing, was a good size, clean and tidy with a large double bed, two armchairs, complimentary bottled water and a welcome pack of biscuits. The en-suite was warm and clean with excellent fluffy large bath towels - always a good sign!

We ate dinner in the restaurant on both evenings and were allowed to select dishes from both the table d'hote and the a la carte menus at no extra cost. We thought that the food was of a high quality and the Restaurant Supervisors (different on each night) were efficient, welcoming and knowledgeable. They are obviously still training some members of the restaurant staffs but overall it was a pleasant experience. Breakfasts were slightly less successful with cold plates and cold food on two occasions.

The hotel has recently undergone a full refurbishment and this is reflected in the quality of the decor and furnishings throughout the whole building. It is located a short walk (downhill) from the centre of St Ives, itself worth a visit (probably best out of season) and close to the railway station.

Overall, a hotel and staff that deserves to succeed. Thank you for our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

Nice place to stay some areas of hotel are in need of refurbishment carpets looking a little worn and paint work needs touching up in corridors and halls. Stayed in a twin bedroom which was a little small to what we are use to, beds really comfortable bathroom tastefully decorated. Car parking is not the ideal as space is very limited.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0leman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Dear c0leman

Thank you for your review, I am glad that you found the service, cleanliness and location to be of a good standard.

As you have witnessed we are undergoing some substantial upgrades and once fully completed, these will give us a fantastic hotel - this is our goal!

I do hope you would consider a future stay as I am confident you would witness further inroads in our hotel. Should you wish to revisit please do let me know so I can personally attend to the booking and extend to you every courtesy.

Many thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Both myself and my husband could not have had a better place to represent Cornwall to all our wedding guests who mostly had come from ourside of the County. Rebecca and the team looked after us so well from day one. The venue, food and service were outstanding, along with the gorgeous Honey Moon suite, we only wish we could have stayed longer! Would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chicken87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Staff were friendly and very helpful, food was excellent, bed was comfortable, could not fault the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Dear harleighhouse

Thank you so much for your kind review, I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

Your feedback is of such great value as we continue to grow and improve in what we do here and it is a powerful motivating tool for all the team.

I hope we may welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

Absolutely wonderful stay at this hotel, despite being under refurbishment, the management have gone to great lengths not to cause any disruption to the guests. Our room was one of the unfurbished ones, however very clean and comfortable and the staff could not do enough to help if you had any concerns. We loved our stay and are keen to retun in the Spring and will be excited to see the new Spa and sample more of the chef's wonderful cuisine. Location superb, felt right at home despite being a large hotel, willing staff what more could you want - looking forward to returning in the New Year.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kath010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PorthminsterManager, Manager at St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

Dear Kath010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on this site. It is gratifying to read that some of our hard work is being noticed and also that you had a genuinely enjoyable stay with us.

I do hope to welcome you back in the New Year when I am certain you will notice further improvements at the hotel.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Ives
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.9 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
296 reviews
1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
790 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in St Ives
#6 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £98 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa is perfectly positioned directly above Porthminster beach boasting stunning views across the water. Watch as the waves lap against the famous Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance and feel your troubles disappear. Explore the local harbour, as you meander through the cobbled streets, and then return for dinner at the Terrace Restaurant, serving up seasonal and local food, along with stunning sea views. The Harbour Spa provides the perfect hideaway, as you indulge in a soothing treatment and then unwind by the pool, gazing out to sea from the comfort of a lounger! Enjoy an indulgent afternoon tea, cocktail or light lunch on the alfresco dining terrace and soak up the sea air and sensational views. The 46 bedrooms offer complete comfort and some of the Superior Bedrooms have balconies - a perfect place to relax over a morning coffee with the papers or afternoon tea watching the boats sail by... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porthminster Hotel St Ives
Porthminster St Ives
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing