We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pastries are wicked” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cornish Bakery

The Cornish Bakery
Ranked #2 of 6 Bakeries in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Essex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pastries are wicked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just what you require with your coffee in the morning, a lovely pastry and this is what theses guys do best.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank simoncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    51
    15
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cant belive last review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

i always go to presto pasty when i visit my sister in st ives because the coffe and cakes are fab and the service is excellent i never wait long and dont belive anyone would wait 15 minutes i think that was greatly exaggerated, keep up the brilliant service presto pasty st ives my favourite coffee shop, the staff are lovely xx

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALANA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I have to award a 5 for my daughter finding the Banana and chocolate pasty ...her childhood favourite.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

I would have scored 5 all round if it had not been for the poor service we suffered ...
The young boys serving were so busy chatting with one another and not concentrating on service!
There was no one else being served but it seemed to take an age to plate up and serve 2 traditional pasties, 1 baby pasty and the long awaited for banana and choc one , 3 coffees and one cold drink took him nearly 15 mins! Only for the long awaited special pasty being eagerly looked forward to and we would have walked out....I think some customer relation skills need working on or at least some management oversight!! (1.10.13 visited)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BARKERLANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PastyPresto, Public Relations Manager at The Cornish Bakery, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for your review of Pasty Presto. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service you received at the time of your visit as the feedback we usually receive from customers is very positive. I have spoken with the shop manager, who unfortunately cannot provide an explanation as to why it took so long for you to be served. However, she has assured me that this is not a common occurrence, and has spoken with the staff members involved. She has also re-trained all staff in customer service.

We strive to ensure that we provide an enjoyable overall experience, and am sorry that on this occasion our service has failed to meet your expectations.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to restore your faith in Pasty Presto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We tried a traditional Cornish Pasty and it was really good. Ok, we're not from Cornwall so our opinion could be not so "experienced" but we already ate Cornish pasties in different places aronud Cornwall and the one we enjoyed at Pasty Pesto inn St.Ives was definitely one of the best ones.
I had a large traditional pasty (the winner of the World Champion Cornish Pasty title in March 2013) and it was tasty, very hot inside and...filling enough!
Good selection of cakes and huge croissants too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonviver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fancy a pasty?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

The traditional pasty belongs to Cornwall. For a commercial outlet the pasty's are very good. They also have a good selection of cakes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronron07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cornish Bakery also viewed

 

Been to The Cornish Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing