We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling”
Review of Sheaf of Wheat - CLOSED

Sheaf of Wheat
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Advertised Sky Sports from outside, but this turned out to be a dodgy far East stream which was barely watchable. It was paired with lots of racist comments from the owner about holidaymakers in the area. Drinks OK but I wouldn't return. I understand now new owners so hopefully has improved.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
1  Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Sheaf Of Wheat's new management has made a great difference the food was delicious! As a family we went there and the drinks where average price food was excellent for the money And best of all, the people all around. The two girls behind the bar, Fair play they have done an amazing job of getting that pub into shape. Theirs karaoke which was a laugh. The locals were so friendly, made so many great people there! i would definatley reccomend to anyone staying in St Ives town

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 716EmilyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Bring the zapp back!! This is the worst example of karaoke I have ever seen. No David Bowie or Bon Jovi. No classic songs all show tunes and rubbish. No sweet home Alabama but they had Jim'll fix it?? £4.75 for a wine and lemonade what a rip off!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Laura26lh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Awful family meal. All 4 of our meals were very poor. Lasagna not cooked properly. Mixed grill dry and poor quality. Avoid avoid avoid

1  Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karinda T, Owner at Sheaf of Wheat, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for your review. i am very sorry you and your family didn't enjoy your meals. we always try and deliver he best standard of food for our customers. i don't believe you gave any feed back on the evening you ate with us. if you had we would have done our best to rectify your meals. as I'm sure you can appreciate there is never anything we can do about it after you have left. since taking over 1 month ago, we have received a great deal of praise about your food and customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Well what can i say,Went to the Sheaf of Wheat under new management and can't believe the difference in a week.Bar staff absolutely brilliant,made us so welcome,the carvery was absolutely stunning,We've booked again to go next week and will continue.For the price and value and the the friendly face,it go's a long way.Wish you both all the best for the future.See you next sunday.
Well recommended 5 stars. mr & mrs Bond

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 429debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sheaf of Wheat also viewed

 
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing