We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Delightful Stay in a Wonderful Position.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Back of Smearton's Pier on lovely October day
From Pier view across bay to Porthminster beach cafe in October sunshine
Lugger
The Tate St Ives
Starlings on the Pier
The infamous Ice Cream snatcher on Smearton's Pier
Sunset from Clodgy Point 15 minutes walk from apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Delightful Stay in a Wonderful Position.”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in May 2013

What a fantastic time. My partner and I were greeted by the most lovely lady who owned the The Old Salthouse. She couldn't do enough for us, or have
been more friendly and informative on where to go and what to do.
A terrific position, so close to the lovely beach, the harbour, the shops and art galleries in the most quaint streets. St Ives is a real gem, with so much to see and do, but we think it was our accommodation that made our week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling very special and taken care of by the owner of the property.
Liked least: We don't have a least.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magnificent, great apartment, everything to hand and a (much coveted) parking space!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Thanks to Shirley & Tim for an excellent two weeks in St Ives. The apartment was outstanding, very clean and to have your own parking space was an added bonus. The Car rarely moved as everywhere is within walking distance. We reccomend Sky's Diner on Fore Street and if you want a BIG Breakfast or traditional roast dinner we suggest Smokey Joe's (Transport Cafe with class) at Blackwater, making sure you say hello to Aubrey who'll sing for you all night!
Love St Ives, will be back again.......... Soon.

Graham & Sharon Smith

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, not a thing disappointed.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne End, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: No sea view!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was so much bigger than we were expecting.
Liked least: The weather :-) but the owners can't do anything about at. Fortunately St. Ives is always wonderful.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rachael N
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our once a year little piece of St Ives heaven. Just perfect.”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in August 2012

My husband, 16 year old son and I have been coming to The Old Salthouse for 1 week every year for the last 7 years which has to be a recommendation in itself. The apartment is kept spotless and very well maintained by the ever so helpful owner Shirley and Tim. Location of this apartment is second to none if you love being a few steps from the stunningly beautiful Porthmeor beach, shops, restaurants and harbour front. We arrive sat, park the car in the car spot right outside (can this be yet another bonus!!!) and it doesn't move for 7 days. We absolutely adore this place and look forward to our week of peace and quiet with lots of bodyboarding thrown in and bbq's on the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!!!
Liked least: Leaving!!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetweaver
Derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A Superb ground floor apartment, in a lovely location with parking !!”
Reviewed 24 February 2013 for a stay in September 2012

This apartment is situated in a lovely area of St Ives, very close to Porthmeor beach with it's own private entrance.
The apartment is only a short walk away from restaurants, shops and the heart of St Ives.
Inside the apartment there is everything you could wish for for a relaxing holiday.
Car parking right next to the apartment is a real bonus especially in this area!
I would not hesitate to recommend this apartment to my friends.
My wife and I have already booked a further 2 weeks stay in summer 2013 which is a testament to the apartment and quality of stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Having to leave!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francinek...
Worcester
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, great spot and parking!!!”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in December 2011

It is in a very good location with parking - which is a huge advantage in St Ives. The Apartment is just a few steps away from the shops, galleries, restaurants and beaches, yet inside it is so peaceful and homely, furnished to a very high standard and i found the apartment to have everything i needed for a wonderful break. We came over new year and had a fantastic time in the town. Would recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely apartment with parking and great location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing