We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Family Holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Back of Smearton's Pier on lovely October day
From Pier view across bay to Porthminster beach cafe in October sunshine
Lugger
The Tate St Ives
Starlings on the Pier
The infamous Ice Cream snatcher on Smearton's Pier
Sunset from Clodgy Point 15 minutes walk from apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebalf82
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Family Holiday”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was excellent, very clean, perfectly equipped and an amazing location!!! I stayed for a week with my partner and 8 year old son. We had more than enough space and the sofa bed was spacious and easy to put up and down. The apartment had everything we needed with the luxury of a car parking space outside the door and a couple of deck chairs that we used every day at the beach! It's hard to imagine how close and handy the beach access is we were able to pop back for drinks, snacks and forgotten buckets and spades easily! The convenience store at the top of the driveway was very handy for stocking up with food and drinks too! I can't recommend the old salthouse enough I'm certain we will be back and have already recommended to a friend! Thanks for a fab week xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Dear Rebecca
Thank you for your very kind review and I'm so pleased you and your family enjoyed staying in the Old Salthouse. Also, thank you for recommending to your friend. Its so encouraging to hear comments like this which makes all the hard work worth while and we look forward to seeing you all again. Kind regards, Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klesley19...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, private,close to all amenities.”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our first visit to the Old Salthouse and we weren't disappointed. The apartment itself was very well appointed with everything you need for a relaxing holiday, we found it spacious and light, the car parking space was an added bonus. The private access to the beach was a delight as was the beach it's self. The apartment is only a short walk from the harbour and main shopping and entertainment although you wouldn't know it was so close as the barnaloft complex is so quiet (if you discount the gulls but you soon got used to it and it wasn't intrusive). Shirley and Tim we had an excellent week and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Old Salthouse to family and friends, we will certainly be making a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Dear Karen
Many thanks for your kind review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Old Salthouse. My partner Tim and I always try our best to make all our guests feel as welcome as possible and to enjoy the St Ives
experience.. We always look forward to seeing our guests again.
Thank you again, Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newt0n63
Devon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy couples retreat”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights great location for exploring and soaking up the atmosphere which st Ives has to offer
Shirley our host was very lovely...and having that secret doorway to access the beach was magical !!
Well equipped apartment,very comfortable bed !!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the Old Salthouse and found it to be both comfortable and well equipped. Maybe we will see you both again?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abi D
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, great location.”
Reviewed 10 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a great stay at The Old Salthouse, the location is perfect, very quick walks to three beaches and just as quick into town.

The apartment itself was lovely, very comfortable and homely

Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again.

Thank you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2016
Thank you Abi for your delightful review in respect of your recent stay at the Old Salthouse. It's really appreciated and makes all the hard work worthwhile and I look forward to meeting you on your next visit.
Kind regards, Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
88anj88
Shah Alam, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had a lovely time.”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The salt house is a spacious studio that could easily accommodate three occupants. It is hidden away from the bustle of St Ives yet close enough to a very private beach and only a 5 minutes walk to the harbour of St Ives. It had all the amenities that one would need and a little porch to park for a small to medium car.
Tim who met us on our arrival was friendly and helpful. He gave a quick tour around the studio and there was even a small grocery nearby.
On the whole we really enjoyed our stay at the Old Salthouse. We would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was close to St Ives yet private.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Many thanks for your kind review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in St Ives and the apartment worked well for you. Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali_D_Lak...
Lake District. UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a find! We stayed here after the school holidays had finished, so it was lovely and peaceful. No external noise whatsoever. The studio was very well equipped, and very comfortable indeed. It was also suprisingly spacious. The exposed stone walls within, made it feel very cosy too. The private access to the beach, together with the private parking space, was just the icing on the cake. The studio is located in a very quiet area of St Ives, adjacent to the wonderful Porthmeor Beach, and lots of little independent art galleries. There is even an 'Open All Hours' type of store, across from the entrance to the complex, which stocks everything you would need, including fresh bread and pastries every morning. We would not hesitate in stopping here again, it felt like a real 'home from home'. Highly recommended! Thank you..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The sink in the bathroom was very tiny, however, you soon get used to it.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Dear Ali
What a fantastic review, thank you. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Old Salthouse. Many thanks indeed for all your lovely comments and for taking the time to post a review. I hope you will visit us again. What a lovely recommendation.
Very kind regards, Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison37
West Bromwich
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely little studio”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed here for the past week and we had a lovely time - the studio has everything you need including a washing machine & dishwasher...

Shirley is lovely and so is Tim...

I have given 4 stars on the basis that we had the recycling bins right outside meaning every morning we were awoken to the sound of bottles being put in the bins and also this is the turning spot right outside the studio which did make us lack privacy...

We really can recommend this place despite the two points mentioned...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing